We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service, surprising value especially for its great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Quattro Fontane

Le Quattro Fontane
Ranked #65 of 257 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coventry
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, surprising value especially for its great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was our favourite of those we visited on holiday in Taormina so we went back on the last night. It is right opposite the duomo so one of the best locations in Taormina but half the prices of the Wunderbar in the other main square.

Service was excellent with complimentary prosecco just to start you off nicely. I think we both chose what seemed SIcilian and we were not disappointed. I loved the chicken in an orange sauce and my wife loved the pasta with a pesto with almonds. The starters and desserts were also gorgeous and generous probably unlikely you will want both in one sitting!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hvzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    65
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“The best restaurant this end of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Opposite the Duomo and right by the fountain it is named after, this restaurant could do nothing wrong and is in the perfect spot for some people watching.
We visited for lunch then returned for dinner several times - it was that good.
Try the little tarragon pastries they bring you to start with - they are delicious. They may even bring you a complimentary glass of Prosecco if you are lucky.
I'd try anything on their extensive menu, it was all good. But if you like spicy food, their spaghetti Etna was delicious. Puddings also looked delicious, but we were always too full!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoandIan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
169 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good meal in unassuming surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We sat in the square right next to the small fountain, surrounded by lots of strolling people and kids playing football. Friendly service, a welcome glass of prosecco, good antipasti and main courses, an excellent torta limone (a genuine lemon merengue pie) accompanied by coffee and some mandorle (almond) wine rounded of an unexpectedly good meal, exceeding our expectations for such an unassuming setting. We would gladly have come back had we had more time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cicignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Benvenuto Alle Fontane”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Fell of the plane, made the difficult journey to Taormina, and about 10 p m arrived in the Piazza del Duomo exhausted. No problem for the lads of Le Quattro Fontane, who immediately produced a great Sicilian welcome, then tasty minestone, omelettes and reviving wine. Thank you, chaps. (Closed on Sundays.)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank danilovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh uk
Level Contributor
149 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Medley of children cars horns and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Perfect spot for being part of the Sicilian scene...
Good service with a smile and food beyond the average esp the pasta spinach and tomato sauce
Wine good and fruity
Lingered by for a while then ended the meal with expressos..a very pleasant evening

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MorningEdinburghuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Quattro Fontane also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Castelmola, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Le Quattro Fontane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing