We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our Sicily trip”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The highlight of our Sicily trip”
Reviewed 4 July 2008

We spent 8 days travelling around Sicily starting from Palermo & finishing in Taoromina. Taoromina & especially Villa Ducale was definately the highlight of the hoiday. It is a beautiful boutique hotel with amazing views & fantastic hospitality of the staff. On arrival, the staff all introduced themselves personally & took us to the main terrace which had the most breath taking view of Mt Etna & the sea. We were offered drinks & then one of the staff sat to explain in depth the facilities & the town. Then soon after a spread of home made sicilian appetizers were brought out & we discovered this was complimentary at 6.30pm every evening- a great touch! The overall decor of the hotel & rooms was charming, very unique with lots of colourful ceramic tiles & ornaments. Our room was great - 2 terraces with the same maginificent view as the main terrace. So romantic. The bathroom was spacious with lovely toiletries & bath/shower facilities. There was a complmentary bus into town & to the beach which made everything very simple. We spent a day at a private beach with beautiful water & again everyone was so friendly. We highly recommend this hotel & Taoromina if you are visiting Sicily.

  • Liked — Room View & friendly staff
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank itlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,843
    150
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
248
1,389
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

My husband and I spent five nights at the lovely Villa Ducale in June and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The charming furnishings, the fabulous views, hor d'oevres at sunset and bountiful breakfast all contributed to our experience not to mention the personal and attentive service by all their staff members who answered every question and request with a smile.

The much discussed 500+ steps and shuttle service were a non-issue as far as we are concerned and simply a matter of clock management. All restaurant (La Saracena was our hands on favorite) and tour recommendations (we did Etna and Siracusa) were excellent as well.

We loved Villa Ducale and will always hold very fond memories of Taormina because of our stay there.

  • Liked — Personal service and views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ihopeyoudancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We stayed at Villa Ducale for my husbands birthday. The rooms are simply beautiful. Attention to detail second to none.
Breakfast on the terrace with the most magnificent views and can I say scrumptious choice of all sorts of fruits, cheeses and magnificent Sicilian cakes. The villa is situated almost at the top of the mountain with Mount Etna flowing Lava to the left - simply inspiring. They supply a courtesy bus to the beach each day with a lovely driver who is extremely helpful. If you like you can walk down the steps into Taormina main shopping area or use local transport. In the evening the hotel supplies a free bus to town and pick up in the evening. Before visiting Taormina in the evening, you must sit on the Terrace watching the beautiful sunset and nibbling at the free snacks supplied. I would recommend this hotel to everyone as it is simply magnificent.

  • Liked — Location, style, beauty
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mauree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

My family stayed at the Villa Ducale in Taormina, Sicily, on June
17-20, 2008. The hotel's amenities, food and location were great, but we especially want to comment on their truly exceptional staff. Although all of their staff were very accommodating and made us feel welcome, one staff member really stood out - Luca. When we first arrived, Luca welcomed us, gave us a drink of wine, and took care of all our immediate needs (car, room, map, shuttle, etc.). Over the next few days, he was always very friendly and offered to help. If that was not enough, even on his day off, Luca approached us at the beach and asked us how we were doing. The Villa Ducale is a charming Sicilian hotel that we highly recommend to all travelers. We can't wait to return!
Michael & Ann Viscomi
Whitefish, Montana

  • Liked — The exceptional staff
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was all great!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank westerntraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

What a wonderful place!

From the moment you step into Villa Ducale, you realise it is a special place. Whist your bags are taken to your room, the staff show you to the terrace with it's stunning views of the bay and Etna and a glass of wine appears! It was a good start and only got better.

There are lots of thoughtful touches here from the well appointed bedrooms to the evening nibbles laid on early evening.

And I haven't even got on to the breakfasts yet! They were the best breakfasts we encountered during our entire stay in Sicily, in fact, no other hotel matched up to Villa Ducale's standards.

The staff really make being friendly and helpful look effortless and create a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. This is a hotel we hope to return to soon!

  • Liked — The views, the food, the general high standards and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PSTSUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We spent four days at this delightful villa after 10 days in Rome. We were greeted with great warmth and hospitality which continued throughout our stay. The views from the patio (where breakfast is served) are breathtaking and the 536 steps up from the main part of Taormina are a wonderful way to wear off lunch!. Sevice is outstanding, friendly and efficient. We will return.
Mitchell & Lynne Gropper
Vancouver, Canada

  • Liked — Service and Rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Mitchell-Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We stayed there for 3 lovely days in May. The position is tremendous with views to Etna and the bay of Naxos, and we had a beautiful terrace (more of a mini-garden) to see them from. But the overwhelming attraction is the atmosphere which arises from the real helpfulness of the staff, and the attractive flower decked passages and rooms of the hotel. The best of very many hotels we have stayed in in Italy.

Our only problem was that it was our first hotel in a 14 night visit to Sicily, and although we stayed in some good hotels, all seemed poor in comparison. If you can, make it the last grand finale of your trip!

  • Liked — Terrace, view, bathroom
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank irbarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
860 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 87 in Taormina
885 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing