We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional friendly staff, breathtaking view and unbelievable food and wine, what more could you want!”
Review of Hotel Villa Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ducale
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed in Villa Ducale for a week in August and we were not disappointed! Upon arrival we met the staff who presented us with complimentary Prosecco and Sicilian nibbles - straight away we were swept away by the view of Taormina! Throughout the week the staff were so friendly and helpful, offering advice where possible! We ate in the hotel on numerous occasions and the food was delicious, the chef is a Sicilian lady and cooked the best Gnocchi and Lasagne we have EVER tasted! If you let the staff know what you want to eat they cook it especially!! The room was lovely, really clean and had a jacuzzi hot-tub! Recommend getting a superior room as you have a balcony with a view of the sea. Although there is no pool, there is a small jacuzzi with sun-loungers - the hotel is also directly linked to a number of beaches and you can get a private shuffle back and forth which is arranged by the beach. There is a private shuttle provided by the hotel straight to Taormina (about 15 minute drive) and if you miss the shuttle the public bus-stop is just outside the door and costs only 50c! If you want something more quaint you can also get a bus to Castlemola (which we highly recommend) which is something straight out of a filmset and only takes apprx 10 mins to reach!!

So to summarise we nearly cried when we left and already can't wait to go back!!!! Thanks Villa Ducale :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FeathersLucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2010

Dear Dublin friends,
I was really touched when in your glorious review you say that you almost cried when were leaving..... this is why we love our guests, we love Villa Ducale people !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,220 - 1,226 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

This is one of the most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed in. The location, the views of Mt. Etna, the Terrace, the food was beyond compare. The staff couldn't do enough for you and never seemed to be so busy they couldn't stop to give you directions, help with a reservation etc. If you go to Sicily this is where you should stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

From the moment we arrived with a very grumpy 2 year old, nothing was a problem. This hotel LOVES children and the service, care and attention to detail is definitely 5 star.

Canapes were laid out daily from 7ish on the main terrace for social drinks, but we also enjoyed the privacy with the same amazing view of Taormina from the terrace of our room. The room itself had bags of space for a cot, and was kept beautifully clean and my 2 year old loved the jacussi bath we all felt very spoilt.

Breakfast was wonderful, my personal fave was the marmelade croissants, but it was all very good, both hot and cold, and the views of Taormina and Mount Etna from the terrace where it is served are incredible.

We all had a great great week, and would highly recommend Villa Ducale to anyone visiting Taormina.

The single bad thing I can say about this hotel is that I now have to find somewhere better - an impossible task I fear!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1isa_wa1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Stayed here for second week of our honeymoon, and booked a suite.

from the moment we arrived the service, care and attention to detail was superb.

The staff really do go out of the way to make you feel welcome, with a lovely big glass of bubbly the moment you arrive... to a lovely parting gift when we left.

Our room was lovely, clean, and with beautiful decorative touches. We knew from the minute we arrived it was going to be a special week.

A courtesy bus takes you down to the main town, which was handy, as the hotel is nestled in the hills looking down on Taormina.

We ate in on two occassions, and the food was lovely, as was the hotels wine recomendations.

Breakfast was also very good, with a lovely spread of food, both hot and cold, and the views from the terrace where it is served are incredible.

Rooms also has free wi-fi, which was very handy.

We had a great great week, and would certainly recommend Villa Ducale.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JupiterGate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

What I mean to say is ' this hotel is class'. My wife and I finished off our Italian/Sicilian holiday with a 3 day stay in this hotel only to be treated like royalty. The staff are brilliant and you know that they take pride in their work because of the attention to detail. The breakfast is second to none - what a selection. We can highly recommend the home cooked meal request for the evening "OMG". Some reviews have noted the walk to the hotel in the evening up the steps is hard - yes it is, but we found it refreshing in the fact that you don't go to bed with a full belly from a night on the town and to be fair the hotel does provide a bus service if don't want to take the healthy option. What more can I say about this hotel but 'Brilliant - Outstanding - A touch of Class" They deserve there high ranking reviews because they earned it. Well done Villa Ducale and keep up the good work!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rossieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

A stay at the Hotel Villa Ducale has a downside all prospective guests need to be made aware of. A stay at this Hotel will destroy all future hotel experiences as none will compare to the warmth and hospitality of the Hotel Villa Ducale. It is a beautiful building with excellent amenities but what sets it apart is the staff. The Front Desk, the kitchen, housekeeping and porters will all make you feel as if you are the most important person in the world.

To all my fellow Australians considering visiting beautiful Taormina, do not bother considering any other hotel. The Hotel Villa Ducale is an oasis in the hills of Taormina. But be warned! Every hotel experience you have after staying here will be a sad disappointment.

Paolo, and all the guys, thank you for an amazing holiday!

Richard Hesketh - Australia.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichardPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The sense of bliss we feel, a few days after we have left this remarkable hotel, and the people that took so well care of us, is something one have to experience. Words and images can only hint towards the feeling.
To be able to set so strong footprints in our hearts, is to us a very rare quality of people that goes under the name of staff.

In addition to the friendly, fun, helpful and caring people, the hotel itself is a little wonder. Clean, thorough in design, warm and including in interior, practical and comfortable room and terrace, and with the marvellous upper terrace for breakfast and evening snacks together with other guests.

We had a delicious and tasteful dinner made for us one of our evenings. A two course meal of seafood made from local essentials, and prepared for us by their skillful chef. And though we are spoiled with seafood from birth, beeing both born in Lofoten/Norway, we were both struck upon how the simplicity of true Sicilian food, and locally produced wine, can make such a strong impact and taste in our mouths. Truly inspirational and we had a very lovely and romantic evening together.

The guys and girls working at the hotel was also very helpful before, during and upon leaving the Villa Ducale, and also when giving us advise upon what to see and do on our excursions to Syracusa and the Mt.Etna. Without this care and insight, we would not have got so much from our one day trips. They know both their country and their enviroment, as well as who to pick as a guide. We have to mention Edy, our guide at Mt. Etna, with whom we felt safe, hade fun, enriched our knowledge, and who had us smell, taste and feel what a Mountain like the one mentioned is made of. He is probably the best ambassadeur one can get for a local community and enviroment, as well as a fun and warm guy.

All our excursions was undoubtedly tailored for us, in order to make us have the most out of our eleven days at the Villa Ducale, and our one day excursions. And for this we would like to thank Paolo at the reception. He and his collegues gave us all from tips about where to eat the best ice cream in Taormina, to what to do in Syracusa.

If You should need a real retreat and want to give in to the warm and comfortable care of others, away from your everyday life, we would not hesitate to recommend you to put your trust in the people that make you feel strangely at home, and their unspoiled little space on this planet, the blissful Villa Ducale.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RunarStoreide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDucale, Owner at Hotel Villa Ducale, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2010

Dear friends from Norway,
just a short note to let you know how honored and delighted my self and all the Villa Ducale staff are after reading such fantastic review.
You have perfectly caught the spirit and soul of a stay at Villa Ducale: it is an experience of all senses.
We are all loking forward to see you back soon...
Ciao,
Andrea Quartucci and Villa Ducale staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,860 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
891 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
900 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ducale

Address: via Leonardo da Vinci 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £129 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Ducale 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taormina Hotel Villa Ducale is small luxury boutique hotel perched in an elevated position above the centre of Taormina km 1,3) commanding a unique outstanding view over the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna.Our hotel,member of HIP hotels, is incredibly pretty, with flowers and colours adorning every angle, and a view to die for.Every bedroom is individually designed with the highest attention to detail, furnished with great taste in a mix of Sicilian traditional and Italian design contemporary style, each has its own private panoramic terrace or balcony.The hotel is able to offer a variety of personalised services, such as cooking lessons, wine tasting and tailor made meals, special romantic candle-lit dinners which can be arranged easily with the super friendly staff.Eleven Double rooms and six suites with full aminities and free wi-fi connection.Free shuttle to center and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing