We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unbelievable views and hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“unbelievable views and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

a truly luxurious stay with staff who relish the art of hospitality. stunning views out of our room and the lounge area. the breakfast (included with the stay) was OUT OF THIS WORLD. so many delicious treats to choose from, and we got to look out on etna and the ocean while eating it. they also offer free snacks during the day at tea time and cocktail hour, and a free shuttle to and from the town centre. March is a good time to go because you're before the high tourist season in taormina.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusannahLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Susannah from London,
very nice to hear your great feedback after your recent stay in March.
We appreciated your praises very much, we take great pride in our job.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,727
    146
    22
    8
    10
See reviews for
233
1,297
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent one night in Villa Ducale on my birthday. It was great!!! The room was lovely with a fantastic view of the Mediterranean Sea and Mount Etna. Our host, Roberto, was wonderful and very helpful, as were the rest of the staff. Breakfast was delicious.
The city is charming, especially the Greek theater with its magnificent views.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank einat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Staying at Villa Ducale is a very special experince. From the moment you arrive you know you will be well looked after. It has the most incredible location with beautiful views of Taormina and smoldering Mount Etna. What really makes Villa Ducale special however is its lovely staff. Nothing is too much trouble, everything is done with a genuine smile and professionalism. We also enjoyed dinner at Villa Ducale dinner, why would you eat anywhere else when you could enjoy the best views in town. All meals are cooked using locally sorced foods and where fantastic. Breakfast served on the terrace in an absolute treat with a wide selection of meats, cheeses, breads, fruits and cakes, everything you possibley want. An extra treat is the complementary pre dinner coffee and cake. Our room was utterly charming styled in a friendly homely manner with stunning views. I have had no hesitation recommending the Villa Ducale to friends and family. Our stay was so much more than just a nice place to stay it was and experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thechristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We picked this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and it is indeed by far the best hotel in Taormina. Villa Ducale is just perfect, from the top notch service and hospitality, breathtaking views, beautifully appointed rooms, gourmet food, we couldnt have asked for more! The rooms, both private and public, are beautifully appointed. We stayed there in July-August 2013 and were extremely pleased and charmed with everything! We would like to especially thank Santi whom I promised this long overdue review! he made all our wishes come true! you are the best Santi! ciao from my husband and son too! truly enchanting!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NadineKaddoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

First of all I would like to apologize for so delayed review.

We had 3 amazing and unforgettable nights at VILLA DUCALE on our honeymoon trip this July. As person with more than 10 years’ experience in travel industry and checking, staying in a plenty of hotels during familiarization trips I can see definitely – VILLA DUCALE is “simply the best!!!”

We chose it by feedback on Tripadvisor as the best hotel in whole Sicily. Yes, it is!

From very first step at late night of check-in day until our check-out we felt like in paradise. It’s really worth! We stayed in Superior Room with amazing view to bay and Taormina centre.
There was huge terrace with sun beds where you can relax during the day and lovely balcony.

All meal was just perfect – breakfast, afternoon snacks and candle light dinner!

Very convenient shuttle service to Taormina and back.

After Taormina we went to Syracuse to stay 1 night. That hotel has shuttle service to the beach. When we decided to swim a bit and started fording into the sea my wife realized that there is no wedding ring on her finger!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I tried to calm her as much as I could. “Be sure, you left the ring in Syracuse hotel”. After 2 quite nervous hours on the beach and few beers we came back to the hotel. Both stormed our room and bathroom – but there was no ring… Bad sign to lose wedding ring? Then I switched on my mobile phone and found around 10 messages about “missed calls” from VILLA DUCALE, moreover it was SMS from Mr. Ajith – they found the ring in the bathroom! At the same time I found e-mail with the same salutary text. We called them and promised to pick up the ring next morning. Actually our original route from Syracuse was down to the island to visit Ragusa, but the ring was # 1 now! And 120 km distance between Syracuse and Taormina was like light walk before the sleep. We reached VILLA DUCALE around 9:00 – breakfast time and after ring “return procedure” we were kindly invited for cup of coffee with beautiful Etna view. Wife even asked for glass of prosecco to relax finally.

It was my second trip to Sicily and first for my wife, but we are sure we will return here in 10 – 15 years. And for sure we will return to VILLA DUCALE!

Once again - HUGE THANK YOU ALL VILLA DUCALE STAFF!!! Wish you all the best and Happy New Year!

Jonas and Milda from Lithuania

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jonas0825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Jonas,
so nice to hear from you ! Thank you for writing such beautiful review and to remind me the story of the ring. I am happy to see that you still remember how this case was solved by our great staff and that you have only sweet and nice memories of Villa Ducale.
At Villa Ducale we believe that your experience with us must not be only a great sea view, a wonderful room and a delicious breakfast or dinner but to receive a true customer service; this is constantly our goal and since the first minute of our day at work we were trained to provide the very best service possible!!!
I really hope you don't have to wait 10/15 years to come back..... nowadays distances are shoert !!!!
My sincere wishes for the new year to your and your partner,
Regards,
Alessia, reception manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel was recommended to us very highly, and we now understand why. It is beautifully sited on the hills above Taormina. The rooms, both private and public, are beautifully appointed. The staff were ALL so friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. They seemed to be there just to make sure that our every wish was met.
The breakfasts were simply astounding, from the range of food available to the taste of the food and the service - all with one of the most breathtaking views in the world, including watching the steam and smoke coming from Mt Etna.
There was complimentary morning and afternoon tea available as well as savoury accompaniments to pre-dinner drinks.
Dinner, too, was delicious and enjoyed on the balcony with the beautiful night view across water.
The walk to Taormina was too steep for us, but the hotel offered a shuttle service and on one occasion we took a taxi back up the hill at very reasonable cost.
We cannot recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AKA-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Signora Rose from Australia,
I want to personally thank you for the beautiful words you expressed after your stay at our Taormina boutique hotel Villa Ducale last october.
It was a real pleasure to meet you every day and have a short talk, to explain the way we make our delicious food and share the little secrets of Sicilian food and tips for Taormina town, Mount Etna and our marvellous beaches.
Thank you for appreciating our hotel staff and our beautiful cozy rooms.
Best wishes for a great year 2014 !
Signora Rosaria Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

4 wonderful days at Villa Ducale after flying in from San Diego. October 2013. At first we were not sure about being out of the "downtown" but it worked out perfectly. Taormina is very touristy-crowded,lots of tourist shops, cruise ship/bus tour groups,etc. V. Ducale was perfect- you could go down into town-walking or shuttle bus- and see the Greek theatre,churches,shops,beach,etc but then go back to your beautiful oasis on the hill.We ate dinner in town once but found that dining at V Ducale or Saraceno down the street were all we needed. The big glasses of prosecco,fantasic views of the Etna and the sea, and the wonderful friendly staff were fantastic. So good that we are going back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing