We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Room with a View”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Room with a View”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Sicily and Hotel Villa Ducale was by far our favorite hotel. The view is second to none, hospitality warm and inviting, food enjoyable, and room clean and exactly what was explained in the website. We will definitely return to the Villa Ducale when we return to Taormina. We had a car and could have driven into town, but decided to rely on the shuttle which turned out to be a good idea since the driving is somewhat "challenging" within the city center. On our last night at the Villa Ducale, we decided to forgo our dinner reservation in town and just enjoy the view and relax. Well, we were delighted that Mt. Etna decided to put on a show! My husband is a geologist and was up the whole night enjoying the lava show! Needless to say, our flight plans changed the next day and we had to travel into Palermo rather than Catania to get a flight into Rome, but it was worth it. The whole Hotel Villa Ducale experience was once in a lifetime and we have only great things to say about the hotel. Tip: be sure to book a room with a sea view - - it's well worth the extra cost. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jescott888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,780
    149
    22
    8
    10
See reviews for
241
1,341
18
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My husband and I spent 6 days at Villa Ducale in April after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, and giving the information to our trusted Travel Agent. We were blown away by the wonderful hospitality and friendship shown towards us by the beautiful owner Rosaria Quartucci and her outstanding team members. Everything was wonderful, the room, the amazing views, the breakfast, afternoon and evening snacks, the dinners. Nothing was too much trouble to make our stay special, and to feel part of a close-knit family. Thankyou Rosaria, Alessia, Luca, Paolo, Antonio and Luanna and the rest of the team.
We had no trouble walking down to the town and back up again, but the shuttle service was always available to bring us back if we were tired or the weather was damp.
We have no hesitation in recommending the Villa Ducale.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JenV97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Ahhhh the Hotel Villa Ducale. What a lovely place! We drove our car up and up and up to get there and then parking was easy to find. Walking down to the reception we had a beautiful view and even though we had a strange coastal fog the entire stay in Taormina, the view was still beautiful, I can only imagine how amazing it would have been with no fog!
The staff was magnificent during our check-in, offering us a drink and telling us about Taormina and what we could see and do. It really made you feel like you'd come to stay with a friend!!!
Our room was amazing, we LOVED the decorating and the bed was very comfortable. It had everything we needed and was just across the street from the reception. They had also set up a playpen for our daughter to sleep in.
The hotel had a shuttle that was going up and down to the main village of Taormina below which was great because then our car could just stay put during our stay.
The breakfast buffet(ahhhhhh the buffet) we are still raving about their breakfast!!!! The largest selection of food that I've seen in a European hotel so far, it was beyond fabulous. The view from the breakfast room is stunning, and if you go I hope there isn't any fog for you and I'd bet you'll be overwhelmed by how beautiful the coastline is.
We loved it so much that we honestly thought of cancelling the next two days in Syracuse and staying!! The non-refundable part of our next stop had us sadly heading away from the Hotel Villa Ducale after just two nights. We would return in a heartbeat and would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Taormina. You want to feel pampered and comfortable in Sicily?!
This is the place!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank REBurwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This lovely boutique hotel must have the best view in Sicily - perhaps the world. As wonderful as its view and other qualities may be, it is the service which makes Villa Ducale stand out. We have traveled extensively and have stayed in many of the finest (and most expensive) hotels in Europe, but we have never enjoyed such an excellent and personal level of service, charm and attention as we have at Villa Ducale. It's not the easiest hotel to reach, but the drive results in an extraordinary view of Etna, Taormina and the bay and it brings you to a thoroughly service-oriented environment. Simply a pleasure.

Room Tip: Room #16 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phototheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear LA friends,
wow what a lovely surprise to read such a glorious review...... thank you so much !
Well I can tell you that simply we love our guests !!!
A big ARRIVEDERCI from all the Villa Ducale staff and the Quartucci family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The Villa Ducale has what are perhaps the most beautiful views of anywhere we have ever stayed. In addtion, the staff is uniformly friendly and helpful, truly treating hotel guests like personal friends. The breakfast buffet looking out over the mountains (including Mount Etna) and the sea is truly like paradise.

Our only disappointment was that we couldn't keep the window open at night, because there were three or four dogs on the mountain howling in an all-night conversation reminiscent of 101 Dalmations. But we could hardly blame the hotel for this!

We can't wait to go back to Villa Ducale.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmentor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear honored NYC guests,
just a short note to thank you for the praises about your last week stay at Villa Ducale.
I personally want to apologize for the howling dogs at night, but your witticism about the Dalmatians will always be in our memory !!!
Looking forward to meet you again in the future,

Kind regards,

Mrs. Rosaria Quartucci, the owner and G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. paul`s Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The cherry on the cake of a beautiful vacation in Sicily! Apart from a beautiful villa with great scenery, we were greeted by a very friendly staff who treated us as family. Even my three-year-old son felt at home (he`s usually home sick). The room was exquisite and met up to our needs and exceeded our expectations. The food was always fresh and very good. We even had fresh flowers in the room! Every day, after having breakfast, the receptionists would provide us with all the information and maps we needed for the day. Thanks a lot Alessia, Antonio, Paolo, Luana, Malena, Luca, Ilie and last but not least Rosaria Quatrucci for the great harmony you create in such a lovely place!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We spent a magnificent 4 nights at Hotel Villa Ducale in April. I chose this hotel after reading all the fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor.

We stayed in a suite deluxe, which was spacious and beautifully appointed. The view from our terrace over the bay and down to Giardini Naxos was spectacular and was also had a great view of Etna.

We arrived late at night from London and the staff couldn't have been more welcoming or accomodating in settling us in and offering us some delicious pasta.

Breakfast each morning was a highlight but be warned - you will come back with a few extra kilos after sampling their delicious cakes each morning!

I totally disagree with other guests who mention the walk into town as a negative. I am no fitness fanatic but I found the walk down the stairway into town most enjoyable and it took 15 minutes tops. The way up was a little more strenous. I wouldn't recommend it to an asthmatic, but if you are in reasonable health it is achievable. In fact you need a little exercise to work off the wonderful food. There is also the option of the hotel shuttle or taxi.

Taormina is a beautiful town and Hotel Villa Ducale is an excellent choice for the discerning traveller.

Room Tip: Choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank travelliingaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear friends from Australia,
your short comment about your stay @ Villa Ducale is the perfect synthesis of our philosophy.
I also want to thank you for informing the future potential guests that the distance between Villa Ducale and Taormina centre is a "no problem". As you state the walk down and up to the centre is achievable to everyone except the asthmatic and it's most enjoyable. In any case Villa Ducale operates a very frequent complimentary shuttle service to/from Taormina pedestrian centre (0,9 mile - km. 1,6) which in less than 5 minutes allow our guests to be in the hustle and bustle of town and back to the serene tranquility of the hotel until quite late night.
Ciao from Rosaria Quartucci and the whole Villa Ducale staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing