We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly service, charming rooms, breathtaking views from the terrace”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly service, charming rooms, breathtaking views from the terrace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

If you’re looking for a charming, friendly Taormina Villa, try the Hotel Villa Ducale, 11 double rooms and 6 suites that together have the feel of a private villa. With a magnificent view of the Gardini-Naxos Bay and the faint glow of lava on Mt. Etna visible from the terrace at night, one is able to travel back in time. Walk 300 yards to the stairway at Madonna della Rocca, with over 100 steps down to the village, and be amazed when you see the Teatro Greco in the distance. This view reinforces the sense that you are truly in a magical, timeless Sicily

We were met with a warm and friendly greeting by Lucca, at the Hotel Villa Ducale front desk lounge area, which immediately set the tone for a relaxed and stress free get away. Next, we were served Bruschetta and Proseco on the terrace and a after a bit of conversation with Lucca and Paolo, we basically had our plan for Taormina touring. Lucca recommended several family restaurants serving tipico Sicilian food – and all of them were excellent with friendly service and great food at reasonable although resort prices. Lucca also recommended a guide for a private tour of the nearby villages Savoca, and Forza D’Agro, and this too exceeded our expectations. We were met by a handsome English speaking driver in a new Mercedes who took time to find out what our interests where and then customized the route to meet our requests. We also booked another tour on our own with a different touring company (Sicily Life)to take us for a ½ day trip up to Mt. Etna where we saw the most recent craters and activity, stopping on the way up for honey and wine tasting at a local family store. We happily recommend both guide services.

We were given the keys to our room which was across the small yet busy, narrow street and let ourselves into the spacious suite with its accents of Caltagerone pottery vases and lamps. We traveled with our son and he had a special part of the suite - a loft - with access up a metal curved stairway. There was a sitting area with couch and table at one end of the room which was elegantly decorated with creative accents. There was more than enough closet space within the Armoire allowing clothes to be either hung or folded on shelves. A nicely laid out tile bathroom, with ample room, and a Jacuzzi shower with jets, provided a welcome relief after the day’s outings. There is a narrow terrace balcony with tables and chairs for two, with a peaceful view of the Messina coastline and adjacent canyon. The morning rooster crow heard in the wee hours was a nice reminder of the joys of vacationing in a real neighborhood. The breakfast offered tipico Sicilian fare, fresh fruits and marinated vegetables, prosciutto and cheese and a delicious pane rustic – always plenty of food and warm welcoming service made it hard not too eat too much and even harder to leave the Villa for our tours.

The Villa provides a free shuttle service with a fixed schedule to get you up and down the narrow streets to town, and there are plentiful taxis as well for a small, fixed fee. We were determined to practice our Italian and many shop restaurant owners seemed pleased with our attempts yet all spoke very fluent English.

Taormina is a bustling resort city, filled with tourist delights and many amenities along with a great variety of restaurants sure to meet every taste and budget. The highlight of our visit was however, the Hotel Villa Ducale and we heartily recommend it to all.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CultureSeeker94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,761
    147
    22
    8
    10
See reviews for
238
1,324
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

It's the staff, location and attention to detail that make Villa Ducale such a wonderful base for a trip to Taormina. Set high up in the hills with views of the beautiful blue sea, town and Mount Etna, the hotel provides wonderful views from every room. Greeted with chilled Sicilian wine and tasty local snacks on the terrace was the ideal way to start the weekend and the warm and friendly hospitality continued throughout our stay. The town is only 45 minutes drive from Catania airport so ideal for a weekend break destination. Make sure you try Licchio's restaurant; brilliant local wine and use of local produce and a great garden setting (you cant tell from the road that it's al-fresco so its a bit of a hidden gem!)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LSFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

We were greeted at the door with a cool glass of white wine and sat down on the balcony to "check in" and enjoy the view. Everything about Villa Ducale was the best - staff are all VERY NICE. The room was great, the view beautiful and Taormino wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatPlaceGreatStaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

I loved this hotel. Its quiet, beautiful, welcoming and quirky. The service was top class. Staff were all very friendly, helpful, professional and made the stay an absolute pleasure. The hotel itself is beautiful - location and views are spectaculor. The room was one of the hightlights - two balconies, beautiful views, spacious, spotless and very very kitch! Attention to detail is everything in this place and that makes it all the more special. Roomservice and housekeeping were excellent, turn down service every night. Breakfast was another hightlight - served in the balcony overlooking the town, bay and Mount Etna - beautiful food and lots of it.

The hotel is located above the village - which means getting to and from the beach and village takes a bit of extra planning. Shuttle service takes you to and from the village of Taromina and the beach. It is also possible to walk to the village - a 15 mintute walk downhill along an old walkway/steps (stations of the cross) - its a trek - beautiful -but not for everyone!

I loved my time at this hotel. I would happily go back and happily recommend it for someone who is looking for somewhere that is quiet, different and special.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunflowergalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Loved every minute of our two week stay. Great space for a complete wind down. We fell into some kind of sleepy bliss that was very difficult to leave.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank eilisde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Sorry! I HAVE to be honest here.....The Villa Ducale is a fine hotel, but it very simply is not worth what they charge for a room!!! We reserved what they refer to as a " deluxe suite" at the "special rate" of 329. euro per night. We specified that we would be traveling with our 3 year old daughter and needed a two room suite. Well BEWARE our "deluxe suite" was a very average and sparsely decorated room directly below the upstairs patio. Unfortunately, this is where guests sit out on the terra cotta patio dragging their chairs around all hours of the night and then again first thing in the morning for breakfast!---this happens every single day and night!!! As you can imagine we were very disheartened expecting a quiet week, turning in early each night by 10 pm, hoping to get our toddler settled down and and then reading until we fell asleep ourselves....not the case!
When we asked to move to another deluxe suite we were told to pack our stuff and we would be moved to one of their best rooms that evening! My husband and I thought, well finally, they are going to actually put us in a deluxe suite! We packed our 3 weeks worth of luggage in a heartbeat. A half hour later we received a phone call from Paulo general manager saying whoops the family in that room have extended their stay! URGH!!!!
So we live out of our suitcases for another day. After much back and forth Paulo takes me the next day and shows me the said room (which was across the street) while the family is still checked into it! It is a mess and I feel very odd looking at someone else's room while they are not there.
We make a snap decision to take the room and regret it for the rest of the trip when we realize as soon as we have settled into it that there is a constant vibrating thumping sound that occurs every single time a car drives by on the street above!!! this happens all day and all night until it finally becomes so very late at night that traffic slows enough that you can finally fall asleep! I kid you not it is ridiculous!!! I would LOVE to hear from anyone who stayed in this room and experienced the same thing!
I may sound like a real nit picky complainer, but come-on!! This simply was not what we were expecting based on what we saw on the website.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lalyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, 15 July 2009
Dear lalyssa from Philadelphia,
what can we say about your review? I think you have written this under a great confusion because the only right thing you say is the price, euro 329,00 for 3 persons including 10% taxes, service, buffet breakfast, complimentary wi-fi connection, complimentary use of internet point, free shuttle to the centre and beach, children welcome pack including colors, games and baby toiletries, complimentary happy hour buffet at sunset, etc. for a de-luxe Suite composed by a stylish bedroom, a separate room with a sitting area and extra flat screen TV, a large Jacuzzi style bathroom, a panoramic patio with sun loungers: this price compared to all Taormina 4 star hotels is the cheapest one for July.
For the rest of your comment, I respect it but it clearly seems you are talking about another hotel somewhere in your imagination .
Kind regards,
Mr Andrea Quartucci, G.M. & Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

We have travelled all over the world and this hotel was truly one of the best. The service without doubt was the best. Lucca and Antonio were excellent as were all the other staff. We will come back

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#4 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing