We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of The Ashbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ashbee Hotel
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at the Ashbee (30 May to 5 June) and had an excellent time.

Clean, nicely appointed rooms, and great views along the coast. The Ashbee is very close to the main town of Taormina, making it very easy to get to
to cafes,bars and shops.

The staff at the Ashbee were all excellent and we would particularly like to thank Giovani for his help in making our stay so very pleasant.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank marley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    75
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
50
269
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica, MS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

i and my family spent tre days, in this fantastic hotel, gardens and properties are wonderfull
rooms are very elegant, bathrooms are modern and well equipped, service is good, panorama is overlooking the baches of mazzaro.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent 4 days at this lovely site. The view from the roof where we ate breakfast each day to sitting by the pool provided us a tranquil and beautiful scene. The staff were welcoming. We ate dinner the first night at their restaurant which was excellent. We could have drinks at the outdoor bar. Anything we asked for they provided. A great start to our Sicily trip. Taormina is a bit busy when the cruise ships land - but throughout Taormina, the people were all welcoming. We had a 2 hour walking tour which was a wonderful way to learn about this corner of Sicily and know what we were seeing. If you go here - you must take a day trip to Etna...hire a driver not the bus...it is worth the few extra dollars. We saw wonderful sites around Taormina - it is a good central spot to see other sites nearby like Castelmola, Ragusa, the Gambino Winery and other great sites. Do hire a car service it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Ashbee for three nights we were made to feel very welcome buy the staff as the hotel was quite at the time we arrived they gave us a free upgrade to a suite the room was very nicely decorated and was very quite the bathrooms although very stylish are not very practical the hotels gardens are beautiful with ample sun loungers the breakfast room is the best with fantastic views the food was nice but the hot food was warm rather than hot but lovely fresh made bread and cakes each morning Taormina is small and easily explored in three days the Ashbee Hotel is ideally located just a short up hill walk to the main centre . We would stay here again if we were to return to this part of Sicily. One thing that could of improved the hotel for me being English would be to of had tea and coffee making facility in the room

Room Tip: The room we had was quite there are a few steps so not suitable for less able people
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We recently spent a great week at this lovely luxury boutique hotel. The service was very friendly yet professional at all times. Although the weather was a little changeable, we were able to spend some time in the delightful gardens and enjoy the outstanding views. The rooftop breakfast room and open terrace was a great way to start the day and although we ate only once in the main restaurant, the meal we did have was Michelin-star quality and the service was excellent. All in all the whole stay was a lovely experience and we'd have no hesitation in recommending The Ashbee to anyone.
Pauline & Graham Swift

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were booked in for only 5 nights as a gift from our children, very friendly on arrival , quick tour of lovely hotel building and gardens then we were taken back outside to our room, a block of rooms in the grounds, unfortunately ours backed onto the local pub,(room 30) it was very loud until the early hours and on our first night we really wanted a good sleep. On arrival I asked for an Iron, I was politely directed to the housekeeping page in the directory. Also no draws to put cloths away only hanging space, so we lived out of suitcase.(not good) After a lovely shower we were flooded by the bathroom, unfortunately this happened every time we had a shower so we had to make our own dam with the towels, also turned into a very nice steam room.... apparently this was normal.....(don't think so)
The fridge didn't work for the first 2 days, they obviously had not checked the mini bar, after complaining it was changed.
Breakfast on the roof was spectacular in the sun and rain.
Just a note for any first timers to Sicily, its very expensive...
Visit Isabella and pay to go in , the ticket gives you entry to a gardens which is on route if you take the Red Bus tour (get out at stop 2), that was good.
Overall nice holiday but shame about the wet room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a very attractive property in every regard. The public areas and gardens are very well done and maintained. The roof top restaurant for breakfast has an unbelievable coastline view. It was the most extravagant breakfast we had in Italy. Staff is very friendly and helpful. However Taormina is very busy with boatloads of tourists

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 87 in Taormina
1,123 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#26 of 87 in Taormina
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbee Hotel

Property: The Ashbee Hotel
Address: Via San Pancrazio n.46, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashbee Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful 20th century Sicilian Villa in the heart of Taormina. The House was built in the 1908’s by Colonel Shaw-Hellier who commissioned the famous Architect Charles Robert Ashbee, English designer and entrepreneur, prime mover of the Arts & Craft movement. Easy to locate, just few steps from the main street and chic boutiques of Taormina, the hotel offers easy access to the main theatres, museums and all over objects arts, historical heritage of the city. Today, this charming house offers some of the finest accommodation in Sicily. With 24 guestrooms and suite, you will find everything required for a relaxing stay, screwing up one’s eye to English style, representative symbol of The Ashbee Hospitality. Beyond the elegant rooms, a gourmet restaurant overseen by the multiple awarded chef Heinz Beck, called St. George Restaurant by Heinz Beck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing