We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Ducale
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Sole Castello(Taormina)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Villa Angela(Taormina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Le Grand Soleil(Taormina)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Continental(Taormina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Soleado(Taormina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,111)
Filter reviews
2,111 results
Traveller rating
1,917
153
23
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,917
153
23
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount etnacocktail hourshuttle servicefree shuttleour honeymoonhotel shuttlesister hotelthe hotel offerswelcome drinkglass of proseccomoment you arrivebreathtaking viewsperched highcakesthe entire staffbeach towelsjunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
729 - 734 of 2,111 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We were met by the most friendly staff , treated us like family ! (Thank you Martina )
Our room 23 was outstanding , with a balcony overlooking panorama views , we loved coming back to the hotel after excursions into town ,,excellant breakfast !!! and dinner was wonderful , all meals overlooking all of Taormina from the mountain perch of the dining area , I would come back here in a heartbeat ! We walked down the steps to town, and took the hotel shuttle back each afternoon , What a pleasure ! It was a lovely hotel which felt like we were staying at a private villa as the guests of the staff that were delightful , it was our honeymoon. And perfect !!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank eshander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A gem of a hotel in the crown of Sicily known as Taormina. At first you may be wary of this hotel located high up in the hills of this beautiful coastal town, however the breath-taking panoramas and tranquillity are more than worth it. It is rare these days that a ‘boutique’ hotel lives up to its name and Hotel Villa Ducale certainly does. With a limited number of rooms decorated in a traditional-come-chic style, it certainly ticked the boxes for us. The staff go out of their way to make residents feel like guests in ‘their house’, albeit a rather smart well run household.
On arrival we were greeted with a friendly orientation and complementary drink. We were given options for itineraries around the town, its environs and excursions. The hotel is located several hundred metres above the main town. There is a very scenic stairway decent to the main street (15 mins) which is very doable for your average unfit 40 somethings and equally scenic and just about doable ascent. For those less adventurous the hotel provides a free 5 min shuttle bus to the town centre and back on a regular basis until around 10:30pm.

We stayed in room 14, one of the junior suits, so we had the benefit of the larger room with sofa and arm chair and a slightly larger balcony space. This gave us a little more room to relax if we wanted to rest in the room without feeling claustrophobic, however the communal lounge and terrace in the main areas were also very inviting, light comfortable and stylishly fitted out. The bathroom was generously kept stocked with amenities as was the tea/coffee, still and sparkling water. Wifi connection was very good. The TV also had a DVD player for which there was a mini library of films in the reception area. Our room was very well positioned close to the main areas for access.

Included with the room was breakfast, and complimentary afternoon tea, as well light aperitif pre-dinner bites. All meals were taken on the terrace, offering the exceptional view from the castle at the peak of the hill over the town and bay towards Giardina-Naxos, overland up the slopes to the peak of Etna’s smoking craters. Breakfast offered a wide selection of typical savoury items including local chesses, aubergine and other vegetable dishes as well as fresh pastries and tarts from a traditional bakery. Served with beautifully brewed coffee and tea selection at your table by the ever attentive waiting staff. Similarly at ‘tea-time’, a tempting selection of local sweet treats with juices or hot drinks. One of my personal bug bears and a usual finding outside the UK was the cold milk that tasted like UHT (often why white tea gets a bad reputation by Brits abroad) however I presume if you asked the staff they would probably get some fresh milk for you since they were very obliging to help.

The Hotel offers a short but well executed evening dinner menu with the option of pre-ordering a fish of the day which was very tasty. On one occasion we asked to have a small dish for lunch time. The staff offered us several pasta based options, but seemed a little concerned that they had nothing major to suggest. I don’t know why they were worried, because the plate of gnocchi I had was one of the best of have eaten.

We hired a car from the centre of town, which in the end we were able to park for free a minute away down the main road. It was about an hour to get to Etna for the cable car and tour and about 2 ½ hours to Ragusa and Modica for those wishing a long day out on the Baroque trail.
All in all a wonderful stay at Villa Ducale. It is elegant but still retaining some traditional charm, well equipped. All the staff were friendly and obliging, always trying to go the extra mile to please. For example on a couple of occasions we wanted to make an early start and they agreed to serve our breakfast earlier. On the day of arrival we arrived after last orders at the restaurant and kept the kitchen open for us.

This suited us well for a restful luxury break and as a base for exploring this beautiful Island during the whole 9 days of our stay. Thank you for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OYP-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Love this hotel, the staff bar none could not do enough for us and the view from the terrace are beautiful watching Etna puff away and a stunning coast line. Could not be too positive about our stay..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJA1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Sicilian hospitality blends in uniqueness and elegance, Villa Ducale offers its guests the real difference that makes a memorable stay in Taormina. The stylish furnishings and modern in a context of silence and scents of the island. The rich flavors of the Sicilian tradition is served on a terrace where you can admire a spectacular view of the bay and Mount Etna. in the afternoon a buffet of freshly baked pastries from the pastry chef of the hotel waiting for the guests to return. The staff were polite and helpful and smiling. The attention to detail is their philosophy.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eli2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A hotel is a service business and a good one is a reflection of the attention to detail, quality of food + ambience and particularly the duty of care shown towards guests by the staff. In all these areas Villa Ducale excels. Because we were staying for a relatively short time, I wanted to plan some excursions prior to our arrival and get some local recommendations. The small team of staff did not disappoint and were highly responsive and extraordinarily helpful both before and during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Bravo to them all. The views from the hotel are spectacular, which is sufficiently set away from the hustle and noise of central Taormina. However, access is relatively easy by ether booking a space on the hotels complementary shuttles or by taking the steps down to town along a very tranquil path (a 15 min walk). The standard of cuisine was exemplary with lots of quality touches whilst our room (albeit slightly small) had a small terrace and were finished to a high standard. If I could give any small advice to the hotel, perhaps you need to upgrade the speed of your Wi-Fi and install some iPod docks to the rooms, but this is a small issue as you are setting an exquisite standard for how hotels should be run. Thoroughly recommended although perhaps less suited for larger family groups.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranger2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews