We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

We were greeted at the door with a cool glass of white wine and sat down on the balcony to "check in" and enjoy the view. Everything about Villa Ducale was the best - staff are all VERY NICE. The room was great, the view beautiful and Taormino wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatPlaceGreatStaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,730
    146
    22
    8
    10
See reviews for
233
1,300
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

I loved this hotel. Its quiet, beautiful, welcoming and quirky. The service was top class. Staff were all very friendly, helpful, professional and made the stay an absolute pleasure. The hotel itself is beautiful - location and views are spectaculor. The room was one of the hightlights - two balconies, beautiful views, spacious, spotless and very very kitch! Attention to detail is everything in this place and that makes it all the more special. Roomservice and housekeeping were excellent, turn down service every night. Breakfast was another hightlight - served in the balcony overlooking the town, bay and Mount Etna - beautiful food and lots of it.

The hotel is located above the village - which means getting to and from the beach and village takes a bit of extra planning. Shuttle service takes you to and from the village of Taromina and the beach. It is also possible to walk to the village - a 15 mintute walk downhill along an old walkway/steps (stations of the cross) - its a trek - beautiful -but not for everyone!

I loved my time at this hotel. I would happily go back and happily recommend it for someone who is looking for somewhere that is quiet, different and special.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunflowergalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Loved every minute of our two week stay. Great space for a complete wind down. We fell into some kind of sleepy bliss that was very difficult to leave.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank eilisde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Sorry! I HAVE to be honest here.....The Villa Ducale is a fine hotel, but it very simply is not worth what they charge for a room!!! We reserved what they refer to as a " deluxe suite" at the "special rate" of 329. euro per night. We specified that we would be traveling with our 3 year old daughter and needed a two room suite. Well BEWARE our "deluxe suite" was a very average and sparsely decorated room directly below the upstairs patio. Unfortunately, this is where guests sit out on the terra cotta patio dragging their chairs around all hours of the night and then again first thing in the morning for breakfast!---this happens every single day and night!!! As you can imagine we were very disheartened expecting a quiet week, turning in early each night by 10 pm, hoping to get our toddler settled down and and then reading until we fell asleep ourselves....not the case!
When we asked to move to another deluxe suite we were told to pack our stuff and we would be moved to one of their best rooms that evening! My husband and I thought, well finally, they are going to actually put us in a deluxe suite! We packed our 3 weeks worth of luggage in a heartbeat. A half hour later we received a phone call from Paulo general manager saying whoops the family in that room have extended their stay! URGH!!!!
So we live out of our suitcases for another day. After much back and forth Paulo takes me the next day and shows me the said room (which was across the street) while the family is still checked into it! It is a mess and I feel very odd looking at someone else's room while they are not there.
We make a snap decision to take the room and regret it for the rest of the trip when we realize as soon as we have settled into it that there is a constant vibrating thumping sound that occurs every single time a car drives by on the street above!!! this happens all day and all night until it finally becomes so very late at night that traffic slows enough that you can finally fall asleep! I kid you not it is ridiculous!!! I would LOVE to hear from anyone who stayed in this room and experienced the same thing!
I may sound like a real nit picky complainer, but come-on!! This simply was not what we were expecting based on what we saw on the website.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lalyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, 15 July 2009
Dear lalyssa from Philadelphia,
what can we say about your review? I think you have written this under a great confusion because the only right thing you say is the price, euro 329,00 for 3 persons including 10% taxes, service, buffet breakfast, complimentary wi-fi connection, complimentary use of internet point, free shuttle to the centre and beach, children welcome pack including colors, games and baby toiletries, complimentary happy hour buffet at sunset, etc. for a de-luxe Suite composed by a stylish bedroom, a separate room with a sitting area and extra flat screen TV, a large Jacuzzi style bathroom, a panoramic patio with sun loungers: this price compared to all Taormina 4 star hotels is the cheapest one for July.
For the rest of your comment, I respect it but it clearly seems you are talking about another hotel somewhere in your imagination .
Kind regards,
Mr Andrea Quartucci, G.M. & Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

We have travelled all over the world and this hotel was truly one of the best. The service without doubt was the best. Lucca and Antonio were excellent as were all the other staff. We will come back

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

We arrived back yesterday after spending 5 nights at the Villa Ducale - it was simply the perfect choice!

All of the hotel staff were brilliant throughout - they were available to help out with anything that you might have needed, and were very friendly indeed! They also gave us various recommendations on where to go, eat etc and it was always good advice.

The views from the hotel whilst eating breakfast were just incredible - on the left you have the sea and coastline mixed with a view of the town below, then to the right you have a perfect view of Mount Etna. Professional photographers would be really excited by the view!

We had such a relaxed time and to be honest the main reason for that was simply down to the way we were treated by everyone at Villa Ducale.

You genuinely could not choose a better place to go for your honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G_and_DCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

Our second stay - see heading.

Yours-truly was actually ill on the last two days and the staff's support was outstanding. Many thanks Paulo, Alessia, Luca, Antonio, Delan, Francesca & Santina. Prossima Volta!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blobdang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing