We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING service and gorgeous views, I love Hotel Villa Ducale!”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING service and gorgeous views, I love Hotel Villa Ducale!”
Reviewed 21 August 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Villa Ducale last week (along with my brother and sister-in-law, who also wrote a glowing review) and had the best hotel experience ever. The staff at the hotel are really what make it stand out, they do truly make you feel like a personal guest and not a customer. From the minute we arrived (where our bags were carried to our room and we were escorted to the terrace for an awesome dinner and a glass of wine) to the minute we left (having one last cocktail on the terrace and stopping to get a photo with Antonio) we just had an amazing stay. Our room (11) had a terrace overlooking the sea and while my brother had problems with his a/c (room 10), our room was perfect in temperature (with the a/c pumping hard all week in the sweltering August heat). The bathroom had great amenities (you know that's important for us women), with a regular size blowdryer (with attachments) and good size lotions, shower gels, and shampoo.

One thing that stood out to me was how wonderful every area of this hotel smelled!! From both the gorgeous flowers and the reed diffusers placed in just the right spot...set the perfect environment!!

Overall, an amazing hotel stay for my first (but not last) trip to Sicily. My boyfriend has already recommended Villa Ducale to his mom and her friends (who travel frequently to Europe). I hope to be back soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenlynn38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,778
    149
    22
    8
    10
See reviews for
241
1,339
18
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Tyrone
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

The street leading up to this hotel is narrow & twisting as it winds towards the top of the mountain. The entrance to Villa Ducale is discreet but once inside the ambience created by the service & the surroundings are unsurpassed. The personal greeting & the welcoming glass of wine & snacks served on the panoramic terrace were wonderful after a long, hot drive from Palermo! Breakfast served on the terrace surely covered every possible epicurean choice. The rooms & balconies were spacious & well appointed but it was the friendly personal service provided by everyone working in this establishment that puts Villa Ducale into the realms of one of the best boutique hotels in the world.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fintona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

My fiance and I spent a week at Villa Ducale in August, along with her sister and her boyfriend. We all had the most amazing time. From the minute we arrived until the time we sadly departed, the staff at the Ducale made us feel like family. This isn't your typical luxury hotel experience, it's much much better. I could go on and on about the stunning views of Mt. Etna and the Sicilian coastline from the Villa's terrace, but I'll let the photos take care of that. What really blew us all away was the staff... Paolo, Antonio, Luca and Alessia, as well as the others who we unfortunately didn't get their names. It's the people at the Ducale that make this place so special. We've stayed at some of the most luxurious hotels around the world, but the Ducale stands out because of its staff and the experiences they make possible. They will take care of virtually any request, while still providing enough space as to not make you feel "crowded".

For the first time ever, we were truly sad to leave a hotel. Not just because we were disappointed that this amazing vacation was over, but we knew we would actually miss wishing Antonio "bon giornio" as we made our way to the delicious breakfast every morning, or "bona sera" to Luca as we headed out to dinner for the night.

The only minor issue we encountered was the A/C unit in our room (No. 10) didn't seem to work nearly as well as in the room next to ours. And, in the Sicilian heat of August, we felt it. That single minor issue, however, didn't tarnish an overall excellent experience.

As we promised Antonio on our departure, we will definitely be back.

The Drago's
Orange County, Calif.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoccoInOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We spent a week of our honeymoon at Villa Ducale and had a brilliant time. We arrived after a very hairy drive, hot and flustered and very relieved. Before we had even opened the car door, we had been greeted with a friendly smile. Our bags were whisked away, and the car parked (free parking on the road) for us. We were taken straight to the outdoor dining area with stunning views with an ice cold bear and wine, and left to relax. Once we caught our breath, we were taken to our gorgeous room with the same stunning views. The breakfast was brilliant and plentiful.

The staff were the friendliest I have ever met and couldn't help us enough, happily giving us all the information we needed and making any reservations we wanted. The only 2 drawbacks were the lack of a swimming pool (however the jacuzzi, the sea and the sister hotel's pool made up for it) and the lack of a bath.

My husband and I loved Villa Ducale and would certainly go back again.

.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

It's difficult to put it any better than previous glowing reviews, but the stand out thing about Villa Ducale is that the staff really do care and go all out to make your stay a memorable one. It's a very informal setting and you get to feel more like a personal guest than a customer - so if you're somebody who prefers the anonymity that comes with staying in bigger hotels, Villa Ducale may not be for you! We stayed here for two weeks on honeymoon in a superior double room with a dual-aspect terrace and fantastic views over the bay and Mt. Etna. We loved the additional touches like the evening buffet and free room service. In the interests of balance, it's only fair to point out two slight negatives. Firstly, there is no pool (only a jacuzzi). Apparently there are plans to change this and in the meantime guests have the use of the pool at sister hotel Villa Carlotta. Secondly, we also found that the aircon struggled to cope with the sweltering heat in mid-July.

Overall, these are only minor gripes and we would have no hesitation at all in recommending Villa Ducale.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights in June and selected the hotel largely based on the glowing reviews it received on TripAdvisor. After staying there, I wonder if I was in the same hotel as everyone who loved it so much. The room was gaudy with uncomfortable bed and sofa and was reached by crossing over a noisy, dusty and unattractive street on which there seemed to be constant construction. The uninviting courtyard contained a similarly uninviting plastic hot tub. The air conditioning was broken, making for a sweltering and unrestful night, and no compensation for the evening's sweating was given by the hotel. Our view was only so-so and we were far away from the lovely gardens in the center of town.
I did not enjoy my stay here and would not recommend this hotel for value, atmosphere or service.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank seattleitalophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, G.M. & Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this review, 16 August 2009
Dear Tripadvisor users, from our records and from the description of our hotel made by these people, we believe that this review ....is a little strange ....
in any case we think that the best reply has been provided by the majority of great reviews published on tripadvisor regarding our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Villa Ducale was marvellous. Great place to stay. Away from the frenzy of Taormina but close enough. Clean, spacious, lovely rooms with excellent views. Staff went out of thier way to make our stay comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. NOT like ordinary hotels...very personal and dedicated service. Definitely worth it!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tibo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing