We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Benissimo!”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Benissimo!”
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We arrived a bit frazzled from London because we had missed our flight the day before but from the minute we entered this hotel to be greeted by Antonio we began to relax. The hotel has such a lovely feel to it - everything about is very well done. It is pretty, charming and elegant with many nice touches. The view from the terrace where you can eat or just enjoy a drink is superb. Our deluxe suite was very nice and spacious - like a mini apartment. We also took advantage of 'romantic escapade' package which was fantastic value 150 euros for transfer to and from Catania Airport, fresh fruit, beautiful bouquet of red roses, bottle of champagne in our room and a home cooked meal for two. The meal was absolutely delicious, cooked by the wonderful Santina who is an ecellent chef. In fact, all the food served at the Hotel is of a very high standard, with best choice of breakfast possible. There are so many good restaurants in Taormina and we had so many good meals that my Husband put on 10lbs in 9days despite all the walking we did!! Our favourite restaurant was in Castelmola called La Bocciola - excellent decor, seriously good food and a really charming maitre'd. Talking of charming brings me back to the staff at Villa Ducale and as mentioned by so many previous reviewers they are really helpful, genuine and warm . Fell in love with Taormina and we can't wait to go back. Thanks Paolo, Antonio, Lucca, Alyssa and all the rest of you at Villa Ducale for making our stay so thoroughly enjoyable.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Perfectos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,805
    149
    24
    8
    10
See reviews for
243
1,361
19
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manotick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

This hotel offers stunning views of Mount Etna. The staff are warm,friendly and knowledgeable about Taormina and the surrounding area.Free shuttle service provides access to the town centre of Taormina.The food is good and the homemade Sicilian pastries are excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donaldblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, MA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

While the drive up the winding and steep road to the Villa Ducale, had some white knuckle turns and slopes. it is more than made up for by the exuberant welcome we received on our arrival. A warm greeting was extended to us by Alessia and we were guided to their veranda for a glass of prosecco with cheese while our bags were brought to our room and our car safely parked.

The view of Mt Etna on a sunny afternoon is simply stunning while the antipasto placed at our disposal was marvelous. The breakfast buffet is startling, so any choices of sweet and savory. More than one can manage.

We also found an interesting English speaking assortment of guests there and enjoyed hours of good conversation.

The Villa Ducale was a highlight of our trip to Sicily this May.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

My wife and I stayed in Hotel Villa Ducale for 4 nights May 12th-16th. Ideal for a young/ middle aged couple who are able to use the steps approx 15 min walk to centre of Taormina. We have stayed in some of the best hotels and resorts in the world and I can say (other than a intermittant barking dog at night) we had a 100% pleasurable experience. So good in fact, we decided to post this on Tripadvisor, for the first time ever.
The staff are as friendly and helpful as noted in the other reviews. The view is exceptional and if people want to stay in a location away from the hustle and bustle this is the perfect location. Its location also benefits a trip to Castlemole up the hill or very short taxi ride away. Might be deemed to be expensive but worth it considering prices of other Italian hotels in general for a far lesser quality.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAGDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We made our choice to spend a week at Villa Ducale purely on the basis of it s very high trip advisor rating and after our experience there, can only give our full endorsement to Ducale's rightful status as top ten material. The exceptional and very personable staff are what made our trip so memorable - warm, intimate and low-key in their approach they were unfailingly attentive to all our needs from helping with planning and suggesting interesting days out, to offering first-class table and drinks service at meal times whilst never once becoming intrusive or over-stepping the mark. With their valued assistance we learned to discover many Sicilian sights and interesting places on our various days out in the surrounding area, but were always happy to return back in the evening to Ducale to enjoy the peace and special atmosphere that we had already grown accustomed to during our short stay there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VFMKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

This hotel is truly a gem! We were welcomed with a glass of Proseco and a magnificent panoramic view of the Mediterranean Sea from their enclosed veranda. We were in Sicily for the International Messina Marathon, and the staff of the hotel was solicitious of our needs...from an early race-day bite to eat to helping us secure on-time transportation. After the race, we so appreciated the cocktail hour with lovely and plentiful canapes! Though we wanted to explore Taorimina a bit more, we stayed at the hotel one evening because we knew we would be sure to have a delicious and relaxing meal. The rooms are clean and no detail was overlooked. However, the best part of the Hotel Ducale, by far, was the friendly staff. Everyone was so warm and welcoming. They were available to answer any questions we had and seemed genuinely eager for us to enjoy our stay. We truly felt like their guests. We would most certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krcsqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Perched high above Taormina and almost nestled against snowcapped Mount Etna, this elegant and friendly boutique hotel made us feel immediately at home. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. In fact we arrived with friends in tow who were actually staying elsewhere. They were offered a welcome drink too and we all chatted with the reception staff and gleaned some useful tips whilst enjoying the breathtaking view from the terrace. They spoke English so well, particularly Paolo and Alessia, we were able to dispense with our woeful Italian. Our suite was spacious, comfortably furnished and artfully decorated with some quirky local pieces. Well timed shuttle services take guests up and down to Taormina. It's possible to walk down without difficulty but the return trip would be a bit of a haul. They always try to accommodate guests outside the shuttle service timetable. A special trip seems to be no trouble. Breakfast was a lavish affair, served on that wonderful terrace. On departure I stupidly left behind some valuables. Paolo arranged their safe return to me just a few days later. This required some effort, phone calls and emails, all conducted with kind consideration, not a hint of irritation. And I wasn't even charged delivery.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnglandPollyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
821 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
868 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Property: Hotel Villa Ducale
Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing