We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel and views of Etna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atahotel Capotaormina
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, FL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing hotel and views of Etna”
Reviewed 29 March 2008

We found this hotel on expedia and the photo looked amazing so we decided to give it a try. The hotel is clean and we had a room with a balcony that overlooked Mount Etna and the beautiful waters below. The coolest part of this hotel is the elevator ride down to the caverns that are carved out of the rock and bring you down to the private beaches and pool. We had stayed one night up at the top of the cliffs in Taormina and the second and third night we spent down by the sea. The only down side is that the hotel has limited dining options and is not really walking distance to a lot of restaurants. If you wish to relax and enjoy the beach this would be a great place to go.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmazz1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    391
    85
    39
    15
See reviews for
216
622
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
star99
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

horrible smell - chlorine and smth else in the halls and in the lobby.
outdated decor. something like blue moon motel in midwest.
internet is not working.
groups of loud russian tourists roaming the lobby.
groups of cardiologists on convention blocking the entrance -
the whole idea of relaxations on the beach in great hotel located in beautiful town somehow went down the drain -
hotel is good for hot sunny day only ( when you cannot bear going outside the pool during the day and you are too tired by night)/
the advice - untill the management do major renovations and get rid of that horrible smell and invest into bus going to the city every 30 minuits till late in night - stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — the beach and the pool
  • Disliked — outdated decor and awful smell
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank star99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LI, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2007

We stayed here 3 nights with a tour group. As such we had little to no contact with the hotel staff, everything was done through our tour guide so I can't comment on their efficency. Our room on the 3rd floor had a wonderful view of the sea, Mt Etna & the pool. The room was long but narrow, had cold, tile floors & a terrace with a table & 2 chairs. There was a large patio with beautiful views where you could sit & have a drink at night & listen to the live music. Buffet breakfast was served in an outdoor area with the same views. All in all this was a beautiful place to stay.

  • Liked — Greatviews
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank maria1762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

This hotel is waaaaay over-rated. Designed in the 1960s and hasn't been changed since, including the furnishings (carpets, beds, couches, lights, etc.). Although our room had a shiny new flatpanel TV. The internet, which costs 17 euros a day (ouch!) didn't work. The staff was utterly incompetent and aloof and everything in the hotel was badly overpriced (8 euros for a 12 ounce beer at the pool). The shuttle bus to the town (up the hill) only ran until 9pm and cabs were 15 euros back down the hill, I guess to encourage people to eat the hotel (lame!). The pool was spectacular, but not worth having to put up with the rest of the hotel. When we arrived, our room had some water leaking issues, and the hotel did not have any rooms available. They put us up in their new five star hotel, which was much better, and much more worth the money. Stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgoatnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

First impressions of this hotel are great. The main foyer, bar, terraces and interior spaces are well decorated, clean and thankfully, fully airconditioned.

Our room was on the 6th floor. I know people have complained about this from previous reviews, but to be honest, we thought the room was great. Even though there is no view, you have all day and evening to see the fabulous bay and Mount Etna.

The room was very large, with a walk in wardrobe, private balcony, and a good size bathroom with 2 sinks. The room was clean (wood floors) and the housekeeping service was of a very high standard - with fresh towels provided twice a day. For us, the bed was way too hard and only after 2 days of asking did we manage to get the mattress changed - but in the end, housekeeping were responsive and found a good replacement.

From the hotel, you take a lift down to the pool and beach. It's a unique layout where the pool is reached through a tunnel in the rocks. We found the pool area to be overcrowded with loungers - you could barely walk to the pool. There were more secluded areas built into the rock, but with no shade (the heat was in the 90s when we visited). The pool itself was large but badly designed because there is limited room around the pool to sunbathe. The water was very salty - to the point where it was not nice.

By contrast, the beach area is more relaxed and there is more space to angle your lounger. By about 1pm, the rocks provide natural shade and most people head off to the pool. The sea is clear and great for snorkelling, but beware the jelly fish.

Where this hotel really falls down is on its service. The breakfast (although on a stunning terrace) can turn into a mad scramble for tables and tea. The pool attendants can be quite aggressive in their determination to remove your parasol from you in the afternoon. And, the room service is like 'Mission Impossible' - the number to call changes every day but, no one tells you what it is!

Overall, this hotel is in a beautiful location, the room is of a very high standard, the bar and terraces are stunning and the town of Taormina is a joy (visit The Dracena restaurant!). We've given this hotel a 4 rating but, really it's a 3.5 - purely for poor service and the disappointing pool area.

  • Liked — The location and the beach
  • Disliked — The service and the pool area
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank moushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

Great hotel! Food was tasty. Great pool bar (try Bloody Mary there!). Lovely Etna view! Would definately recomend it and deraming to return there again!

  • Liked — sea view with Etna
  • Disliked — internet access problems
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Insomnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#33 of 87 in Taormina
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#23 of 87 in Taormina
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#44 of 87 in Taormina
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atahotel Capotaormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atahotel Capotaormina

Property: Atahotel Capotaormina
Address: Via Nazionale 105, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atahotel Capotaormina 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grafted onto the bare rock lapped by the waves beneath, the hotel's location is a dream come true. Atahotel Capotaormina stands at the feet of the town of Taormina, overlooking the enchanting bay of Naxos. The "Naxos," "Alcantara" and "La Scogliera" restaurants offer a relaxing atmosphere and breathtaking views over the eastern coast. The "Svevo," "L'Approdo" and "Spiaggia" bars are the ideal place to relax. The gym, the Beauty Center and the Congress Center complete the offer in this small corner of paradise, perfect for those wanting a holiday in one of Italy's most famous resorts. The ideal place to organise unforgettable events. HOTEL: 190 rooms divided into Classic, Superior, Executive and Suites (1 Executive Suite, 1 Executive Apartment, 2 Superior Junior Suites and 2 Junior Suites). 4 Functional rooms dedicated to disabled guests. Restaurants "La Scogliera," "Naxos," "Alcantara" and bars "Svevo," "Spiaggia," "L'approdo." Private beach. Newsstand. Boutiques. Hairdresser. Internet Point. SPA & WELLNESS: Sauna, massages, and beauty treatments. Fitness Center with trainer. Outdoor whirlpool shaped in the rock for 14 people. ACTIVITIES AND ENTERTAINMENT: A purified sea-water pool overhanging the sea. Baby-sitter service upon request. MEETINGS, CONFERENCES & EVENTS: "Mamertina" plenary hall 450 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 160 seats. 1 Meeting room 30 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 10/15 seats. Exhibition area: 510 m2. "Rossa" meeting room: equipped for secretarial services. A wide range of proposals for any occasion. Dedicated areas for any type of event with modular rooms. Theme party dinners in personalized and exclusive areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Atahotel Capotaormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atahotel Capotaormina Taormina, Sicily
Atahotel Capotaormina Hotel Taormina
Hotel Capotaormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing