We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very special service - a lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“very special service - a lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

we came here because of tripadvisor reviews and were delighted with our stay. the hotel is small and not particularly glitzy and things like eating late aren't that easy although they kindly provided some pasta when we arrived (the UK flights arrive quite late). However, the service is quite wonderful: welcoming, thoughtful (the codes for our WIFI were provided without us even having to ask ). Breakfast lovely and recommendations for restaurants and activities very helpful. Dinner very much home cooking (and that's lovely too). The hotel is a little way above the town itself, so you can't walk to local bars/restaurants, although they have a useful shuttle service. That perhaps meant that the teenagers we were with couldn't strike out on their own as easily - which may be a good or a bad thing, depending on how you look at it. We had a hire car which was useful. The only slight niggle I had was over the bathrooms - we had one of those showers in a bath, and really i prefer a separate or stand alone one (having once had a nasty fall climbing over the edge of the bath...) . lighting over basin not great either. But these for us are pretty minor issues - I'm just trying to give you a full picture of what is a lovely place. nb lots of stairs too -

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank alwyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Dear friends,
GRAZIE MILLE for the positive review you posted and the highest mark, 5 out of 5.
Of course we are not perfect ; Villa Ducale is a very peculiar hotel and sometimes what is very good for you may not be for someone else. I am sorry that you found our shower system a bit unconfortable. However let me explain that we recently spent a great amount of money to have spacious luxury bathrooms as "the market" was requiring this. All our bathrooms have this fantastic JACUZZI brand electronic power shots shower and bath tub combined together which our guests really love !!! And also a great lighting . You did not like it, so I apologize for that and respect your opinion.
One last word for the distance. Everybody can easily walk down to Taormina centre in ten minutes; as you said we provide an efficient and very frequent shuttle service which runs until late at night so that clients of any age and wish can enjoy all the great attractions that our fantastic town offer. If you fancy going to the disco until 4 AM, taxis are available at 10/15 euros which is something anyone can afford I believe.
We are looking forward to your next visit,
Kind regards,
Hotel Villa Ducale staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,761
    147
    22
    8
    10
See reviews for
238
1,324
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Over 32 years of marriage we have been fortunate to travel to many fine destinations, we have two hotels we return to knowing we will have a relaxing holiday with good food and service, one in Cotswold UK and second in Northern Italy, we have now found the third!

The attention to detail, food, kindness of all staff was second to none.

A Hotel to be highly recommend to friends, colleagues and family.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alun-Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

This is the first review I write after more than 40 years of travel, prompted by the fact that this hotel has really everything for providing the relaxed vacation one is looking for: the reception and care was exemplary; the staff, without exception, was always helpful, competent and imaginative in responding to the unforeseen; the catering, even at dinner time, is excellent; the setting is wonderful and the shuttle bus into town is a substitute for confronting the sinuous access with your own car or walking your way down (and up again). We had a wonderful time during the 3 days we stayed here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RogerMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 day stay at the Villa Ducale in Taormina and in a nut shell it was heaven on earth. We were welcomed in a way that has never happened to us before and we have travelled to many places in the world. The owner of the Villa, a lovely lady named Rosaria, met us with open arms and welcomed us into her home and made it quite clear that we were to regard her Villa as our home for the next 3 days. We arrived at lunch time and we were given aprons and I was lead away to the kitchen to have an Italian cooking lesson and to prepare lunch for the rest of the staff and the rest of the guests. Rosaria kept me under her watchful eye and to my surprise a lunch was prepared in a way that was a surprise to myself. She gave us some red and white wine and we enjoyed the lunch and her company very much.The reception staff of Alesia, Paulo and Antonio who were on duty when we arrived were fantastic. Their attitudes and friendliness left us spell bound. They all made us feel that we were the only guests in the Villa.........fantastic. They were always availble to satisfy any of our travel enquiries and needs.Their helpfulness and friendliness was something travellers do not often experience in Europe. The villa itself is 5 star with beautiful open lounge area and decor. The suites are extremely well appointed and beautifully finished off. One can go on and on about Villa Ducale but quite honestly we can say that it is one of the best places that we have stayed at anywhere in the world. A big thank you to all the staff at the Villa and to Rosaria for everything that she did for us to make our stay in Sicily one that we will rember for many many years to come.........and if you want a cook please contact me!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fergieboysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

As I read some of the other current reviews, I found that all my fantastic compliments had been taken. Believe me, everything you are reading is not exaggerated, but completely true! I have had the pleasure of staying in many countries and many lovely hotels/villas, but this one has a charm that you will find different from ALL others. They have captured a rare combination of luxury and a warm and thoughtful staff. We have all stayed places that had one or the other, but rarely both. I have never seen a staff work harder to make their guests feel both welcome and important. When they say they want you to feel like you are visiting the villa of a friend, they mean it., and act accordingly.

I could go on for hours about the beautiful accommodations, the magnificent views, fabulous and creative breakfasts, and wonderful staff, but this can be seen throughout other reviews. We ate dinner there all four nights of our stay, two of which we requested special dinners (not on the menu), and they were prepared just for us. This is just one example of their hospitality.

I salute beautiful and gracious Rosaria Quartucci, Paolo, whose people skills are unexcelled, my dear, sweet Luanna, and the entire competent, kind staff. Thank you for a wonderful stay in your home.

Dorothy and Hal

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goldie429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Seldom do hotels excel in so many departments. The location high above Taormina affords the most stunning views. The staff, absolutely everyone we met, were genuinely delightful and professional. In a busy tourist town, this hotel manages to make you feel like you are not just another tourist arriving. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank campseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

This lovely Villa Hotel poses a problem. Where could you go for your next holiday break and not be continually feeling that it was not as good as Villa Ducale. Set in a beautiful position with views across Taormina bay and over towards Mt Etna, with comfortable bedrooms and a glorious dining area that makes the most of these views. Regular free shuttle into the main town but so nice to return to the tranquility of the hotel.
All this would be wasted without one of the best team of staff that you could wish for. Always helpful, always smiling and offering intelligent tips on how to get the most out of your stay.
We could not recommend a hotel more highly and others in the business could learn a lot from this excellence in customer service.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank cirrus33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#4 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing