We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atahotel Capotaormina

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Atahotel Capotaormina
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

A beaufiful hotel with wonderful facilities, veiws, restaurants, beach and staff. The reception staff were more than helpful, the waiting staff could not do more for you, the rooms were imaculate and the location is amazing. The private beach provides a very glam spot for sun bathing and people watching. The veiw of Etna from the terrace retaurants is worth the expense of the meals. On the down side the expense of the meals and the size of the rooms. We would come back here and would spend longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller4466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    359
    76
    37
    15
See reviews for
188
574
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We had a sea view room which also afforded us views of Mt Etna. The room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast offered a large variety of food - suitable for everyone. The piano bar was lovely to relax in in the evening. The private beach was a real plus and the cave walkway to the pool is an innovative solution to cliff construction.

Mount Etna erupted on our last night and it was magical to watch the lava flowing from the safety of our balcony.

The only negative was the evening food. The menu was overpriced and the service was terrible. After the first night we used the free shuttle bus to go into the town and eat - plenty on offer and it's lovely to explore the town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

On our first day in the hotel on our honeymoon we were put into a Garden view room we believed we had booked a nicer room. When we went to reception to question this, a very helpful lady upgraded us to a Sea View room at no extra cost as we were given a room with a disabled toilet. We then went to the bar and got 2 glasses of beer and it cost us €16!!

We found staff in the hotel hit or miss they were either really nice or not helpful at all. Not sure if it was language problem or what. Breakfast was included and was very nice we otherwise didn't eat in the hotel. We ate in Taormina. the Shuttle bus service was quite good once you got up early enough to book it. Pity they don't run a little later though.
Swimming pool was very nice but very deep not really suitable for people cautious of being out of their depth. Nice Jacuzzi aswell. The beach was nice, rocky we didn't use it as it was quite rough and choppy the few times we went to use it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGrauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel in June 2011 for our wedding anniversary. The hotel were aware of this and left a complimentary chilled bottle of champagne in our room which was most appreciated.

There is on-site parking which is free of charge - but the car park is quite small so you'd need someone to see you in and out probably. You appear to be able to park your car out on the main road as well - also free of charge.

The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to Taormina every hour. Unfortunately you can only book this on the day you need it and it seems to be permenantly fully booked. There is a local bus stop just outside the hotel which runs twice every hour - but the hotel doesn't volunteer the information for this, they just tell you the shuttle bus is fully booked! The local bus costs around 3 Euro return per person. I wouldn't advise walking up the hill to Taormina - it would easily take you over 40 minutes and is pretty steep. You can walk back down if you feel up to it, but again it takes around 40 minutes.

The breakfast at the hotel is plentiful with lots of options to choose from, there is also freshly squeezed orange juice which is delicious. We had dinner in the Naxos restaurant. It was fairly expensive, but the incredible food, the view (of Etna) and the staff make it more than worth it.

We stayed in a Superior Room (all of which have sea views). The room was spacious with a separate dressing room and large bathroom with bath and shower. The view was amazing and we sat on our balcony and ate our breakfast whilst watching Etna peek through the clouds!

Overall, a lovely hotel with fantastic views over the sea and Etna. We both agreed we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Book a superior room - worth it for the view alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jellyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

I stayed in the Atahotel Capotaormina for two nights at the end of May, on a business trip. The location is outsanding and the view from the balconies superb - unobstructed view to the town of Taormina, the Ionian Sea and Mount Etna, absolutely fabulous. The staff was helpful and polite and room service was good. The free bus service to and from Taormina town is a good idea, but often not enough to accomodate demand. Other than that, the hotel is nothing special. It looks like it could use some renovation work, especially in the rooms. They are clean and quite spacious, but look dated. Breakfast and lunch were nothing special either. Overall, I left with the impression that this was a good but definitely overpriced hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Athens_Traveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Stayed 3 nights in an ocean view room and loved every minute of this place. The rooms are massive, the pool is fantastic and the restaurants are superb. One of my favourite hotel destinations ever!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lanesend332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed at Atahotel Capotaormina for 3 nights. Unfortunately it rained the entire time we were there so couldn't make use of the pool or beach, although they looked amazing. We absoloutely loved the originality of going down a lift to the beach to walk out into a cave which leads out in 2 directions - the pool and the beach. The staff at the hotel were great too, especially the 2 gentlemen who seemed to work at every restaurant in the hotel! I wish I found out their names so I could mention them because they were so friendly, welcoming and couldn't do enough for us! We had a 2 year old with us so we felt a bit conscious of eating at the lovely hotel restaurant but they welcomed us in and were so helpful, especially ensuring our daughter got her food quickly. Oh and the food!!! It was spectacular. The smorgasboard on offer at the pool restaurant was also amazing, I felt like I was eating at nonna's house! The rooms were a little outdated but who cares when you have a spectacular view of the mediterranean from every angle from your balcony? It is situated right at the bottom of the mountain so for those people looking to be amongst it all, this hotel is not for you. The hotel supplies a free hourly shuttle bus that leads to the top where all the action is as well as pick ups to go back to the hotel so for those people complaining about it's location, check the details first! I knew where it was so was expecting to use the shuttle service and we did and it was great. If you're really stuck and miss the bus there's plenty of taxis so no problems there. Also, the breakfast area views were spectacular - we looked out to views of the entire coast with Mt Etna in view. The breakfast on offer was fantastic too, so much to choose from you couldn't ask for anything more. Overall a great stay - i've already recommended it to many! Grazie a tutti!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billyandanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atahotel Capotaormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atahotel Capotaormina

Property: Atahotel Capotaormina
Address: Via Nazionale 105, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#10 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atahotel Capotaormina 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grafted onto the bare rock lapped by the waves beneath, the hotel's location is a dream come true. Atahotel Capotaormina stands at the feet of the town of Taormina, overlooking the enchanting bay of Naxos. The "Naxos," "Alcantara" and "La Scogliera" restaurants offer a relaxing atmosphere and breathtaking views over the eastern coast. The "Svevo," "L'Approdo" and "Spiaggia" bars are the ideal place to relax. The gym, the Beauty Center and the Congress Center complete the offer in this small corner of paradise, perfect for those wanting a holiday in one of Italy's most famous resorts. The ideal place to organise unforgettable events. HOTEL: 190 rooms divided into Classic, Superior, Executive and Suites (1 Executive Suite, 1 Executive Apartment, 2 Superior Junior Suites and 2 Junior Suites). 4 Functional rooms dedicated to disabled guests. Restaurants "La Scogliera," "Naxos," "Alcantara" and bars "Svevo," "Spiaggia," "L'approdo." Private beach. Newsstand. Boutiques. Hairdresser. Internet Point. SPA & WELLNESS: Sauna, massages, and beauty treatments. Fitness Center with trainer. Outdoor whirlpool shaped in the rock for 14 people. ACTIVITIES AND ENTERTAINMENT: A purified sea-water pool overhanging the sea. Baby-sitter service upon request. MEETINGS, CONFERENCES & EVENTS: "Mamertina" plenary hall 450 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 160 seats. 1 Meeting room 30 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 10/15 seats. Exhibition area: 510 m2. "Rossa" meeting room: equipped for secretarial services. A wide range of proposals for any occasion. Dedicated areas for any type of event with modular rooms. Theme party dinners in personalized and exclusive areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Atahotel Capotaormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atahotel Capotaormina Taormina, Sicily
Atahotel Capotaormina Hotel Taormina
Hotel Capotaormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing