We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Built into the cliffside with its own private beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atahotel Capotaormina
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Built into the cliffside with its own private beach”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Fascinating hotel built into the cliffside with its own private beach which you reach by walking through cavern-like tunnels. Absolutely loved the views from this hotel and being set out on a pennisula into the sea you immediately feel like you are holiday, relaxing on the balcony with a wonderful view over the sea and isola bella.

The breakfasts each morning were served on a large terrace with a view of Mt Etna and included a glass of prosecco.

The shuttle service up to the town of Taormina was adequate and saved the hassle of trying to find parking outside of the little town and meant we could leave the rental car in the hotel carpark.

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating as we ended up arriving near to midnight due to long drive over from Palermo that day and a quick phone call earlier that evening ensured that we could still checkin after our very late arrival.

The rooms were older in style but extremely spacious with separate dressing room and large balcony.

Loved the views from the pool as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    384
    82
    39
    15
See reviews for
200
611
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days, i work in events and meetings so i know how a 4 stars hotel should be like and this is not it :
- everything looks old, from the pool to the carpet in the room.
- the service and professionnalisme is so far from what i am used to
- the beach has no sun
- the pool is packed and not enough parasols for everyone
- wifi is expensive
- restaurants are so expensive
really not friendly, really not luxurious, really not what you have payed for!! Please avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Cecelle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

As many wrote before, the hotel's location is just perfect. So is the view from the breakfast area and the lounge terrace (where a big pile of snacks is served for every drink). I think all rooms have sea view, were, the half of them are also overlooking the Etna. The beaches (on both side of the "tunnel") are great, even if not children-friendly. Note, that the rocky beach gets sun only until 2 p.m., however, it has the advantage that you can have a nap in the shade. The bar here closes at 3 p.m. The other beach, with the sea-water pool is sunny the whole day (by the way, this pool can be seen in the movie The big blue with Jean Reno). Somehow the pool's material is too old as my feet got blue. The facade of the hotel and parts of the rooms are also outdated (e.g. carpets), but for us it was not a big issue. We enjoyed the bed that was huge and very-very comfortable, the gardrobe and the view from the balcony. Also the access to the beaches - via the elevator, was just perfect. And yes, the fish restaurant is very expensive, but we tried it once and the food was great - and so was the view too. Another plus was the breakfast buffet. What is not acceptable is that the internet was not free. Come on, we are in the 21th century! Overall, if you do not mind that the rooms are not in a 100% modern state, the location and the view would compansate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Istok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel with low customer service levels. Big hotel so you're treated like a number rather than a guest. Parking was difficult, no free Internet which is rare in Europe these days, no access to an iron, the rooms are dated but the one we had was of a good size and had a view of Taormina and Edna. Restaurant and bar were overpriced. In saying all that what a view! The view from the terrace bar is one of the best we've seen. The pool and beach access were amazing and we spent many hours enjoying it. An awesome breakfast was included in the price.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WKoopmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galati, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed 7 nights in this hotel and we thought that was far too little
Locatioan is wonderful. Is expensive, but it was worth every cent.
Rooms (recommend sea view) are large and I had a small dressing.
Pool and beach are amazing (others tourist from Taormina trips are sea to view).
Breakfast is very good and includes Proseco ;)
Exemplary cleaning, professional and friendly staff.
Minibar rooms and bar hotel is expensive (8 euro per medium draft beer).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcel_gheorghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned home from 9 days at Atahotel Capotaormina. I did read reviews before booking this hotel and I did have a few misgivings prior to arrival, but I have to say that we were very happy with our room, the staff and the hotel in general. We stayed in a Superior Suite overlooking Mount Etna - the room was large with a lovely balcony, a walk-in closet and big bathroom, firm, comfortable bed (always a plus for me!). I guess a case could be made for a few updates, but the setting is so impressive that we were more than able to overlook any small out-dated details (which I found were minimal). They do an absolutely spiffing breakfast buffet with everything you could possibly want with smiling service. There are three other restaurants on the site - we ate in the one down by the pool our first night there, but it was VERY expensive (our fault - we had grilled lobster). The pool and beach are marvelous - despite it being peak season, we never had trouble finding lounge chairs and each area has bar service with snacks and ice cream. If nightlife is your thing, you may want to look elsewhere as this hotel is about 15 minutes from upper Taormina and sort of sits off on it's own. There is music every night in the lounge, but that was entirely cover bands - I think I've now heard every version of "Quando Quando Quando" ever performed! There is a shuttle that goes up to Taormina but we rented a car because we wanted to explore a lot of sites on Sicily that are otherwise difficult to get to.
Great hotel for families, nice for couples. We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Seriously, if you can swing it, spring for a sea view suite. The views are SO worth it, balconies ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaJ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The views from our room and from the restaurant on the main level are stunning. Taormina is close by for shopping and strolling which is an advantage. The food was average at the hotel, the service was good but the whole property is in need of a refresh. Our room smelled like a hospital, the rugs were worn, the AC didn't function properly and once sink did not drain. We had the AC serviced but it really never cooled the room. The bed was as hard as concrete and the pillows were old. Our friends in the next room ran out of hot water on a couple of occasions. We never ran out but at times it was just warm not hot. Our shower head wouldn't stay in place so you had to try and hold it up with one hand while showering with the other. In general, they need to spend some money on the rooms and maintenance. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IluvSIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,782 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#27 of 87 in Taormina
352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 87 in Taormina
959 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#19 of 87 in Taormina
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atahotel Capotaormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atahotel Capotaormina

Property: Atahotel Capotaormina
Address: Via Nazionale 105, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atahotel Capotaormina 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grafted onto the bare rock lapped by the waves beneath, the hotel's location is a dream come true. Atahotel Capotaormina stands at the feet of the town of Taormina, overlooking the enchanting bay of Naxos. The "Naxos," "Alcantara" and "La Scogliera" restaurants offer a relaxing atmosphere and breathtaking views over the eastern coast. The "Svevo," "L'Approdo" and "Spiaggia" bars are the ideal place to relax. The gym, the Beauty Center and the Congress Center complete the offer in this small corner of paradise, perfect for those wanting a holiday in one of Italy's most famous resorts. The ideal place to organise unforgettable events. HOTEL: 190 rooms divided into Classic, Superior, Executive and Suites (1 Executive Suite, 1 Executive Apartment, 2 Superior Junior Suites and 2 Junior Suites). 4 Functional rooms dedicated to disabled guests. Restaurants "La Scogliera," "Naxos," "Alcantara" and bars "Svevo," "Spiaggia," "L'approdo." Private beach. Newsstand. Boutiques. Hairdresser. Internet Point. SPA & WELLNESS: Sauna, massages, and beauty treatments. Fitness Center with trainer. Outdoor whirlpool shaped in the rock for 14 people. ACTIVITIES AND ENTERTAINMENT: A purified sea-water pool overhanging the sea. Baby-sitter service upon request. MEETINGS, CONFERENCES & EVENTS: "Mamertina" plenary hall 450 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 160 seats. 1 Meeting room 30 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 10/15 seats. Exhibition area: 510 m2. "Rossa" meeting room: equipped for secretarial services. A wide range of proposals for any occasion. Dedicated areas for any type of event with modular rooms. Theme party dinners in personalized and exclusive areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Atahotel Capotaormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atahotel Capotaormina Taormina, Sicily
Atahotel Capotaormina Hotel Taormina
Hotel Capotaormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing