We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrated our daughter's 18th birthday!”

Restaurant Cinque Archi
Reserve with
Restaurant Cinque Archi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 274 Restaurants in Taormina
Price range: US$47 - US$94
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Lawrence, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Celebrated our daughter's 18th birthday!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

GreAt food, incredible service, beautiful location! They made our daughter 's18th birthday celebration beyond lovely with complimentary champagne and cake for her. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazv9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mario c, Proprietario at Restaurant Cinque Archi, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Google Translation
Grazie x le vostre belle parole , ci fa molto piacere sapere che siete stati bene . Sperando di riavervi presto nel nostro ristorante . lo staff ed titolare ringraziano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    82
    35
    17
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good experience”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We visited the restaurant during our stay in the area. We decided to eat at this place because of the view from the outdoor tables, which were gorgeous. The restaurant itself also seemed lovely and when we sat at our table we were served two glasses of sparkling wine. We were not very hungry and decided only to have main courses. Before our main course we were served some antipasti which were very tasteful. We had two different steaks which both were well prepared and tasteful, but the one was definitely more tasteful than the other, unfortunately I don’t remember the name of the course. Because of the good food, we decided also to have some dessert, which were also well tasting After the dessert we were served some Sicilian cookies and liquor.

I must say that I’ve now read some of the reviews of the restaurant and I can’t recognize what some people write about “odd service” as I experienced the service as very professional.

The restaurant has a very good service and also very good food. But you are also gonna pay for it. The restaurant has the most expensive coperto I’ve seen (3€ each person) and the courses itself were also quite expensive. We paid around 90€ for two desserts, two main courses and a bottle of one of the cheaper wine that they had.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TinePe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mario c, Proprietario at Restaurant Cinque Archi, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Google Translation
Grazie x le vostre belle parole , ci fa molto piacere sapere che siete stati bene . Sperando di riavervi presto nel nostro ristorante . lo staff ed titolare ringraziano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Molto Bene”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

What a gem. Great service. Fantastic quality. Excellent value for money. My wife and I enjoyed a most memorable wedding anniversary here. The Maitre de was exceptional in his attention and information. The view from the balcony table over the piazza and the Ionian sea was so romantic. Everyone going to Taormina should go here fo a meal. We are planning on going to Taormina next June 17th just to eat here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mario c, Proprietario at Restaurant Cinque Archi, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Google Translation
Grazie x le vostre belle parole , ci fa molto piacere sapere che siete stati bene . Sperando di riavervi presto nel nostro ristorante . lo staff ed titolare ringraziano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really disappointing”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I visited Cinque Archi while on our honeymoon a few weeks ago, and did so because of the great reviews on here.

It would be unfair to say it was awful, but the food was very average and overpriced for what it was. The service was ok but a little odd, we felt like we were being watched eating our dinner. I ordered the beef fillet, and had tuna fillet delivered to the table - an honest mistake but this was after mix ups with menus, and flavourless starters had already come and gone.

An amazing location, and make sure you get an outside table as we did if you go, as the views are lovely. Just sadly a disappointing overall experience when we had such high hopes for the place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mario c, Proprietario at Restaurant Cinque Archi, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Google Translation
Grazie x la sua recensione . Ci dispiace che non vi siete trovati bene cercheremo di fare meglio se ci darete l'opportunità . Distinti saluti Mario Cirino .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We visited Cinque Archi a few weeks ago during our holiday in Taormina after having read impressive reviews of the place. The restaurant offered stunning vistas overthe old town square and the bay and Mt. Etna in the background- the atmosphere was sublime. The staff were incredibly friendly and talkative- the owner chatted to my dad and was clearly (and rightly so) proud of his restaurant and their connection with customers as a relatively new and growing establishment. The amuse bouches that were offered in between courses were a nice touch, and the food itself was mostly very good. My father said that his food was absolutely sublime, and my sister and I also felt that our food was very good, if not quite up to the standards of some other restaurants we'd visited that week. Sadly however, my mother was not particularly happy with her food and found both courses to be rather mediocre and not up to scratch, particularly given the hardly inexpensive cost. Overall a very good experience, but definitely one that could be improved.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mario c, Proprietario at Restaurant Cinque Archi, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Google Translation
Grazie x le vostre belle parole , ci fa molto piacere sapere che siete stati bene . Sperando di riavervi presto nel nostro ristorante . lo staff ed titolare ringraziano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Cinque Archi also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Restaurant Cinque Archi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing