We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the most beautiful places on the planet”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“one of the most beautiful places on the planet”
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Stayed here for four days at the end of an Italian holiday. I cannot think of a better way to end our trip. This place was absolutely unbelievable, and our private villa was possibly one of the most gorgeous, romantic places I have ever stayed. Sitting outside our villa at night watching the red glow from Mt Etna was something else. Everything about the room, and service was perfect, and we enjoyed breakfast on the outdoor patio with possibly the most fantastic view I have ever had while sipping a cup of coffee. The town of Taormina is one of the most amazing beautiful places I have been to, and staying at this hotel just sealed the deal as far as everything was concerned.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,826
    149
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
246
1,377
19
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

My friends and I were privileged to spend 4 days as guests in the magical Villa Ducale. From the moment of our arrival, we were treated beautifully. The staff, particularly Paulo and Lucca, did all that they could to make our time memorable.
The views from both the patio as well our our accomodations are lovely.
The food was wonderful, from the delicious breakfasts to the light dinners.
I would hightly recommend the Villa Ducale to anyone who has the good fortune to find themselves in Taormina, Italy. The experience will be one to treasure.

  • Liked — The staff was outstanding
  • Disliked — the room had a somewhat musty odour
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dorsetcottagelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We booked a week at this hotel as our first visit to Sicily. Our experience confirmed all the positive reviews on tripadvisor. On arrival we were greeted with glasses of sparkling wine and fresh orange juice and guided to the terrace so we could admire the stunning views of Taormina, the Med and Mount Etna. As requested we were given two delightful rooms next to each other - one double and one twin for our teenagers. Each had its own terrace with sun loungers and we enjoyed many hours here relaxing and reading in the spring sunshine. The walk down into town was only 15 minutes but involved about 500 steps so don't wear high heels! The hotel runs a mini bus service several times a day so you don't have to walk but we enjoyed the exercise preferring to take the bus for the return journey. Breakfast was served outside on the terrace and there was an enormous range of food from freshly squeezed orange juice to olives, dried meats and fruit tart. What made our stay outstanding was the level of service - nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful - recommending places to eat and sites to visit. Thank you to Paolo and his team for making our visit so memorable!

  • Liked — the exceptional service
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank blongskent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

I stay in many different hotel - this one is very special. In many ways it is like staying with a friend - just about everything you see and experience has an extra something. You get everything you'd expect - we had a large room overlooking the bay - a big bathroom - a fridge bar - beautiful clean and stylish decor - fluffy white towels.... and then there's the service, personal, friendly, happy - its just so unusual and very special. The views of Etna and of the bay are unbeatable and there's a regular shuttle to the wonderful beach of La Pigna - all very comfortable, efficient I'd recommend this to my friends, to couples who want to get away from it all for a few days of luxury.

  • Liked — The location and the excellent service
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandra2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2008

Our interest in going to Taormina was to have a pleasant, relaxing and stress-free weekend in a beautiful setting. We definitely found all of this at Hotel Villa Ducale, and strongly concur with all of the other rave reviews regarding the hotel, its great staff, and the views.

We splurged a little and took the junior suite, which had more than ample space, including a spacious and very modern bathroom. From hindsight the extra cost of the junior suite may not have been necessary. It appears that most, if not all rooms, have large balconies, ample room, and spectacular views.

We found the breakfast choices to be very good--with choices ranging from bacon and eggs, cereals, fruits, etc., to Sicilian specialities and pastries. There is only a limited restaurant menu for lunch and dinner, however, and we chose to go elsewhere for dinner each night.

The staff was extremely helpful, friendly, and informative in all matters. Plus, we were the beneficiaries of a "mojito-making competition" between two members of the staff. Both made excellent drinks.

There is limited shuttle service from the hotel down to the town and to the beach. We found it did require a little planning to coordinate our departure and return schedules with the amount of time we wanted to spend in the town. Another option is a nearby walking path (with lots of steps) down to the town. Even those of us not in the best of shape could manage the trip down in about 15 minutes. The path is not handicap accessible.

  • Liked — The Setting
  • Disliked — The Outdoor Chairs on the Balcony could use some cushions
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank rjbStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2008

Villa Ducale is an absolutely magical experience. Not only is the hotel situated in the most wonderful location overlooking the Giardina Naxos bay but it also offers the best possible view of Mount Etna.....from almost all its rooms.

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Villa and were simply overwhelmed by the experience. It was truly an amazing stay.

Alessia, Luca, Antonio and Paulo who manage every aspect of the Villa, were simply phenomenal. Nothing was too much for them to organise.

The support staff including the cleaning ladies, the cooks (who provide amazing breakfasts and tasty evening meals) and the valets (who run the shuttle to the town and back) were equally helpful and always ready with a smile. Dominico our tour guide to Etna (booked through the Villa) was excellent & very informative.

We recommend this beautiful Villa to everyone who wants an unforgettable experience!

  • Liked — Service with a smile
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank an_indian_in_wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stamford ct
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

We loved the Villa Ducale. Georgous views, spacious rooms, good food, accomodating and friendly staff and excellent service. Our best hotel in Sicily and we highly reccommend it.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — steps
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank rocket41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
844 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 87 in Taormina
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 87 in Taormina
879 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing