We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless Service”

Oliviero Restaurant - Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Ranked #112 of 272 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$125 - US$360
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Flawless Service”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband booked a table in advance for our wedding anniversary. Warmly greeted on arrival and felt comfortable from start to finish. All staff very helpful and attentive. The setting to this lovely restaurant is stunning and very romantic.
We decided to try the Sicilian taster menu, fresh local cuisine. Beautiful fish and pasta dishes. So much food we couldn't eat everything. . So go hungry. That is not a complaint in anyway, our food was 1st class.
The service was very professional but friendly.

We loved our evening at this restaurant.

Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amanda_sid72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    22
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular in every way possible”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

On our recent trip to Taormina we visited Oliviero. The night was special from start to finish. The setting spectacular, beautiful gardens leading to the restaurant's candle lit cocktail bar. The restaurant overlooks Mazzaro bay. The service from all the staff was 1st class from the moment we entered - friendly, professional, with every attention to detail. The food was the best we have ever had in Taormina ( visit regularly since our honeymoon here 33 years ago). We were treated to a refreshing traditional Sicilian seafood salad, followed by a pasta dish served with caught that day lobster. We then shared a whole baked fresh seabass. The dessert was not only delicious but a work of art by the head chef Salvatore. Complimenti e Grazie al chef and staff for a truly spectacular evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

While staying at the Grand Hotel Timeo last week, we went down to the beach of its sister hotel the Sant'Andrea and had lunch 3 times at the Oliviero restaurant. The food was amazing at all times, and the setting of the restaurant itself is beautiful as it overlooks the beach and sea. The waiters and manager are all very helpful, willing to prepare when possible dishes not specifically on the menu (such as pasta with lobster, grilled mixed seafood, pizza, pasta alio olio...). The restaurant also has very good wine (tried different white ones which were excellent). Excellent dishes we tried; lobster salad, bresaola salad, catch of the day baked in sea salt, pasta with lobster, pasta alio olio...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mayya13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food - good service”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had dinner last night at restaurant Oliviero. The chef prepared a wonderful pasta with local lobster and pomodorini. Beautiful setting, perfect food and flawless service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanett E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful in every way”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

While we were staying in Taormina, I wanted to take my partner somewhere special to celebrate his birthday and this truly was wonderful. The hotel is in a lovely position in a small cove on the sea front and from the moment we walked in, the welcome and service from all the staff was exceptional.
We had cocktails in the candle lit bar area and watched the sunset over the sea. The pianist came over to say hello and when he found out it was my partner’s birthday, played his favourite song.
When we went through to dinner, we were shown to a lovely candle lit table overlooking the sea. We chose the Sicilian Taster menu which was really delicious and gave us a chance to try lots of things we hadn’t been offered in any other restaurants in Taormina. The staff also brought out the dessert with a special birthday message from the chef.
Our thanks to the chefs and all the staff for such a wonderful and truly memorable evening.
It was everything I hoped it would be but you all made it so much more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barefootonthebeach12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oliviero Restaurant - Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Oliviero Restaurant - Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing