We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star That Should Be 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atahotel Capotaormina
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel has, in my opinion, the very best position in the Taormina area. Fantastic views of Mt.Etna and the bays around. Stayed for 7 days mid June and enjoyed everything about the hotel and the surrounding area. The hotel was faultless in all respects - great room, spacious and beautifully cleaned. The view to wake up to was eye watering and the food, especially breakfast, was of first class quality. Eating in the main restaurants was a culinary experience, not cheap but outstanding quality.
To add to my pleasure a fellow guest asked me to join him for a round of golf at the Piccollo golf course on the slopes of Mt.Etna - what a treat!! A magnificent golf course in perfect condition, every hole a delight - and in such an isolated position.
A highly recommended hotel for sheer pleasure!!

Room Tip: Any sea view room with balcony would be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieLiddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Room and Grounds well kept, nice beach, clean room, bad food--bad front desk--bad food--bad service--bad food

For families, not the seasoned traveler.

I am traversing with a real Italian, very well traveled gentleman he got totally frustrated!
I can not imaged coming to this hotel on my own, totally disorganized, check a train wreck, not given instruction on payment system.. No internet in rooms only in lobby area, terrible food..skip it! For families with

Room Tip: Bring cash no credit cards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel looks great on the internet and the setting is fantastic
However it is a very big hotel which caters for "2 to 3 star" guests, it is big,crowded( the lovely pool setting has people crammed on top of each other) and tired. The rooms are not great the bathroom terrible and quite frankly the carpets are disgustingly dirty.
For the price it is not value for money
We had a reservation for 5 days and left after 1 and moved to a much better smaller hotel (5 Stars) for nearly the same price
Not a great experience
I will say the staff are polite and they were courteous when we explained we would not be staying

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rowan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed there 2 times, the first time was because of business, this time because they still have room available.
The hotel itself is good, good view, above average restaurants, tidy and big room. They also has a special cave tunnel to the pool and sea side restaurant.
Their service are standard, only the elder staffs, they are polite, and good knowledge about their position. However, the young staffs are lack of training.
Most of the staffs in the hotel are not friendly, they might not be the staffs who need to face people, but they are wearing the hotel uniforms. They are not going to greet you or smile to you even in the same elevator.
You can have a good environment to stay, but with a cool and not friendly hospitality.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Mandymak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The view at breakfast was such a great way to start the day. Looking out on the sea from the patio while dining on such a wide selection of food was special. The hotel was very well run and the front desk staff knowledgeable and helpful.

Room Tip: I don't think you could get a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It is probably one of the best location in Taormina : the view from the beach room is stunning as you see both the ocean and the volcano.
The staff is really nice. For example, we showed up late one day for lunch, it was a buffet and some of the dishes were finished. The person in charge actually had the cook prepare our very own portion of Parmigiana so that my husband could try it.
The elevator carved in the rock to go to the beach or the swimming pool is great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gegaow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

For me the stay it this hotel was very good. The most I enjoyed the incredible view from pool, private beach or restaurant area with direct view onto the Etna. My room was with Seaview and with view onto the Etna.

As said, it is not the newest, but at very clean area, very helpful staff and service. I cannot rate the restaurants, just the breakfast. For me was everything there what you need and variety.

I suggest this hotel to all over the other hotels, as it is directly at the sea, with a sunny private beach, swimmimg pool and jacuzzi and direct access to the open sea. If a boattour is required or a jetski tour, you dont need to go away from the hotel, you just ask the lifeguards at the swimming pool and they organize it for you. You just relax at the pool and the lifeguard will tell you when the boat arrived to pick you up at the pool.

So during the day we did such tours or stayed just at pool and beach. At night you have to go to the town centre and choose some of the amazing restaurants there. Dont forget, choose mainly restaurants without panorama view, as they need to attract tourists with incredible good food and not just with view only. See my other feedbacks.

The only thing I didnt like that aometimes in the room was very hot, also with AC.

In total, excellent stay because of this excellent location, which other hotels cannot offer by far!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.8 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
0.9 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#33 of 87 in Taormina
488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atahotel Capotaormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atahotel Capotaormina

Address: Via Nazionale 105, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#13 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £174 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atahotel Capotaormina 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grafted onto the bare rock lapped by the waves beneath, the hotel's location is a dream come true. Atahotel Capotaormina stands at the feet of the town of Taormina, overlooking the enchanting bay of Naxos. The "Naxos," "Alcantara" and "La Scogliera" restaurants offer a relaxing atmosphere and breathtaking views over the eastern coast. The "Svevo," "L'Approdo" and "Spiaggia" bars are the ideal place to relax. The gym, the Beauty Center and the Congress Center complete the offer in this small corner of paradise, perfect for those wanting a holiday in one of Italy's most famous resorts. The ideal place to organise unforgettable events. HOTEL: 190 rooms divided into Classic, Superior, Executive and Suites (1 Executive Suite, 1 Executive Apartment, 2 Superior Junior Suites and 2 Junior Suites). 4 Functional rooms dedicated to disabled guests. Restaurants "La Scogliera," "Naxos," "Alcantara" and bars "Svevo," "Spiaggia," "L'approdo." Private beach. Newsstand. Boutiques. Hairdresser. Internet Point. SPA & WELLNESS: Sauna, massages, and beauty treatments. Fitness Center with trainer. Outdoor whirlpool shaped in the rock for 14 people. ACTIVITIES AND ENTERTAINMENT: A purified sea-water pool overhanging the sea. Baby-sitter service upon request. MEETINGS, CONFERENCES & EVENTS: "Mamertina" plenary hall 450 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 160 seats. 1 Meeting room 30 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 10/15 seats. Exhibition area: 510 m2. "Rossa" meeting room: equipped for secretarial services. A wide range of proposals for any occasion. Dedicated areas for any type of event with modular rooms. Theme party dinners in personalized and exclusive areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Atahotel Capotaormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atahotel Capotaormina Taormina, Sicily
Atahotel Capotaormina Hotel Taormina
Hotel Capotaormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing