We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, food and service.”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2009

I had some difficulty finding the Hotel, and arrived with my partner at 14.30. They offered us a drink on the balcony, and the room was ready 10 minutes later.

But we would not leave our seats! The stunning view, lovely wine and great food kept us there until late in the night before we could bring ourselves to go see the room! Wow, the room was wonderful; decorated with great taste and individual touches, very clean too.

This hotel is simply one of the the best in the world I stayed in. In Sicily nothing even comes close. Try to get the on site cookery course where you get to cook your own dinner; it's not to be missed.

Will definitely be back soon!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knowthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,318 - 1,324 of 2,079 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2009

I booked Villa Ducale on the back of reviews from Trip Advisor. I'm glad I did. We extended our stay at Villa Ducale as it was so lovely. Great shuttle service to the beach, fab rooms and the view doesn't get much better of Etna. The staff were helpful but not imposing and gave us some great tips for our short stay. We were given a free upgrade which made a difference, but I would definitely return to this boutiquesque hotel - it was the perfect end to a great holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SineadLondon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I can honestly say that this hotel is truly wonderful. All the staff are very helpful and friendly and obviously hard working. I was extremely glad that I made the right choice by staying here. The room was amazing, the views incredible, the food lovely, the high quality services they offer such as the shuttle etc is very useful however the walk down is lovely too. We will definitely return as we know you get all that you could possibly want from a holiday by staying here. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chilli35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Villa Ducale is a charming, wonderful inn. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with a glass of wine and some appetizers while one of the staff members gave us a little orientation. Villa Ducale is situated in the hills high above Taormina. The terrace, where a delicious breakfast is served daily, overlooks the sea and city below, and you can see Mt. Etna in the distance. The view is breathtaking.! Our room was beautiful with a balcony and view.
After we left Taormina, I realized I left a necklace in my room. I e-mailed Paolo and he informed me they found the necklace and sent it to me in the mail. They wanted to know when I received it. This is an example of the kind of care and attention the staff gives to its guests.
Joanne Cunningham, Alamo,California,

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giovanna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

If you’re looking for a charming, friendly Taormina Villa, try the Hotel Villa Ducale, 11 double rooms and 6 suites that together have the feel of a private villa. With a magnificent view of the Gardini-Naxos Bay and the faint glow of lava on Mt. Etna visible from the terrace at night, one is able to travel back in time. Walk 300 yards to the stairway at Madonna della Rocca, with over 100 steps down to the village, and be amazed when you see the Teatro Greco in the distance. This view reinforces the sense that you are truly in a magical, timeless Sicily

We were met with a warm and friendly greeting by Lucca, at the Hotel Villa Ducale front desk lounge area, which immediately set the tone for a relaxed and stress free get away. Next, we were served Bruschetta and Proseco on the terrace and a after a bit of conversation with Lucca and Paolo, we basically had our plan for Taormina touring. Lucca recommended several family restaurants serving tipico Sicilian food – and all of them were excellent with friendly service and great food at reasonable although resort prices. Lucca also recommended a guide for a private tour of the nearby villages Savoca, and Forza D’Agro, and this too exceeded our expectations. We were met by a handsome English speaking driver in a new Mercedes who took time to find out what our interests where and then customized the route to meet our requests. We also booked another tour on our own with a different touring company (Sicily Life)to take us for a ½ day trip up to Mt. Etna where we saw the most recent craters and activity, stopping on the way up for honey and wine tasting at a local family store. We happily recommend both guide services.

We were given the keys to our room which was across the small yet busy, narrow street and let ourselves into the spacious suite with its accents of Caltagerone pottery vases and lamps. We traveled with our son and he had a special part of the suite - a loft - with access up a metal curved stairway. There was a sitting area with couch and table at one end of the room which was elegantly decorated with creative accents. There was more than enough closet space within the Armoire allowing clothes to be either hung or folded on shelves. A nicely laid out tile bathroom, with ample room, and a Jacuzzi shower with jets, provided a welcome relief after the day’s outings. There is a narrow terrace balcony with tables and chairs for two, with a peaceful view of the Messina coastline and adjacent canyon. The morning rooster crow heard in the wee hours was a nice reminder of the joys of vacationing in a real neighborhood. The breakfast offered tipico Sicilian fare, fresh fruits and marinated vegetables, prosciutto and cheese and a delicious pane rustic – always plenty of food and warm welcoming service made it hard not too eat too much and even harder to leave the Villa for our tours.

The Villa provides a free shuttle service with a fixed schedule to get you up and down the narrow streets to town, and there are plentiful taxis as well for a small, fixed fee. We were determined to practice our Italian and many shop restaurant owners seemed pleased with our attempts yet all spoke very fluent English.

Taormina is a bustling resort city, filled with tourist delights and many amenities along with a great variety of restaurants sure to meet every taste and budget. The highlight of our visit was however, the Hotel Villa Ducale and we heartily recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CultureSeeker94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

It's the staff, location and attention to detail that make Villa Ducale such a wonderful base for a trip to Taormina. Set high up in the hills with views of the beautiful blue sea, town and Mount Etna, the hotel provides wonderful views from every room. Greeted with chilled Sicilian wine and tasty local snacks on the terrace was the ideal way to start the weekend and the warm and friendly hospitality continued throughout our stay. The town is only 45 minutes drive from Catania airport so ideal for a weekend break destination. Make sure you try Licchio's restaurant; brilliant local wine and use of local produce and a great garden setting (you cant tell from the road that it's al-fresco so its a bit of a hidden gem!)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LSFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We were greeted at the door with a cool glass of white wine and sat down on the balcony to "check in" and enjoy the view. Everything about Villa Ducale was the best - staff are all VERY NICE. The room was great, the view beautiful and Taormino wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreatPlaceGreatStaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,865 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
892 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
901 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £130 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing