We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly disappointing”
Review of Caparena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caparena Hotel
Ranked #65 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 27 April 2011

My girlfriend and I were looking for a good 4 star hotel in Taormina for a 2 night stay, where we could relax and recharge our batteries before tackling Etna and spending a few days in Sircausa. We booked Caparena in a rush as we had left things rather late, however with the promise of a fully equipped gym, spa, indoor pool, private beach, internet access and great looking pictures on their website we thought we didn't need to investigate this much further so we booked.
To say that we are disappointed is an understatement. The hotel is definitely not 4 stars. The rooms are outdated and provide one luxury which is Sky TV. Aside from that no iron, kettle and a poor bathroom. There is no internet access in the rooms, just in the lobby. The shuttle buses run only until 9:15 in the evening, so if you wish to stay out later you need to either drive or get a cab. The staff are rude and vastly uninformed. Had breakfast this morning and the food was simply terrible which is quite an achievement as the food we've eaten in Italy until now has been absolutely fantastic. Finally, the gym and pool are both additional extras. The website states that the gym is fully equipped with the latest cardio technology...they have 6 machines, with the treadmil out of service. To be charged an additional 10 Euros PER ENTRY PER GUEST is unbelievable.
We are both extremely disappointed with the hotel and would not recommend this to our friends.
There are many other hotels to choose from in Taormina....we just wish we had researched longer!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank UomoTigre79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Caparena Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2010

me and my husband booked this hotel for our honeymoon and to tel the truth didnt enjoy it as much i thought i would.
the noise was hurrendous with a train line right outside our room starting from 6am in the morning going on to late evening. There was a lack of atmosphere in the hotel eg, no entertainment, no bars open, extremely quiet.
i think this hotel would more suit a more older couple as we are only early 20s and we expected more!
although we could not fault the food there. it was amazing!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loznaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Nice and elegant hotel, we booked a package and received a junior suite instead of a normal room.The train goes next to the hotel but the noise was not disturbing. After the typical Sicilian dinner it is worth to have some drinks in the beach bar! Great atmosphere, but not cheap!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank futrinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I have been to this hotel last week with a friend. The hotel is olddated, which is okay. The hotel is in Litojani and to reach Taormina is needed with a shuttle buss which is serviced by the hotel. The food was terrible. I have never had such a bad food. We were dissapointed about it. The fish was deepfrozed, not fresh and tasted like plastic. The meat was served cold. They put in the microwave. When we said that the food was not good unfortenately they ignored us the next day. So I would recommend B&B. Further on the hotel is fine.
I suggest to take a B&B hotel at Isola Bella. This has a nice beach and you can reach Taormina much easier!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daphneAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Hotel Caparena and Wellness Club located on Taormina Mare in Sicily is a flawed Oasis. An oasis because it is removed from the hustle of Taormina with good self-contained facilities. Flawed because for every positive there is a slight downside but not enough to stop my wife and I going again. To be aware is to be prepared!

I would recommend Citalia as an agent to book any Italian holiday with, we felt well looked after from booking to arrival home. The private car that comes as standard with most Citalia bookings took just 45 minutes to arrive from a punctual Catania airport and our welcome upon arrival was efficient and courteous. We are both learning to speak Italian and the few words and sentences we can say went a long, long way. The Sicilian people really did appreciate our efforts and I would recommend travellers to have a go, it is a most beautiful language.

Through Citalia we had an upgrade from a standard room which was compact but sufficient. It was clean and airy with good facilities that you would expect to find in modern hotels, although no iron is provided there is a laundry/ironing service. We noticed the rooms along from ours had a larger balcony and upon asking at reception were told ours was a mid-range room. Clearly the more expensive rooms have these bigger balconies and more space inside. My recommendation would be to avoid the cheapest rooms, it looked like they were on the back of the property with no view and certainly no charm.

We managed charm in abundance as our view across the railway line was of gardens and sea and received much sunlight and warmth. The railway line is all part of the oasis and the potential flaws. We were aware of the railway line and the motorway running along the back of the property before we booked. I can honestly say that we weren't bothered by either at any point on the holiday. The windows are triple glazed so nothing can be heard and the stunning landscaping covers track and tarmac. Even the short tunnel running under the railway line feels like a magical escape towards the beach.

The private beach is clean with towels provided, lots of staff and lifeguards, some boating activities and lots of sunbeds and umbrellas. The occasional beach trader will hawk his goods at you but with no encouragement they soon move on. The beach is sandy and hot until you get within a few metres of the shore when it becomes hard underfoot with pebbles and ultimately rocks in the water, therefore water footwear is essential. The sea is clean and refreshing but you may have to share it with a most unwelcome visitor at times; jellyfish (Medusa). There are warning signs on approach to the beach and the red flag gives an indication how safe it is to swim. The jellyfish come closer in to shore depending on conditions and although we were advised that they were mostly harmless it was still a little disconcerting to see them bobbing about in number. Some people swam amongst them no doubt dealing with the stings (I received a nip or 2) but ultimately people stayed away from the water whilst our friends visited, which was often.

The pool on the other hand was a haven; safe and quiet and just 3 minutes from our room. We had a full-time friendly lifeguard who served drinks and towels, lots of sunbeds and a clean square pool that was very refreshing. There were lots of opportunities for shade and the opening hours meant there wasn't the usual European rush for beds in the morning. We spent many hours here.

The hotel is very popular with Italian people on holiday and we found them to be very friendly and relaxed. A smattering of British and American tourists made up the numbers. Being a small hotel this made for a very nice comfortable feeling. The staff went out of their way to help at all times and the guests were courteous and friendly. The reception desk was a mine of information about anything and we were frequent visitors, nothing was ever too much trouble and they seemed to enjoy teaching us new Italian words each day.

The location of Hotel Caparena is important as it is not in Taormina rather Taormina Mare which is slightly along the coast, you can get a good view on Google Earth. Walking into Taormina is not an option as the road is busy, dangerous and several miles long uphill. However the hotel has a free mini-bus services that runs regularly all through the day. You need to book tickets at the all important reception desk preferably in the morning as the bus can be quite full in the evenings and you are then just a 10 minute journey away from Taormina.

However before I get to Taormina in the opposite direction is a small resort town called Letojani which has a charm and nice restaurants all of it's own. For once ignore advice from reception that you have to go walking on the road. Instead go to the beach, walk around the break between the hotel beach and the public beach and back up the public beach, up the steps onto a car park. Follow the quiet, safer coast road down to Letojani, it will take about 10/15 minutes. Hopefully the hotel will realise that being so isolated is not to everyone's taste and make this access a little easier.

Taormina is a beautiful town that feels slightly less accomplished than most great Italian resorts and cities but it does exude great charm. There are lots of places to visit including churches, museums, cable-car to the lido, an ancient theatre which is magnificent and our favourite the gardens. Yet another Sicilian oasis of green and open space with wonderful views over the coast and lots of benches to sit and relax. We spent many hours over 2 days in these public gardens and would urge any visitor not to miss these tranquil surrounding.

Food in Taormina is plentiful and delicious with a preference towards seafood although all of the other Italian fares are here with a Sicilian twist. Our advice is to eat away from the main street, the best restaurants we found were on the twisting narrow streets on the way down towards the gardens. Shopping too is easy on the eye and can be hard on the wallet but you can't go wrong with Sicilian produce...wine. Lots of it at great prices, it was hard not to feel like a child in a sweet shop.

Sadly the food in the hotel was the antithesis to the food in Taormina. Whilst the snacks at the beach bar were lovely; these being salads and bread the food at the beach restaurant was expensive and lacked variety over a week stay. The emphasis on fish was also way too great even for a fish lover like me. Unfortunately the worst is the most important. We booked a half board package and ate at the hotel restaurant twice, we spent the other nights in Taormina. Both nights our meal lasted over 2.5 hours, the majority of time spent waiting for below average quality food. The food can only be described as an attempt at Italian fine dining; when the majority of people just want good Italian pasta, beautiful Sicilian steak and all of the ingredients that make Italian food the best in the world. Tough steaks, cold food, strange combinations, overcooked vegetables and a very starched environment would have turned this into a bit of a joke if we hadn't have paid for it. Conversely to our opinion and the couple we witnessed walk out some of our fellow holidaymakers enjoyed the food so the adage of one man's poison could never have been more true. It is also worth mentioning that the breakfast served in the same starched environment was more than adequate and had quite a pleasant buzz about it first thing in the morning.

Our late evenings were spent at the beach bar with the excellent barman where nothing was too much trouble. The surroundings were relaxing, the drinks not too expensive although everything was put on the room bill to be paid upon departure, and here seemed to be the perfect end to most days. By now you are aware of how the Hotel Caparena story goes and on one particular night the bar had been booked by an Italian family to have a private wedding party. We were relegated to what felt like a dungeon room, no windows, and very little atmosphere. Before you book check that there are no more than 1 or 2 private bookings at the beach bar as we were quite irritated by the fact that we were denied our bit of paradise one evening.

Overall we felt safe and well looked after at this Hotel and it would have been good value if we hadn't have chosen half board. There were some flaws but the charm overcame these. If we went back we would book the bigger room, only go B+B and explore a little more including the wellness facilities that we just didn't get around to. But being forewarned is being forearmed. Would we go back? Ultimately the answer is yes but there is lots of Italy and Sicily to discover before we have to make that call for real.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Having booked this hotel based on the comments we read onTrip Advisor we would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends and family for their future holidays. The hotel its staff and location are all first class and the facilities provided for a relaxing break are perfect. Our only complaint would be that the staff running the beach bar seem to have problems from time to time adding up and at weekends if your not from Italy then be prepared to wait as they seem more inclinded to look after their friends/regulars, this aside what a perfect place to chill out. We were more than impressed with what we saw on the hotels website however it doesnt do it justice....Fantastic Place

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swigman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Generally the hotel is quite dated but pleasant enough. We had a nice stay there but there were a couple of things that were quite annoying. Firstly we didn't realise that the gym costs €10 per visit before we stayed. Secondly, events that the hotel put on were really not intended for the guests! We turned up for an advertised beach party but the vast majority of the people there were locals who seemed to be having a private party. We and other hotel guests were asked to give up our seats which had apparently been reserved half way through the night! When we and other guests refused to move we were made to feel so uncomfortable that we eventually decided to leave. On a final note be careful which sun beds you sit on. The private beach is seperated into 2 sections, the nice spaced out ones cost €20 per day each. However, once again when locals who weren't staying at the hotel turned up, they seemed to get them for fee. Overall I would say there was a general feeling that the hotel was trying a lot harder to impress and entertain the local people than it was its guests.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fianddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
56 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#32 of 87 in Taormina
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#44 of 87 in Taormina
593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#21 of 87 in Taormina
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caparena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caparena Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 189, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#35 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £119 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caparena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caparena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caparena Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing