We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
south east england
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This was our second visit to the Ducale and if possible it was even better! It is a beautiful, calming and welcoming retreat and we love coming here. It doesnt matter which staff are on that day you are guaranteed the best possible service. The place is spotless and there is absolutely nothing that you can fault in terms of rooms or facilities. The shuttle down into town is brilliant and its nice to come away from the town at the end of a night. I cannot pinpoint my favourite things because there are so many but you can guarantee that every experience is an individual one, catered specifically to your needs and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chilli35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,841
    150
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
248
1,387
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We recently returned home to Australia from a fabulous 5 week trip around Italy. Our very first stop on July 2nd was Hotel Villa Ducale in Taormina. After almost 30 hours of travelling we finally arrived here and were greetly warmly by the wonderful staff at Ducale. We then sat out on the terrace to convince ourselves that we truly were there, soaking up the spectacular view. We were provided with refreshments and then Paolo joined us on the Terrace to give us a few tips on things to do during our stay in Taormina (which sadly was only for one night, and we cannot wait to go back as soon as possible!). Our rooms were excellent, and after spending five weeks in Italy (and stepping into some less than impressive rooms) these were excellent. We spent the whole trip saying how much we missed the good shower at Villa Ducale!
The staff were the most helpful and accommodating people we came across and we were so grateful for their always going that extra mile for us. We enjoyed amazing granita that night at BamBar (recommended to us by Paolo), and we thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere walking through the town in Taormina, so quaint and picturesque.
Another fabulous part of our stay at Hotel Villa Ducale however was the wonderful breakfast provided on the terrace. Especially the freshly made ricotta canoli, just amazing.
I can honestly say after travelling all over Italy for the next five weeks we still gushed about Hotel Villa Ducale by the end of the trip. And we all plan on returning there on our next trip, and staying longer because one night was not enough to soak up the beauty of Taormina and Hotel Villa Ducale. Again we want to thank with our greatest gratitude Paolo and the staff at Hotel Villa Ducale, we loved being guests at your beautiful Hotel and we loved the cosiness and friendliness of the place. Thank you for being so kind to us, we have already recommended this hotel to ALL of our family members back here in Sydney and anyone reading this review should DEFINITELY book here at Hotel Villa Ducale.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We have just returned from spending 5 nights at the Hotel Villa Ducale, It really is a beautiful hotel set in a stunning location, the hotels attention to detail really adds up to a fabulous break, the food is absolutely delicious, the cakes and pastries offered in the afternoon and evening are a real added bonus, the rooms are impeccably clean and really well equipped. The Staff at Villa Ducale are probably the most helpful staff I've ever experienced there was always somebody to help you with anything you needed and all the staff always had a smile on their face, I would highly recommend the hotel and definitely plan to return in the very near future.

Tracy & Alan Hunt

Room Tip: Room 42 great view of Etna from the private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TRACYANDALAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Just returned from a week at the hotel and we had a fabulous stay. The staff all make you feel welcome and encourage you to treat it as 'home'. The terrace overlooking Etna is very special -panoramic views and a popular meeting point for guests late efternoon and evening. All nationalities were there at the same time as us and we found them mostly friendly. The breakfasts were amongst the best we have ever had and the service faultless. We also enjoyed the afternoon cakes and early evening tapas. Our room was smaller than we expected but very authentically and tastefully decorated and we enjoyed fabulous sea views (our only criticism was the shower - it wasn't powerful enough). The room was very comfortable and the cleaners did an excellent job every day. I recommend you try a cocktail or two - the bar staff are really friendly and good fun. The shuttle servce into town is excellent and the staff are reliable and accomodating. we used is most days. We recommend you spend some time at the Villa Carlotta - very comfortable and free use of the pool. We preferred the pool to the beach as the beaches are very crowded and pebbly. We hired a car for 3 days and parked on the roadside with no problems. We enjoyed visiting the mountainside villages used in the Godtaher movies...Savosa and Forza d'Agro. Well worth the 30 minute car journey and cheaper than paying tourguides! Also recommend the 5 min bus ride to Castelmola from the hotel and the walk down to the town of Taomina. The town is very hectic but a great place to people-watch and eat at numerous restaurants. We had a week in Malta before flying to Sicily and would recommend it - it was very easy to travel between the two. All in all, a great holiday - the hotel is very relaxing wth friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Sea view room overlooking Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacquelineroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

After a long train journey from London to Taormina via Zurich and Rome, we were greeted upon our arrival by Santi one of the staff at Villa ducale who scooped up our heavy suitcases and took them to our respective rooms. We were then sat down in the lunge area and offered a welcome drink. After giving us some time to recover from our long journey Santi briefed us on the hotel and the amenities of the hotel and of the local area.

We stayed for ten nights at this wonderful hotel which is run with the utmost professionalism and yet the staff still maintain a friendly and cheerful attitude, even at the height of the season. They invited us to make it our home for the duration of our stay and this we did,because it certainly felt like home.

The Sicilian breakfast was amazing with a selection of cooked food and pastries, which were just too good to resist. The coffee was excellent. The complimentary tea and pastries in the afternoon were a welcome addition as was the H'ors d'oeuvres in the evening. There was also a fantastic variety of evening meals, which we took advantage on a number of evenings, so that we didn't miss out on this fine dining experience. On one particular day, a member of staff asked us if they could cook something special for us. We asked for mussels and sea bass and this was bought fresh on the day and cooked for us that evening.

We also took advantage of the swimming pool at the sister hotel, Villas Carlotta, for which transport was provided. The dining area has wonderful view of the bays and Mount Etna.

The staff at Villa Ducale have left us with memories of the holiday of a liftetime and hopefully one day we will return. Thank you.

David Julie and Alison.

Room Tip: The superior deluxe has a large patio with sunbeds and table and chairs with a sun umbrella and an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed for five nights in this lovely boutique hotel situated with a fantastic view of the ocean and mount Etna. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcomed and the service was outstanding throughout our stay. The only thing that we thought were missing were the swimming pool, However, I would recommend you to not factor in this because missing out on this hotel should not be done if you are travelling to Taormina

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel is everything you wish for. We met the most hospitable staff that was clearly proud of their hotel and enjoyed working there. They made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Breakfast was excellent with a huge selection of local cheeses, pastry and jams, the coffee was not matched anywhere on our trip to Sicily. A complimentary afternoon tea and tapas of local produce made for a highly immovable feast. The panoramic terrace overlooking the sea, Taormina and Etna is the best place to pass the afternoon. Few places can match the scene of Villa Ducale and I will not consider any other place in Taormina.

Room Tip: Our family suite, across the road from the reception overlooking the sea across to Messina, was in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REV_1Jar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
860 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 87 in Taormina
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 87 in Taormina
885 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing