We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atahotel Capotaormina
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

First class hotel. Great breakfast and service. Nothing was too much trouble. Free wifi worked everywhere even on the beach! Wonderful view at night from the bar terrace over Mount Etna which was spouting red at night. Exciting!

Room Tip: All the rooms are a little on the small side as well as the bathrooms. We had upgraded!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
There are newer reviews for Atahotel Capotaormina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

WOW!!! Amazing views, excellent food, very friendly staff!!! This hotel has such a great locale!!! We had an awesome ocean view from our balcony so we watched the sunrise everyday!!! Around the corner was the restaurant and bar which overlooked the bay and Mt. Etna; magnificent views!!! The beautiful pool area also has the same wonderful bay views. There's also a private beach for hotel guests. The hotel does provide bus transportation to/from Taormina Town Center, which in itself is a rare treat!!! We were fortunate to stay there during the Art & Film Festival, hosted by Maserati; also celebrating their 100th Anniversary!!! Can I say anything more?? We will DEFINITELY be back!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank boatrockerct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Firstly the hotel is beautiful, especially the private beach and the salt water pool area. The staff are also very friendly and helpful. The food is overpriced so we opted to eat dinner out in Taormina every night where prices vary but there is exquisite food at great value to be found, you need not pay €60 for a bottle of wine in Wundabar as you can get the same bottle elsewhere for around €25. Avoid pretentious bars like Morganna and Q-Bar, you will be ripped off and there are probably a lot of pretentious bars wherever you call home. We stocked up on six bottles of water in Isabella for €5 instead of paying €5 for one bottle in the hotel. The hotel has its own taxi garage underneath that seems to serve the guests exclusively and the taxi drivers are very friendly and helpful. The taxi fare to Taormina is €15 and it seems to be €15 back, no matter what part of Taormina you take the taxi from.

There is a Jellyfish problem in the sea here so be warned. I was stung 15 minutes after entering the water but we only saw the warning sign displayed days later after others had been stung - they have buoys around the bathing area to warn boats away but what they should really have are nets attached to the buoys to counter the surge of jellyfish in the Mediterranean that is affecting Sicily.

In our final few days we watched a group of around 80 British arrive at the pool that where there as part of a conference for their London estate agent company Foxtons. They arrived in loud yobbo waves, observed by ashamed British, and stunned couples and families that had been enjoying the relatively peaceful pool. The Foxtons group proceeded to drink excessively in the pool, hack up phlegm and spit in the pool - from standing positions on the ground beside the pool, scream and shout, and throw empty plastic cups, cigarette butts, and other litter into the pool. Most people that were in the pool before they arrived left. We have heard one of the Foxton employees is in hospital from some head injury they sustained last night, no doubt alcohol related. I heard someone in the lobby mention on the phone charges may be brought against them. Thankfully they group were taken off for an excursion on the second morning and only arrived back around 5pm. Unfortunately we have now discovered, due to their loud screaming and shouting, some of them are two floors directly above us and they have taken to casually spitting off their balcony into our outdoor area.

I think it is very unfair the hotel held a conference for this loutish Foxtons London estate agent group which infringed upon the enjoyment and relaxation of regular decent holidaymakers - I hope they read this review and the ATA hotel group never hold a conference for this company again. The Foxtons estate agent employees and their directors should be ashamed of themselves and the Atahotel Capotaormina should choose more carefully who they allow hold conferences here.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Holiday M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel has, in my opinion, the very best position in the Taormina area. Fantastic views of Mt.Etna and the bays around. Stayed for 7 days mid June and enjoyed everything about the hotel and the surrounding area. The hotel was faultless in all respects - great room, spacious and beautifully cleaned. The view to wake up to was eye watering and the food, especially breakfast, was of first class quality. Eating in the main restaurants was a culinary experience, not cheap but outstanding quality.
To add to my pleasure a fellow guest asked me to join him for a round of golf at the Piccollo golf course on the slopes of Mt.Etna - what a treat!! A magnificent golf course in perfect condition, every hole a delight - and in such an isolated position.
A highly recommended hotel for sheer pleasure!!

Room Tip: Any sea view room with balcony would be recommended.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieLiddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Room and Grounds well kept, nice beach, clean room, bad food--bad front desk--bad food--bad service--bad food

For families, not the seasoned traveler.

I am traversing with a real Italian, very well traveled gentleman he got totally frustrated!
I can not imaged coming to this hotel on my own, totally disorganized, check a train wreck, not given instruction on payment system.. No internet in rooms only in lobby area, terrible food..skip it! For families with

Room Tip: Bring cash no credit cards!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel looks great on the internet and the setting is fantastic
However it is a very big hotel which caters for "2 to 3 star" guests, it is big,crowded( the lovely pool setting has people crammed on top of each other) and tired. The rooms are not great the bathroom terrible and quite frankly the carpets are disgustingly dirty.
For the price it is not value for money
We had a reservation for 5 days and left after 1 and moved to a much better smaller hotel (5 Stars) for nearly the same price
Not a great experience
I will say the staff are polite and they were courteous when we explained we would not be staying

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rowan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed there 2 times, the first time was because of business, this time because they still have room available.
The hotel itself is good, good view, above average restaurants, tidy and big room. They also has a special cave tunnel to the pool and sea side restaurant.
Their service are standard, only the elder staffs, they are polite, and good knowledge about their position. However, the young staffs are lack of training.
Most of the staffs in the hotel are not friendly, they might not be the staffs who need to face people, but they are wearing the hotel uniforms. They are not going to greet you or smile to you even in the same elevator.
You can have a good environment to stay, but with a cool and not friendly hospitality.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Mandymak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#32 of 87 in Taormina
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,840 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#25 of 87 in Taormina
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.8 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atahotel Capotaormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atahotel Capotaormina

Address: Via Nazionale 105, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £187 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atahotel Capotaormina 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grafted onto the bare rock lapped by the waves beneath, the hotel's location is a dream come true. Atahotel Capotaormina stands at the feet of the town of Taormina, overlooking the enchanting bay of Naxos. The "Naxos," "Alcantara" and "La Scogliera" restaurants offer a relaxing atmosphere and breathtaking views over the eastern coast. The "Svevo," "L'Approdo" and "Spiaggia" bars are the ideal place to relax. The gym, the Beauty Center and the Congress Center complete the offer in this small corner of paradise, perfect for those wanting a holiday in one of Italy's most famous resorts. The ideal place to organise unforgettable events. HOTEL: 190 rooms divided into Classic, Superior, Executive and Suites (1 Executive Suite, 1 Executive Apartment, 2 Superior Junior Suites and 2 Junior Suites). 4 Functional rooms dedicated to disabled guests. Restaurants "La Scogliera," "Naxos," "Alcantara" and bars "Svevo," "Spiaggia," "L'approdo." Private beach. Newsstand. Boutiques. Hairdresser. Internet Point. SPA & WELLNESS: Sauna, massages, and beauty treatments. Fitness Center with trainer. Outdoor whirlpool shaped in the rock for 14 people. ACTIVITIES AND ENTERTAINMENT: A purified sea-water pool overhanging the sea. Baby-sitter service upon request. MEETINGS, CONFERENCES & EVENTS: "Mamertina" plenary hall 450 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 160 seats. 1 Meeting room 30 seats. 2 Meeting rooms 10/15 seats. Exhibition area: 510 m2. "Rossa" meeting room: equipped for secretarial services. A wide range of proposals for any occasion. Dedicated areas for any type of event with modular rooms. Theme party dinners in personalized and exclusive areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Atahotel Capotaormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atahotel Capotaormina Taormina, Sicily
Atahotel Capotaormina Hotel Taormina
Hotel Capotaormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing