We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night was not enough”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were a family of five travelling through Sicily and planned on one night at Hotel Villa Ducale..well we wished we had spent a few more at this beautiful hotel. The owners and staff were the most welcoming of all the hotels we stayed at during our vacation. Our rooms and the views were beautiful. Our daughters loved their room at the top of the hotel. The bathroom was huge. Our room had two beautiful decks one with a small table and two chairs and one with two lounge chairs and towels folded on the bottom. These are the touches that are so nice. There was a stairway that went into town that was a short walk from the hotel and it took about 20 minutes, but with the view on the way down it doesn't seem like 20 minutes. They have shuttle van that you reserve a time and they will pick you up in town and bring you back to the hotel. They are extremely accommodating in scheduling the time. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. We will definitely be back to Hotel Villa Ducale!

Room Tip: We had two rooms and both had beautiful views and were plenty big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trotBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 2,102 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Our stay at Villa Ducale was far too short. I can honestly say I have never experienced such a warm welcome at a hotel. Every single member of the staff went out of the way to welcome us personally and offer assistance. One even gave us a ride to town when he was leaving for the day!

The facility is absolutely lovely, with beautiful rooms and fantastic views. Breakfast and dinner were both very good.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 225Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have just spent 5 glorious nights at Villa Ducale and I would like to thank Vagabonda and KenBoston for their recommendations!
We have travelled extensively throughout Europe and Asia and have stayed in many 5 stars hotels but nothing compares to the level of exceptional service, warm hospitality, beautifully decorated rooms, delicious food and superb location that Villa Ducale has to offer.
On arrival we were greeted by many enthusiastic and friendly members of staff and were treated to a glass of prosecco as well as some cheese and olives. This was a very nice touch that many hotels do not offer.
There intentions are to make you feel like family and that they do with their warm hospitality and sincere interest in helping you with any requests or daily activities.
The breathtaking views from the terrace where we ate breakfast and dinner have to be seen to be believed....truly sensational!
The complimentary afternoon tea and oerderves were a real treat after spending most of the day sightseeing.
During our stay we visted Castelmola which is a beautiful town above Taormina. Make sure you visit Bar Turissi and have a glass of almond wine! Roza who owns Bar Turissi also has an antique shop called Turissi Antiques where we purchased some beautiful jewellery.
We also did a tour of the Aeolian Islands to Panarea and Stromboli. It was a long day but well worth the trip.
On our last day the staff at Villa Ducale organised a private tour of Mt.Etna and we visited a couple of small villages on our way back to Taormina.
Free return shuttle service is offerrred to Corso Umberto which is the main shopping strip in Taormina, however if you wish to walk it only takes about 15 minutes.
All in all we had a wonderful time and would like to sincerely thank Rosaria and her wondeful staff for making our stay so enjoyable and memorable.
We will return and will highly recommend Villa Ducale to all our friends. We will miss you!

Room Tip: We had room 14 which was a junior suite and loved it! It was also very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wonderwoman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear friends from Melbourne (Australia),
sincerly it took me a few moments after being able to reply to such fantastic review you posted after your recent stay in Taormina and Villa Ducale that touched my heart deeply.
We have always worked hard with passion and love for what we do, fortunately most of the time it comes out and our fabolous guests have always rewarded us for that.
We have a jewel in our hands, a special place for very special people that we love to share with the world; but all this natural beauty, nice rooms, delicious food, professional service would mean nothing without the HEART and SOUL that my self, my husband and every I mean every single member of Villa Ducale staff put every day since 1993.
I want to thank you for your reward, money means very little for us, we care for our job, we care for the happiness of our guests, we live for that and we are happy to do it....
Grazie one more time, Australia is so far away, but you have got to come back again !!!
All my very best
yours Rosaria Quartucci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was the first place we wanted to stay on our trip through Sicily, having read the good reviews on TA, expectations were quite high. But high expectations are no problem for this place : the hotel itself is very charming and the staff is amazing, they are all excellent hosts; you feel immediately very welcome, we got installed on the terrace, got a prosecco, nice !!.

We drove in by car directly from Catania airport (takes less than an hour) and did find Villa Ducale without much trouble, it's indeed a bit out of Taormina, but once you've seen the view from the terrace you understand why.. wow.. and anyway there's a shuttle to the town center, so you can leave your car on their small parking, (indeed 10€, but safe !), alternative is taking the stairs down to the town, easy and you're immediately in the center.

Our room was on the other side of the street, also with view on the sea, large room, very comfortable with all imaginable goodies you can think of.. The breakfast is great with excellent choice, the snacks in the evening are a nice gesture and the view makes it certainly worthwhile to have an evening drink !!

As we wanted to eat in town, they recommended us a nice restaurant called Osteria Rosso di Vino, and must said we found this one of the best restaurants of our trip, excellent food and atmosphere, very local and a nice terrace .

We would certainly recommend this hotel to everyone, ok it's a bit more expensive, but then again it's certainly matched by the service and great staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This Hotel is Addictive! We were back there this week, and it was as great as ever! The staff is amazing, even their new addition Loris is so sweet, and helpful. Unfortunately, our daughter had fever the night we arrived but they all went out of their way to help, especially Paolo! Our big thanks go to Luana, Alessia, Ilie, Antonio, Milena, Santi, Loredana, Manuele, Santina (their great chef!!) and the Porters!
Well done Rosaria, you choose your staff well! keep up the good work!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Manett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Villa Ducale was not only the best hotel we stayed in during our 16 days traveling throughout Sicily, it is one of the best hotels I have stayed in over many years of travel. The views from the terrace for breakfast, tea time and cocktail hour were breathtaking. The breakfasts were an incredible variety of Sicilian meats, cheeses, vegetables, pastries as well as cereals, bacon and eggs -- never needed to have lunch in Taormina. The staff was hands down the best ever - multilingual but willing to help me as I used my basic Italian. Antonio was great on our arrival - felt immediately and warmly welcomed as he sat down with us on the terrace with a glass of wine and carefully explained everything we needed to know about our stay in Taormina. The rest of the staff were just as helpful with our questions, restaurant recommendations and calling for reservations.
The shuttle service down to the town by very skilled drivers was invaluable although the walk down and back up the stairs was not that bad if you like to get some exercise after all the food you will eat there. I would definitely return here just to see again the beautiful city of Taormina and stay at the Villa Ducale.

Room Tip: Stayed in Superior Room with small balcony seating two comfortably and facing the bay of Taormina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert21647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Robert from Massachussets,
it is hard to express my whole gratitude for your generous comment and so well done summary of what the Villa Ducale service means and is. It is true that our reknowed breakfast is so copious and good in quality that you can be ok all day and skip the lunch and this is included in the room rate ! Thank you to point out our staff who strive every day to provide the best service and particularly ANTONIO who is a column of Villa Ducale. It is true the shuttle to town (3/4 minutes drive) is very important but the distance on foot is not as you say - too bad.
Thank you for appreciating our DBL Superior room, fortunately all our rooms enjoy that amazing sea view except one.So at this point I can only wish you to come back soon, surely we'll be there waiting for you !
Mrs. Rosaria Quartucci, the owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

As the other reviews mention, this is a lovely review. The decor was the best by far of any of the hotels we stayed in on our Italy trip. The staff is good and the waiters and shuttle bus drivers were amazing. We got a superior room with a larger patio which was very nice. The happy hour is great and the free snacks lovely but do be careful. The drinks are not cheap and it can add up quite a bit. A beer was 7 euro when in town a large bottle is less than 2. I get that you pay more at a hotel but it was a lot more. The shuttle service was great and I appreciated it a ton as the hotel is a bit out of town and the stairs down are a lot to do every day. Parking was 10 euro a day. Overall, it's a lovely escape with the most amazing view but as people mention, it is a bit out of town. The breakfasts were great and the dinners nice but I would venture out to the town as well for dinner as we found some great options there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Julie T from Seattle,
we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review after your recent stay at Villa Ducale.
For what concerns your complain regarding the beer cost please let me tell you something; first of all a big bottle of beer does not cost euro 2,00 in any European town except cheap supermarkets but what I would like to point out is that you did not get simply a regular beer but a small brewery beer and the price includes a tray of canapes and delicious small sweeties served in silver plates and crystal glasses. If you go to London and have a cup of tea, you can pay a simple cup of tea two pounds in a plastic mug at Stairbucks or go to a lovely elegant tea room in Chelsea or Kensington with elegant seating area served with fine buscuits and a luxury service and pay 5 times more ....
this is up to anyone's choice.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £134 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing