We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel & stunning views”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Just back from 7 nights at Villa Ducale. We had a great stay in room 11 with double doors opening onto a balcony with stupendous views of the Med and Mount Etna. I don't think the hotel website does it justice but it was a very charming hotel with everything you could want (except maybe a pool but there's a good shuttle service to the Lido Stockholm which has a lovely beach, facilities and cafe). The staff were just lovely, very friendly and helpful and clearly care about the guests and hotel. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 2,101 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2009

Really super place. Won't witter on with all the praise as per all the other reviews! But genuinely, this place is really good and a special find in Taormina - which is a cool, classy town, but a bit over-priced....
Hotel Villa Ducale has...
- super location: awesome views, overlooking the town, the coast, and Etna
- useful free shuttle service into town
- great use of Lido - quality place, quiet, nice restaurant, free transport, and way nicer than the other beaches etc
- breakfast has to be the best I've ever had, and that is saying something - fresh and tasty
- rooms - we were lucky enough to have a junior suite and it was gorgeous, very comfortable, beautiful furnishings, king size bed etc
- but best of all was the service. Staff were brilliant in every way. Friendly, so helpful.
- cocktails and canapes in the evening - great and good value
I really can't rave about this place enough. Am normally quite picky but have nothing but praise for this place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D0ra_jar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

As noted in most of the other reviews, the service here is impeccable and views are incredible. I don't want to repeat all of the many positives, nor dwell on the negatives, but here are a few: Upon arrival, our room wasn't ready. We were kindly offered a drink while our room was being prepared. On checkout, we realized we were charged for the drinks. No big deal, but a little annoyance. Our room was beneath the terrace. Every morning as breakfast was being set up, the HEAVY solid metal tables and chairs were dragged across the floor, giving us a wake up call (around 7). I was a little disappointed overall for what the cost was, but I'm assuming all places in Taormina are expensive, so the value was probably fair for the area, but not compared to other locations in Sicily.

The shuttle service directly from the hotel to the beaches was great!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcnallyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, G.M. & Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2009

Dear Mcnallyb from Pennsylvania,
first of all thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review about your stay at Villa Ducale.
I feel very sorry for your complain assuming that we charged you for the welcome drinks. This is
absolutely not true. The welcome drink at Villa Ducale is not only a MUST but it is really our “core business” if I may use this idiom. In any case I checked the records and all you paid (bar, wine list, for a total of euro 21,00) was consumed in the evening of your arrival’s day and the next day not during the check-in time which was around noon. I knew that was impossible, but I checked to be sure 100%.
Your complain about the dragging of tables and chairs: tables and chairs are very heavy (as you said- it’s antique wrought iron with Sicilian ceramic) and are always in the same position, we have no reason to move them, being the setting of the terrace done in the previous evening. Maybe you are particularly sensitive to the noises, so in any case I want to apologize if you were woken up at seven o’ clock, I am really sorry, but I can assure you that the noise was not made by our experienced staff.
Villa Ducale is renown for not only its charm but also for its quiet ambience, we work hard to provide the best sleeping experience of Sicily to our guests !!!
For what concerns your general complain that “all the costs in Taormina are expensive” including Villa Ducale, what can I say? After the crash of the US dollar some American guests find Europe expensive, this is not our fault, we all hope that the American Economy and the USD get stronger as it used to be, because Americans have always been our very best clients.
Personally I don’t believe that the price of euro 215,10 plus 10 per cent taxes and a great buffet breakfast in a classy 4 star hotel for two persons during the top season in one of Italy best destination (Taormina) is particularly expensive. Of course this is my personal opinion.
Kind regards,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

If visiting Sicily, this Hotel deserves to be at the top of anyone’s list.

There are so many comprehensive reviews of the Villa Ducale that we won’t go over the finer details and practicalities here. Suffice it to say that we had a truly wonderful week in mid May along with our three year old daughter.

There were no other children staying at the time but the holiday was made extra special by the way the staff; Alessia, Luca, Antonio, Paulo, plus the cleaner, cook and valet were all so genuinely friendly and helpful.

We were made to feel at home and very welcome from start to finish; with presents from the staff for our daughter on the first day to a lift to the bus station at the end of our holiday where Antonio managed to retain the utmost professionalism and composure whilst driving truly “Italian Style” to ensure that we didn’t miss our bus transfer back to the airport ~ brilliant!

The owners, the Quartucci family take a great pride in their two hotels and they have taken hospitality to a whole new level ~ they even invited our daughter to their son’s birthday party at the Lido Stockholm*. It was a truly magical afternoon in the middle of a perfect holiday for both us and our little girl.

Sicily is expensive so value is relative but we would not hesitate to recommend Villa Ducale to our family and friends, as whatever your individual requirements the Hotel do their very best to ensure a bespoke holiday experience that’s second to none.

*(Lido Stockholm is a private beach run by a young couple from Naples who provide an excellent service ~ a mini-bus shuttle from the Villa Ducale, superb food, a good range of drinks, plus changing rooms for the beach and a terrace of you don’t fancy the sand).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scarletts-Odyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Fantastic service, delightful people.
I've got sick unfortunately during my staying in Taormina so I spent 2 days in the room and finded very high standard service with the Italian nice friendly taste. Also, tThe day of the departure they allow me to stay in the untill 6PM without extra charge for the day.
I have to say that the starting was a little disappointing as our room (and of our friends) where viewing the opposite side of the sea coast (the Messian side), but still the view was nice and in fact they upgrade us in a mini suite.
Pity that the parking place is a not big enought and you need to park the car somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

We spent three weeks driving around Sicily. Our last stay before leaving from Catania was at Villa Ducale for three nights. We had a Junior Suite that had total privacy and beautiful view of the sea and Mt. Etna. What made the stay even more special was the meal Paolo, the manager, cooked for us on our last night. It was a sophisticated presentation of pasta and whole fish. Our best meal in Sicily.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LouisLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Staff were exceptional; as were the rooms and breakfast. To sit on terrace in the morning eating one of the finest breakfasts we had and view both the ocean and Mt. Etna was outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrankDiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
1.1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,380 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £275 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing