We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel was recommended to us very highly, and we now understand why. It is beautifully sited on the hills above Taormina. The rooms, both private and public, are beautifully appointed. The staff were ALL so friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. They seemed to be there just to make sure that our every wish was met.
The breakfasts were simply astounding, from the range of food available to the taste of the food and the service - all with one of the most breathtaking views in the world, including watching the steam and smoke coming from Mt Etna.
There was complimentary morning and afternoon tea available as well as savoury accompaniments to pre-dinner drinks.
Dinner, too, was delicious and enjoyed on the balcony with the beautiful night view across water.
The walk to Taormina was too steep for us, but the hotel offered a shuttle service and on one occasion we took a taxi back up the hill at very reasonable cost.
We cannot recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AKA-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Signora Rose from Australia,
I want to personally thank you for the beautiful words you expressed after your stay at our Taormina boutique hotel Villa Ducale last october.
It was a real pleasure to meet you every day and have a short talk, to explain the way we make our delicious food and share the little secrets of Sicilian food and tips for Taormina town, Mount Etna and our marvellous beaches.
Thank you for appreciating our hotel staff and our beautiful cozy rooms.
Best wishes for a great year 2014 !
Signora Rosaria Quartucci, the owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 2,101 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

4 wonderful days at Villa Ducale after flying in from San Diego. October 2013. At first we were not sure about being out of the "downtown" but it worked out perfectly. Taormina is very touristy-crowded,lots of tourist shops, cruise ship/bus tour groups,etc. V. Ducale was perfect- you could go down into town-walking or shuttle bus- and see the Greek theatre,churches,shops,beach,etc but then go back to your beautiful oasis on the hill.We ate dinner in town once but found that dining at V Ducale or Saraceno down the street were all we needed. The big glasses of prosecco,fantasic views of the Etna and the sea, and the wonderful friendly staff were fantastic. So good that we are going back next year!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had originally booked another hotel but switched at the last minute to Volla Ducale. It was well worth the upgrade! Our time at Villa Ducale was beautiful and we already can't wait to plan a return.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the wonderful manager, Paolo, chilled glasses of Prosecco and gorgeous views of Mt. Etna. As we settled in, we noticed the bed was set up with 2 twin beds pushed together. After encountering this in Palermo (at a 5 star hotel), we asked to have a king size bed. They quickly changed the mattress and converted it the requested king. Voila! Issue quickly resolved.

The room we stayed in is represented on the web site. It was appointed with nice linens (the bed linens were even scented!), beautiful bathroom with luxury toiletries, bath robes, slippers, free wifi, dvd player, well controlled air conditioner/heating .......No detail was unattended.

This is an intimate hotel. In the mornings we enjoyed a bountiful breakfast that had gorgeous selections. I'm gluten sensitive and they daily brought selections expressly for me without my requesting them. We enjoyed the complementary high tea and cocktail hour. We also ate an enjoyable dinner. It really does feel like you are staying in a home as opposed to staying in a cold hotel.

The shuttle was wonderful and had plenty of convenient pick up and drop off times. We used this service frequently as well as walked to town center via a 20 min trip along a footpath.

Above all, the service was exemplary. The staff really went out of their way to accommodate us and other guests. Rosario (the owner), Paolo (manager) and Alesia (staff) were wonderful, friendly and accommodating. The women who worked the restaurant were wonderful as well!

Taormina is a charming town and Villa Ducale deserves all the accolades!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank flash407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Villa Ducale was one of our best vacations. The view from our balcony and from the patio area is breathtakingly beautiful. The staff treats you like family and provides all the help you need to have the vacation you want. Free shuttles make it easy to move between the hilltop location and Taormina, and the quiet of the hilltop location is relaxing. Breakfasts, tea, happy hour and dinner make it possible to stay at the Villa and have all the food you need for a day, and the food is always beautifully presented and tasty. No wonder tour books rate this as one of the best hotels in Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a seaside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VickyT535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend took me to Sicily for my birthday and this hotel was the perfect choice. The staff could not have been more enthusiastic or helpful, they really were a pleasure.
We ate in the restaurant on several nights as the food was just gorgeous.
We highly recommend this hotel as it feels like a lovely home. Thank you!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank RacheyRachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I wondered if all those fantastic reviews of Villa Ducale could be true-- and they are! We had a marvelous four-night stay at Villa Ducale. The only thing that would have improved it would have been more nights there-- we hated to leave! We were upgraded to a beautiful room with a balcony and a terrace, which gave us sweeping views of the sea and Mt. Etna-- spectacular! Breakfast on the terrace downstairs was perfect-- a great selection of cooked dishes, yogurts, fruits, cold cuts, baked goods and more-- all to be enjoyed with those amazing vistas. The hotel also provides complimentary tea with lovely cakes every afternoon and a wonderful "happy hour" with complimentary hors d'oeuvres early each evening. While the hotel doesn't have a full service restaurant, they do offer delicious, traditional Sicilian cooking every evening, served on the terrace in warm weather. There are only about nine tables so it is important to reserve if you'd like to dine at the hotel. We had dinner there twice during our stay and found the food and the setting superior to some of the meals we had in town. Every single staff person we encountered was warm, friendly and helpful--- a real pleasure to interact with. They are clearly dedicated to making sure every guest is well looked after. I saw some TripAdvisor posts that had complaints about the location being inconvenient, bus schedules infrequent, etc. I am not sure why there are complaints-- you can reserve a spot on the hotel shuttle bus going and returning to town, walk down the beautiful stone steps from Madonna della Rocca just a street above (there are 700+ but if you are fit, it is a lovely walk—please note, we did not climb them back up to the hotel!) use the city buses or take taxis. Part of the hotel's charm, in my opinion, is its location high above the town! If you want to be in the middle of things, check out their sister hotel-- Hotel Carlotta. Villa Ducale guests have access to that property's pool, since Villa Ducale doesn't have one. We spent a few lazy hours relaxing poolside-- very pleasant-- but were very happy with our hilltop hideaway. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All but one room has sea views, terrace and/or balconies. Some are larger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveltawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel was recommended by my client in Rimini. When we arrived we were greeted by Paolo the manager and immediately escorted out to the patio area high atop the hill overlooking the city of Taormina. We were then greeted by Rosaria the owner who told us, "This is the house I grew up in. We want you to feel welcome and ask for anything you want. You are like family during your stay."The service was outstanding the entire time! They made us lunch the first day and when I asked if I could have eggplant parmesan that was on the breakfast buffet they made it fresh for us that night. They include desserts @ 4 pm and appetizers @ 6pm at no extra charge. They even have a free shuttle bus to town and the beach.They anticipated all of our needs up front -,what a concept! We never had to ask how to get anywhere or "guess" what things were included or what they cost. Paolo even helped us get a copy of my husband's fathers birth certificate by calling the office to tell them the Americans were headed over. This was a bit of a splurge for us (more than we normally pay for a hotel room) but we sprinkle those in on every trip – and the best choice we made on this trip by far! And one of the best places we have ever stayed!

Room Tip: We booked a sea view room and the hotel rooms are not all located in the same building so the view d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
1.1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,380 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £276 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing