We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Believe the hype!”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2009

It's difficult to put it any better than previous glowing reviews, but the stand out thing about Villa Ducale is that the staff really do care and go all out to make your stay a memorable one. It's a very informal setting and you get to feel more like a personal guest than a customer - so if you're somebody who prefers the anonymity that comes with staying in bigger hotels, Villa Ducale may not be for you! We stayed here for two weeks on honeymoon in a superior double room with a dual-aspect terrace and fantastic views over the bay and Mt. Etna. We loved the additional touches like the evening buffet and free room service. In the interests of balance, it's only fair to point out two slight negatives. Firstly, there is no pool (only a jacuzzi). Apparently there are plans to change this and in the meantime guests have the use of the pool at sister hotel Villa Carlotta. Secondly, we also found that the aircon struggled to cope with the sweltering heat in mid-July.

Overall, these are only minor gripes and we would have no hesitation at all in recommending Villa Ducale.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,329 - 1,335 of 2,101 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights in June and selected the hotel largely based on the glowing reviews it received on TripAdvisor. After staying there, I wonder if I was in the same hotel as everyone who loved it so much. The room was gaudy with uncomfortable bed and sofa and was reached by crossing over a noisy, dusty and unattractive street on which there seemed to be constant construction. The uninviting courtyard contained a similarly uninviting plastic hot tub. The air conditioning was broken, making for a sweltering and unrestful night, and no compensation for the evening's sweating was given by the hotel. Our view was only so-so and we were far away from the lovely gardens in the center of town.
I did not enjoy my stay here and would not recommend this hotel for value, atmosphere or service.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank seattleitalophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, G.M. & Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2009

Dear Tripadvisor users, from our records and from the description of our hotel made by these people, we believe that this review ....is a little strange ....
in any case we think that the best reply has been provided by the majority of great reviews published on tripadvisor regarding our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Villa Ducale was marvellous. Great place to stay. Away from the frenzy of Taormina but close enough. Clean, spacious, lovely rooms with excellent views. Staff went out of thier way to make our stay comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. NOT like ordinary hotels...very personal and dedicated service. Definitely worth it!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Tibo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We came to the hotel Villa Ducale for the first week of our honeymoon. It was even more wonderful than we had hoped (and we had read all the rave reviews on tripadvisor). The setting - looking down onto Taormina - was perfectly restful, away from the hubbub of the busy town, which can be reached by the free shuttle from the hotel. The hotel is charmingly decorated, and our suite was gorgeous, with a private terrace and jacuzzi bath. The food in the hotel was brilliant - from the incredible breakfast spread, to the nibbles at cocktail hour, to be enjoyed while looking out onto the stunning views of Etna from the terrace. The hotel arranged for a delicious meal of fresh fish from the market to be served on our balcony one evening, which we watched as the sun set - a more romantic setting would be difficult to imagine. The best feature of this hotel, however, has to be the exceptional service, the best that we have ever experienced. Alessia, Antonio, Luca and Paolo are so welcoming and helpful, and give the impression that they really care about the experience that the guests are having. We are so pleased that we chose the hotel for our honeymoon, and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JEPAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We have just returned from our one week holiday in the Villa Ducale in Sicily.
We booked the hotel on the internet not knowing anyone who stayed there.
I have to say it by far excided all of our expectations, on arrival we were met at the door with a glass of wine and taken out to the terrace with the most stunning views of the bay and Mt. Etna for an introduction to the area. Mean while our bags were taken to our room.
The rooms were beautiful with a balcony again over looking the bay and Mt Etna in the background.
The staff were more than helpful and knew all of the guests by name, but were not over the top. The food was fantastic, and all home made.
Even though the hotel was a good 15 min walk outside of Taormina town. The hotel provided a shuttle bus to and from the beach and town all you have to do is book it at reception.
By far one of the best holidays we have ever had.
Liz and Dave McAslan (Ireland)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lizmcireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We spent three nights in Hotel Villa Ducale and really enjoyed our stay. We had a beautiful room (N° 14) which had a balcony which wasn't very private but had great views. The villa is small with an excellent terrace overlooking the coastline and Mt. Etna. The service was also excellent from beginning to end and really made a difference. The breakfast was superb with tremendous variety... it was hard to resist trying everything. They have a nice dinner menu we tried one night.

It is a long walk (down and up) to town but they do offer free shuttle services. There isn't a pool but they do have a small jacuzzi in a small outdoor area and they offer the use of a pool at there sister hotel via a free shuttle. We tried the pool and didn't really like it all that much because it was super small, and didn't have any views. They have an agreement with a beach club, as do most hotels, and for a fee you get transportation, a couple of lounge chairs and an umbrella on the beach. We did this one day and enjoyed ourselves, but I wouldn't go to Taomina for the beaches... all very narrow and too close to the road. This was one of the best places we stayed during our 3 weeks in Sicily and would recommend this for people looking for a small intimate hotel who are willing to forego a central location for a place with views. Although there were people with small children, it lacks the space kids might need in order to run around.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ParisPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We have just spent a week at the Villa Ducale and from the moment our bags were whisked away to our room on arrival and the welcoming drink and chat on the terrace overlooking the bay and Mt Etna we knew we had made the right choice.

Paolo and his team have got their approach to guests just right - no request is too small, no question too banal (even though they must have heard them a thousand times) and they always seem genuinely pleased to help without being intrusive.

Our room (No 14) was fantastic and absolutely spotless - a large bathroom with shower/jacuzzi bath, bidet, double hand basins etc. A huge bed and a separate sofa/sitting area with a safe, mini-bar and satellite TV. Our own balcony looked over the bay and was a pleasant place to sit to plan the day or relax before dinner.

The breakfast served on the terrace had a wide range of choice including traditional Sicilian fare, continental style and also bacon and scrambled eggs - all delicious.
The canapes served free every evening were irresistible and a great way to start the night before zooming off to dinner in town (which is bursting with good restaurants - but ask Paolo for recommendations). Dinner at the hotel was also very good and we had a lovely last night in the hotel dining on the terrace alone with Etna as the backdrop.

The Villa Ducale has an excellent reputation but the staff there work hard to maintain it - they are charming, helpful and extremely friendly. Taken as a whole we had a terrific holiday and would happily stay at the Villa Ducale again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrGWYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,901 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,383 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £158 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing