We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They really look after you”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“They really look after you”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Right from check-in, our stay here was wonderful. Exchanging travel documents for a couple of glasses of chilled Sicilian white, we were taken to a comfortable sofa on the verandah overlooking the town and the bay below. A little while after that a tray of little local produce/snacks was brought out. A great way to start! Later Paolo, the manager, came out and gave us information about the town and the area, what to do and see, etc. He also spent the time to offer suggestions for a broader itinerary in other parts of Sicily, which was helpful as we hadn't had much time to plan, this trip being a bit last-minute. After this we were taken to our (upgraded!) room, which was immaculate, large and very comfortable, with a private verandah and outdoor bath. Level of service and promptness for the rest of our stay there were both up to the standards shown at check-in. Overall, a really nice experience - homely but sophisticated at the same time, and you're always made to feel very relaxed and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dre74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,780
    149
    22
    8
    10
See reviews for
241
1,341
18
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed two lovely nights at villa ducale.

Location is close to the highest point in Taormina. No problem though as free bus service from he hotel means you have he best of both town and tranquility.

The staff are excellent, very professional and welcoming. This was out honeymoon and they went all out to welcome us- thank you!

Rooms are lovely, we asked to change just because we wanted the most secluded possible and this was no problem at all. In fact lovely is not accurate they are beautiful with simply stunning views. The hotel spans across a small road with different bay views, both are spectacular.

A really nice touch is the afternoon tea served at no extra charge. Also canapés in the evening. This rally allows the opportunity to enjoy he boutique feel of the interior and balcony of this hotel which one would probably not use. It also makes you feel at home.

Breakfast is excellent, a diverse spread including breads, cakes, scrambled eggs etc. all done to
The highest standard.

Taormina it's self is too touristy for our taste, but the town is worth the visit just to stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

On arrival, no credit card requested, just ushered to chairs in the terrace dining room, offered a drink while bags were being taken to our rooms, then given detailed information on the hotel and if we wished,Taormina. Not needed since we had been 5 days in the center of town and had added this hotel for a couple of days of relaxation. Our superior double room was quite spacious, with a large dressing area adjacent to the huge bathroom with excellent fittings. A small outside terrace with table & chairs was lovely when not in full sun. We enjoyed afternoon tea at 4pm and later cocktails and complimentary canapes - then a most pleasant dinner. They played down their dining explaining it was not a restaurant but food from a Sicilian mama - but it compared well with the fare in other local restaurants. We were encouraged to talk a short uphill walk to the Madonna of the Rock church which was well rewarded by splendid view, including an aerial view of the Greek amphitheater. (En route we spotted restaurant al Saraceno and returned there for a splendid lunch on our day of departure). We took the downhill path to the town, having arranged for a return by shuttle. We were a bit surprised that shuttles were not frequent - it was assumed that people would spend the best part of the day in town. We had to call the hotel when the shuttle had not arrived 20 minutes after the time due. Someone had slipped up. Within a few minutes we were picked up. That same evening, a request for ice in the room was not fulfilled - so when one of the party went to inquire they were full of apologies and gave us a bottle of prosecco "to make up for two mistakes". We enjoyed the warm hospitality, but it did feel a little bit cramped. They have squeezed a lot into a small steep lot, so the only public space is the dining room. Twice, no fault of the hotel, there was a power cut in the middle of the night & we were disturbed by the insistent beeping of a neighbor's alarm - such are the compromises when visiting a tightly packed community.

Room Tip: The superior double was worth the small additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GardenPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Villa Ducale exceeded our expectations and we regretted not having booked more days there in our driving tour around Sicily.The panoramic vista from the terrace over Taormina, the Ionian Sea and Mt. Etna is simply breathtaking. Equally superb is the Villa's emphasis on hospitality - not only meeting their guests' needs but often exceeding them. Hospitality and inclusiveness pervades every aspect of this well-managed, boutique hotel. The proprietors are charming, helpful and welcoming. We were made to feel as if we were members of the extended family of Villa Ducale rather than passing strangers but never in an intrusive way. The service ethic demonstrated by the staff at the front desk, the dining room and the kitchen was flawless. We felt we were among friends and conversation was easy. If your Italian is limited, the staff make every effort to converse in English, the front desk staff are indeed fluent (most likely in several languages). Our room was well-appointed, simply but elegantly decorated in an Italian country-house style. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the linens appropriate for the climate. A large television was available in the room but we never switched it on - why come to Taormina to watch TV? We often sat or lounged on the small patio outside our room as well as the hotel terrace and contemplated our good fortune in being able to enjoy the experience of Taormina and Villa Ducale and a superb night vista. A small salon was also available beside our bedroom. The bathroom was filled with luxurious toiletries of every variety with evocative scents - melograno e menta was a favourite. As seasoned travellers in Italy, it is rare that we do not find some flaw, however small, to mention about our accommodation choices. In the case of Villa Ducale, our experience was flawless due in no small part to the leadership and philosophy of hospitality disseminated by its proprietors. A memorable experience that will ensure our return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzItalianAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Anna from Australia,
it is really hard for me to find the right words to express how much I loved your review and how much all the Villa Ducale staff were happy after reading it.
I strongly believe that "luxury" is not only a beautiful room, a good restaurant and a stunning view but it is most of all "service", something so difficult to find nowadays. Service is basically made by human beings and human resources and ours are first quality. Everybody at Villa Ducale has a mission, to make their best effort to ensure every single GUEST is happy and hassle free !!!
Thank you also for describing so well the Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale amenities and facilities and said by such an experienced and discerned traveller like you "flawless" is one of the best compliment I 've ever got in my working life .
Grazie mille !!!!!
Signora Rosaria Quartucci, GM & owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Taormina is beautiful and the city is charming....The chance to visit Mt. Etna and walk around the town at night, see the Greek Theater....all combine to make this a wonderful spot for 3-4 nights. Villa Ducale Hotel is outstanding. And the view is great from the dining room. The staff is wonderful. As an example: at check out the front desk manager spent 20 minutes with me mapping out my trip to Palermo, the maid service was wonderful, and the waitress in the dining room could not do enough for us. We were housed in #2 across the street from the Main Complex (a suite). There is a good shuttle into town that takes about 10 minutes and the times were convenient. The buffet breakfast had a wide range of food equal to a full breakfast. The accommodation itself had everything you could ask for. The bath room had tiled floor and walls. The shower stall is 1/2 of the tub with a wand and multi jets. I found the shower cumbersome and difficult to enter. The bathroom is about 160 square feet. There was a small table next to the sink....more than adequate shelf space.....plenty of hot water and good pressure....good lighting. Missed having a magnifying mirror. Amenities included conditioner, hand lotion, bath liquid soap and shampoo. The living room had two arm chairs, a sofa, poor lighting, 2 end tables, 1 floor lamp, one end table lamp, coffee table, mini bar in chest, flat panel t.v., 2 luggage racks, side table and mirror....tiled floor throughout....about 250 square feet. The bedroom had a dresser (3 drawer deep), flat panel T.V., queen bed (very comfortable), bench, 2 night stands with lamps, armoire, shelves, 2 side chairs. There was a small patio overlooking the hills and ocean at the back of the bedroom. In my opinion, if you stay here, you will not be disappointed......did not see any other accommodations, but I have a feeling they are all good. Every member of the staff was exceptional!

Room Tip: If you don't being across the street from the Main Lodge, Suite # 2 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love vacation time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Villa Ducale in 2011, however this is my first chance to be able to do a review and they do definitely deserve a review.
Where can you sit and enjoy the beautiful Ionian sea, the gorgeous town of Taormina and...and...the Mount Etna volcano...wait for it ...SMOKING???? Our room, room number 10 was small and it had a small terrace however, the view was breathtaking. We enjoyed the same view at breakfast from the hotel terrace and the breakfast...WOW!...WOW!...WOW! An incredible, mouth watering, delicious buffet. The staff were friendly and very helpful. A most enjoyable and memorable experience for us and one of the best hotels we ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Room 10 is small but it has excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 627Benjiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level Contributor
184 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

A little out of town so it's quiet with the best views and staff anywhere in Europe. A shuttle will take you and pick you up, so need for cab fare. The food is always fresh and one of the best restaurants in a hotel. Great English speaking staff and it was truly a sophisticated hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hockeyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing