We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this absolutely lovely old Italian villa that has been transformed into a luxury hotel. Amazing views over the coast and Etna from the terrace where a fabulous breakfast is served each morning. We also had dinner here on the first night looking out onto the lava oozing down Etna under a full moon. The dinner was great with lots of local specialities and good wine selection. We had the smallest room there as all the others were booked out which although didn't have views was immaculately clean, well furnished and very comfortable with an excellent bathroom
And shower. All staff were an absolute delight: friendly and helpful, always cheerful and happy to assist with information and tips. We were welcomed with bright smiles and complimentary wine on the terrace to take in the views. There is no pool but guests have access to a pool in their sister hotel (although we didn't try this) they also provide free shuttles to central Taormina and can recommend beaches with paid return shuttles/umbrellas etc. We would not hesitate to recommend this delightful hotel to anyone wanting to splurge on a stay in beautiful Taormina!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,780
    149
    22
    8
    10
See reviews for
241
1,341
18
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Devine hotel. Beautiful views from all rooms. Breakfast dinner super. Devine views seeing Mt Etna every night was so special and Taramina below. Service and staff first class Enjoy and take it all in. Special place. Hope to be back.

Room Tip: Go somewhere quiet. Beautiful views from every room. Breakfast dinners Devine service and food. Look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bomber078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 days in this hotel and from the second we arrived by car we were overwhelmed by the friendly staff. They offer you drinks, welcome you to the hotel, explain the things to do at and around Taormina. The offer tea and coctail time in the afternoon as well as complimentary shuttle services to the center. They work with 2 private beaches and again, offer shuttle services, towels and all that you may need. From the hotel terrace you also have a great view on the Etna as well as the entire bay. Rooms are spacious & clean, in typical Sicilian style. All in all, a great experience where you feel at home instantly. Will be back for sure!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Fantastic location, marvellous views of the city below and Etna to the right. Breakfast was phenomenally good - quality cold cuts, fresh scrambled eggs, savoury and sweet pastries galore. Lovely room, nice big bathroom, cosy terrace with a larger, communal terrace upstairs. Beyond all this, however, mention must be made of the staff - every single person at the hotel does wonders for the reputation of the hotel - the owner must be very pleased with the staff she's succeeded in collecting. More helpful and far friendlier than you would expect a staff member at a hotel to be - thanks to them, our trip was not only unforgettable, but we're determined now to return.

Room Tip: There are relatively few rooms on offer - this is a boutique hotel after all. I would think that all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuftybanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Tuffybabana from Budapest, Hungary,
thank you for the many beautiful enthusiastic words for describing your travel experience at Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale. Our job is quite hard but with such wonderful guests like you things come very easy and enjoyable !
Staying at Villa Ducale is not simply "having a nice room with fantastic view" but it's really a whole once life travelling experience as you said.
On behalf of all my beloved staff members a very big GRAZIE !
We truly hope to have you back next year.
Kind regards,
Mrs. Rosaria Quartucci, GM & owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just returned from a week at Villa Ducale and it has been a truly magnificent week! The views from the hotel are up there with some of the top views in the world. The breakfast is fantastic and the staff treat you as family which really adds a personal touch. I cant fault this hotel on anything! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wood_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Wood Sam,
a big thank you for taking the time to write such a nice comment of your stay with us. We truly enjoyed it.
Kind regards,
Charly, Villa Ducale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at Villa Ducale for one week at the beginning of August with our two children (13 and 10). We were looking for an amazing, yet traditional place to stay to celebrate our 15th anniversary and also to treat our children to something special and for them to experience a different culture as much as possible as this was their first holiday outside of the UK and we most definitely were not disappointed!

We booked directly with the hotel and Paolo, Santi and Martina were incredibly helpful during this time, answering all our questions quickly and they also arranged for us to be collected from the airport via a taxi and sent a map of the airport with clear instructions as to where we would be collected from - fantastic! Unfortunately, there was an issue with our plane during the journey and we had to land at Rome so that it could be fixed, however, we called the hotel, explained the situation and were assured that it wasn't a problem and that the driver would be there waiting when we did eventually land in Catania and he was. On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by Paolo and another gentleman (with curly hair) who's name unfortunately I don't know and showed to the gorgeous terrace with the MOST beautiful views of the bay and a smouldering Mount Etna, given wine, juice for the children and a selection of Sicilian appetisers - much needed after our long journey! After a few minutes we were joined by Loris, who talked us through the history of Villa Ducale, the breakfast, afternoon cakes and appetisers in the evening and then presented us with a map of Taormina and made some recommendations on where to eat, where to find good Gelato and Granita and also some ideas of excursions and things not to be missed. He told us to treat the hotel as if it was our home and to relax and then took us to our room.

We booked a Suite De-Luxe (Room 6), located across the small (but often busy, be careful if you have small children!) road from the main part of the hotel. We had two spacious rooms within the suite, one with a king-sized bed and one with a double sofa bed and a single bed as we had requested, a super-large bathroom and our own large terrace with a table and two chairs (had to request two extra chairs). Loris talked us through how to use the much needed air-con, how to operate the TV's, the contents of the mini-bar and the pillow menu then left us to settle in. We were very happy with the suite, it was nicely decorated (although some of the fixtures in the bathroom might need a little update, still great though) and it was spotless (the rooms are serviced twice a day, the turn-down service was an unexpected treat!). The views from our terrace were spectacular across the Gulf of Messina to the Italian mainland and the Calabrian mountains. By this point I was pretty sure we'd found paradise..

We ate dinner at the hotel on four occasions (once in the room at the children's request as they were keen to experience room service) and the food was very good. The children stuck to what they knew and chose pasta pomodoro (pasta with tomato sauce), pasta Bolognese and lasagne while we sampled the veal (Cotoletta which is breaded veal escalopes and really delicious), a tasting plate of mixed fish including swordfish, tuna, salmon and roe and I had some amazing grilled giant shrimp. On one occasion, we were told that the special was sea bass and that it could be prepared either baked with tomatoes and garlic or simply grilled, but this was the only time that we had been offered anything "off-menu" so to speak. We didn't meet the much talked-about Santini, sadly. As all the reviews state, the breakfast is fabulous, a delicious mix of Sicilian dishes (the mushrooms were a favourite of mine), cakes (especially the orange cake), tarts (the fig one was lovely), pastries, fruit, cereals, juices, scrambled eggs, bacon and a selection of breads. The wonderful lady, who's name I also don't know, who served at breakfast remembered what drinks we ordered on our first morning and repeated them every day. The children opted for croissants and fruit every day and were really happy. The afternoon tea (drinks are extra but it's worth it for the huge selection of yummy things to eat) was also lovely featuring cakes, tarts and pastries and the early evening appetisers were very nice indeed - a great mix of small Sicilian dishes which the children were wary of but we really enjoyed, they did enjoy the prosciutto wrapped bread sticks though. We found the main terrace so relaxing that on a couple of days, we lingered there with a bottle of wine from late afternoon to early evening. Although we had our own terrace and enjoyed an evening drink there on most evenings, we feel that it would be nice if there was a little more room on the main terrace for those wanting to enjoy a drink or two during the evening. As the space is small and tables for dinner are in demand, from around 7pm the terrace appears to be a "dinner only" space. There are sofa's and tables inside the bar area though, but with such warm weather and the fact that Etna treated us to an eruption of which there were clear views from the main terrace, it seemed a shame to sit inside!

All the staff we encountered were great, really helpful and as an unorganised family of four, I think we probably tested the "nothing is any trouble" philosophy to the max with requests for pillows from the menu, extra chairs for the terrace, wine and juices in the room most evenings, jugs of milk for the in-room tea and coffee making facilities, dinner in the room on one occasion and a few random questions and last-minute cancellations of beach (because it rained for about 1 minute and we panicked) and pool shuttles (as our Son was feeling unwell)!! The gentleman with the curly hair organised us a jeep tour of Etna and the Alcantara Gorge with Legendary Sicily which was a truly amazing experience and one not to be missed (reviewed separately) and also organised a trip to La Caravella Beach Club (one of two lido's they have a collaboration with). We took the shuttle down to the sister hotel Villa Carlotta to use the pool there twice. On one occasion, we had booked the 10.45am shuttle to the pool but my Son was feeling unwell so we cancelled. My husband explained the situation to Martina and she was great about it. Her concern for him seemed really genuine and she told us that she would get him anything he needed or wanted. Within an hour or two he was absolutely fine and we took the 3pm shuttle to the pool instead. Villa Carlotta is a great place too, we had dinner there on both occasions which really pleased the children as they serve fab pizza's! I also had a wonderful salad of mixed lettuces, pepper, cucumber, sun-dried tomatoes, olives and beautiful mozzarella cheese. All the staff at Carlotta were super-friendly and we were made to feel really welcome there. I have to give a special mention to Elia at Villa Ducale, who from the moment we arrived was just amazing. He nicknamed our Daughter "Princess", which instantly had her wrapped around his little finger and really nothing was any trouble. He worked so hard (he takes many roles within the hotel) but always had a smile and time to chat. He drove us down in the shuttle to Carlotta once and as we hadn't booked the shuttle back (we planned to walk the 650 steps back up!) he made us promise him that we would call if we wanted collecting and that we were NOT to get a bus or a taxi. His eagerness to make our holiday as stress-free and relaxing as possible was completely genuine, I believe he would go far out of his way to do anything that would make you happy and would do it because he wanted too, not because he's paid to and he really is a great, great guy. Although all the Villa Ducale staff were brilliant, service was sometimes a little slow. We had to wait 24 hours for two extra chairs for our terrace, two hours for one pillow, one afternoon we were left on the main terrace wanting to order some more drinks, but there was absolutely no-one to be found anywhere for around an hour, my Husband had been going over to the bar/reception to get wine and milk every evening, however, Santi insisted that he call from the room in future so that they could bring it over, but when we did no milk appeared and almost an hour later, my Husband had to go and collect it himself and on our last evening we sat down for dinner at 8.30pm but didn't get our meals until gone 10pm, by which time the children no longer felt like eating. I do suspect this is just the Sicilian way and it most certainly didn't cast a shadow over our holiday - just be prepared to be patient at times! We used the hot tub one morning, which was a real treat!

The area surrounding the hotel was as beautiful as the hotel itself. If you don't want to take the shuttle to the main town and the Corso Umberto and if you are feeling fit, then there are steps down from the Monastery at the top of the hill (674 as counted by our Daughter) and steps that take you down through the houses also (480!). The views from the Monastery steps are well worth the journey. There's a little snack bar at the top of the Monastery hill selling water, drinks (both soft and alcoholic) and snacks - the views from there over Taormina, Giardini Naxos and Etna are gorgeous, we walked up there from the hotel every evening. The shops on the Corso are ridiculously expensive and if you are looking for souvenirs, visit the shops on the road that leads up to the Greek theatre (Teatro Antico) as they are much better value! We had lunch at the Wunderbar, nice Panini's - two cheese, one ham & cheese and one Mediterranean vegetable, a coke, a sprite, an apple juice, a Guinness (not even 1/2 a pint for 9.50 Euros!) and the bill came to 70 Euros! On the road up to the Teatro Antico, we found a bar that served pizza by the slice, Arancini, Foccacia's and drinks among other things, so we ordered 4 huge slices of pizza, 1 Arancini to try, 2 bottles of water and 2 bottles of Coke to take away and it came to 18 Euro's! Much better value and we ate it in the public gardens which are stunning and a welcome shady retreat from the blazing heat! The beach at La Caravella Beach Club was nice (shingle) and you get loungers and a parasol between two for 15 Euro's each. Lunch there was great, we all had toasted sandwiches which came with chips - happy children!! Please don't miss a trip to Etna and the Alcantara gorges, both are incredible! We would have liked to have visited the blue caves by boat, but we ran out of time and also Isola Bella, but we couldn't get our Daughter onto the cable car to get to it! Maybe next time...

Overall, I was a little worried that the children may feel uncomfortable, but they didn't and were made to feel as welcome as us despite the hotel being mainly frequented by couples (Villa Carlotta seemed to be a tiny bit more family friendly with the pool and a wider food menu) and we had a truly wonderful, wonderful holiday. When we checked out, Santi gave us a bottle of wine to take home, which was very much appreciated and a really nice touch).

Huge thanks to all the staff at Villa Ducale (and Villa Carlotta) for making our holiday the very special one that we had hoped for! We are telling everyone that they must stay with you and one day, we would very, very much like to return! Ciao!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsLizB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a week-long trip to the South East of Sicily, and we saved the best for last, with our last three nights spent at Villa Ducale. We certainly had high hopes for Taormina and Villa Ducale, and we were not disappointed. In fact, the second morning we already started talking Bput how we should just plan a future vacation with a full week spent here.

We usually like to stay in smaller, boutique hotels and chose Villa Ducale for the high marks it gets for service. The whole staff exceeded our expectations; they were all very friendly and extremely helpful with recommendations. Martina and Paulo in particular made a great impression, but everyone was always very friendly, whether at the afternoon tea service, the evening happy hour, or the fabulous breakfast.

We stayed in one of the suites across the street, which we found to be a great value; loved the view of the bay over coffee on our little terrace. The rooms are very tastefully decorated, with once little touches throughout, and the bathrooms are extra large.

The shuttle service to town and to the beach worked out well for us, though it does take a little planning. We hadn't realized at the time of booking how much farther up the hill the hotel is from the main town of Taormina and we were very relieved not to have to drive the hairpin road every day. One day we hired a boat for an our at beach club La Pigna, which was great (and a lot cheaper than on Capri, for example!), and the other day we went to La Caravella, another nice beach club that the hotel partners with.

So happy we decided to splurge a little on this part of our stay; hope to return one day.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilbucofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing