We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most Beautiful Hotel in Taormina”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel has it all an incredible staff, the views, the breakfast, the rooms, the accommodations all very close to being perfect. I have traveled all over Italy and have always had very positive experiences at Italian Hotels however my stay here was EXCEPTIONAL! from the moment you wake up to the moment your in bed its so clean, and very well decorated, the hotel is located above the city center so the views are really breathtaking both of the sea/city/ and Mt. Etna. this is not a problem however a wonderful blessing because they offer a shuttle service taking you to the city center and to their sister hotel the Villa Carlotta where you can use the pool there for the day. I Love this place and was so sad to leave it. Ducale is by far one of my best Italian experiences and I will be back very soon. This place is really great for a romantic trip or even just with a friend nothing wrong about staying here access to the beach, town, restaurants, bars, best shopping, PERFECT PERFECT PERFECT !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 2,101 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Absolutely outstanding in every way! We would go back in a second if we could! This was our favourite hotel on our trip by a long way. We had high hopes based on the other reviews and it easily lived up to these and outdid them in many ways. We stayed here for 5 nights, and could very happily have stayed 5 more!

As all the other reviews point out - there are a few things which make this really stand out:

The location is fantastic! The views over Etna and to Taormina below are just stunning. Taormina is quite a busy bustling little town, and it's wonderful to be able to escape it all and enjoy the scenery from the calm and breezy balcony at the Villa. It's about a 15 minute walk down to town, and about 20-25 back up the steps - perfectly do-able and a pretty walk! But the shuttles are frequently and efficient (and free!) if you want a break. They ran up to 11:30pm while we were there.

The rooms are well set out, well equipped, and very comfortable. We had a brilliant little terrace with sunloungers and a small table where we could sit and watch Etna erupting from. The one thing I would say is that if you're a light sleeper, perhaps ask for a room slightly further away from the main areas as we were usually woken up by the sounds of the staff setting for breakfast (in room 22). No problem for us - but some people might prefer somewhere a little quieter.

The breakfasts were immense - the best we had, and the afternoon tea and then canapes before dinner - too hard to resist. We ate at the hotel one night, and were really impressed.

Activities wise - they can organise shuttles to 2 different beach areas, and have frequent shuttles into town. We also booked an Etna tour through them. Staff always on hand to suggest what might be best, and give you the alternatives.

The real selling point of Villa Ducale is the staff though - they were so friendly, so helpful, and so approachable. By far and away the best staff we had anywhere across our 2 week holiday. The really have a winning formula there. Everything is explained clearly, the staff not only have excellent English - but they have a great sense of humour and are genuinely friendly.


Overall, I absolutely wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. It's excellent value for money - and does what it does exceptionally well - really can't praise them highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zil85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Liz from London,
thank you very much for your lovely and attentive review about our Taormina boutique hotel.
We appreciated your nice words and the positive review , especailly when you say that Villa Ducale has an excellent value for money; if you consider the many benefits included in the rate, we agree our hotel has a great value.
Following your promise, we ahve already optioned the room for you.

All my best from my self and all the Villa Ducale staff
Mrs. Rosaria Quartucci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I cannot stop talking about this hotel stay. What an incredible place! The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. From checking us in, setting us up with our beach plans and calling down to the fish market so we could have the freshest dinner...this experience was like no other! The views from our room were stunning, and having breakfast or a cocktail in the main room, the view never got old. Villa Ducale staff knew our names from the moment we checked in. The breakfast was super fresh and delicious - everything was gourmet! It was one of the best places I have stayed in and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful setting and amazing food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank VictoriaNYC06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Villa Ducale is a wonderful hotel with a view that can take your breath away. The best thing about it is however the top notch service. The staff did everything they possibly could to make us happy - and was at our service 24/7. The best service ever! We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel Villa Ducale is re-writing what amazing customer service stands for. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we felt extremely comfortable and looked after by a fantastic, professional yet warm and welcoming staff.

The setting is other wordly. We took a seat on the terrace with a prosecco and overlooked the stunning coastline and smoking Mount Etna whilst we were given an introduction to the hotel and Taormina. When we got to our room where our bags had been taken, we found a bottle of prosecco and flowers to celebrate our honeymoon. It's the things like this that really raise a smile and make you recognise you're in the hands of experts!

The hotel itself is beautiful. The view from our room over the coastline and Mount Etna was spectacular. The decor is classy and tasteful, the rooms spacious and comfortable and everything is of top quality - linen, towels, bed, dinnerware etc.

Whilst all of this is outstanding,the service you get from the staff is something else! Every single one of them takes the time to ensure that your stay at Villa Ducale is pleasurable, from booking restaurants, organising the shuttle bus, booking excursions, liaising with the sister hotel - Villa Carlotta......so much was done that it's simply too much to write.

The food at the hotel is wonderful and locally sourced. Breakfast is delicious and again of the highest quality. Complimentary snacks in the afternoon and evening are plentiful, well presented and tasty. We ate at the hotel twice during our week stay and were delighted by a great menu and fantastic Sicilian cooking.

We travelled down to use the pool at Villa Carlotta and again the service was outstanding. The staff were as welcoming as those we'd left at Villa Ducale and couldnt do enough to make you feel comfortable. Great customer service runs fantastically between these hotels!

We chose Villa Ducale based on the reviews we'd read and can honestly say we were not disappointed. Words are not enough to describe the service we received and it's a honeymoon we'll never forget.

So many have written fantastically about Villa Ducale, and they're not wrong - you've got to see it, feel it and experience it to believe it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 and had fantastic views over the coastline and Mount Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mrkdab85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

An amazing small hotel with high level of services .
Fabulous Homemade food, but be careful you can eat all day long during your stay.
Delicious biscuits are always waiting for you in the living ..
The view is fabulous, relaxing.
The entire and excellent team anticipate your needs.
You feel like Home So it's Just perfect...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivitag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Is there any more perfect setting? Any more perfect guest service? Any more perfect balance between a sense of home and the thrill of an exotic location that is as current and modern as it is historic and ancient? I have not seen one. If you want to stay in Taormina (I’m tempted to say this for all of western Sicily) then this is the place to stay. Sure, it’s way up on the hill, but using their shuttle the staff bend over backwards to get you comfortably in and out of town and the beaches at the times that suit you. Five out of five, no hesitation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,888 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
1.1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,377 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £98 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing