We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, disappointing hotel!”
Review of Caparena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caparena Hotel
Ranked #71 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
philadelphia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, disappointing hotel!”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

A large room with balcony looking over the beach, but certainly not a 4 star hotel by any standards. Hotel staff was very aloof and not welcoming at all. They made you feel as if you were doing them a big favor by staying there. Dinner one evening in the hotel was an atrocity. Wait staff was ill prepared and the food was terrible. I felt like we were in an “I Love Lucy” episode when we asked for olive oil and were served a dish of rock hard green olives (and then they had the audacity to try and charge us for them!). However, the worst part was the evening hours straight through until early morning with the guests below us talking and non-stop smoking. The smoke drifted directly up and into our room. A night I was hoping to sleep with the doors open, fresh air and the peaceful sound of the ocean below NOT to be had.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HalliePhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    144
    83
    51
    51
See reviews for
105
213
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I traveled throughout Italy and Sicily for 29 days with 10 different hotels, and this was one of our favorites. We enjoyed it immensely during our 3 day stay. A van picked us up at the station in Taormina when we arrived and delivered us at no charge. The lobby was spacious and the staff helped us in many ways, such as arranging a wonderful tour of Mt. Etna with a local tour bus. The room was large and was divided into 2 sections...the bedroom, and then a living area with couches and chairs and coffee table. Double doors opened out onto a small balcony that provided a gorgeous look at the waterfront, and we could enjoy a nice view too of the well-manicured grounds, palm trees and all. The excellent breakfast on the top floor was all glass so that you could easily see the water. The hotel is located on a lovely stretch of beach along the Ionian Sea and there were several ways that we could enjoy our stay on these beautiful grounds. During the day you could stroll down to the casual outdoor cafe on the hotel's private beach, order drinks and light meals, and lounge on the sand in chairs with umbrellas. In the evening, there was a more formal restaurant, again with a fabulous view of the sea, where we had elegant meals and some great wine in a chic atmosphere. The grounds at night have subdued lighting along the paths and are ideal for a romantic stroll after dinner. We also paid to use the hydrospa and relaxation room in the health club section of the hotel and thoroughly relaxed on the last day of our stay. The only drawback was that the ride from the hotel back TO the train station was not free as it had been when we arrived, and we thought it was a bit strange that it was free one way, but had to be paid for going the other. All in all though, this was one of our best stops!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandinmyshoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I don't know where to start with this Hotel from the Rock Hard Bed to the Terrible Service. They do not take US Dollars and Refuse to exchange US dollars to Euros so when you go be prepared to not have any way to get Euro's. I can understand if they were a 2 star hotel and Didn't convert $$ for us, but we are talking 4 Self Appointed stars, I was on a trip with 28 People and not ONE person was satisfied with their stay. So we (Bf and I)go to the wellness center and they charge us $25 to sit in the Jacuzzi for 30 Minutes. Did I just say they charged us to go into the Jacuzzi, Yes> and a time Limit, Bwahaha!! To get to the beach we had to have a maintence guy come (which took time waiting around) to come open the gate because they "accidently" locked it. In the Bar we waited literally 25 minutes to get any service, we had to keep calling and keep calling from the bar to the front desk just for them to send someone down to the bar. Can't walk ANYWHERE because it is on an extremely busy road, Do yourself a favor and stay at D**DORO . PS NO HOT WATER IN THE SHOWER!!!!!! Big NO NO

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Luton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

How this hotel got a four star rating is a mystery to me.

We paid 260 Euros for two nights here and I will not be going back. When we arrived we were greeted by the very nice reception staff and shown to our cube....erm room, which was facing a brick wall. On top of the brick wall was what can only be described as the M1 motorway at off peak.
The TV wasn't working, the toilet would not flush and the door handle was hanging off on the outside. When we reported this to staff It all seemed a bit trivial to the receptionist who was too busy to take any concern. Half an hour later an engineer arrived and fixed the tiolet and TV. The door was never repaired.

Breakfast was good but on day 1 we had to wait half an hour for a coffee as the waiter kept on getting side tracked with other orders. The view from the breakfast table was excellent until the frieght train went rattling past but all in all very nice!.

We had spent the last four days in different hotels accros the island without problem but by the end of day two the missus and me were covered in no less than 45 bites to the arms, legs and face. After leaving the attacks stopped.

In conclusion it would have been nice if the hotel advertised that there was a busy road on one side and a railway that actually ran through the middle of the resort between the hotel and private beach. The wellness rooms were too expensive (25 Euros to dip your feet in the jaccusi) and the hotel is a long way from the centre of town.
On the other hand all parts of the hotel were very clean, the staff were polite and there was a free shuttle that took us from the hotel and back. But not our cup of tea.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sean p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just returned from a lovely week in Taormina, stying at Hotel Caparena. I have read previous reviews and it would appear that some small issues have led to completely over the top condemation of what is an excellent hotel. The cleanlinees of the whole complex was excellent and overall the staff were friendly and very helpful, sometimes it just depends how you ask! Our room was spacious and spotless. We were half board and thought the quality of the evening meals were excellent, as was the service. Beach and swimming pool faciliities were very good.

On the negative side there was an issue with the water temperature of the bath/shower. We did raise the matter and it did improve but it was never anywhere near as hot as we would have liked.

What was most annoying to us was the access to the Wellness Centre's excellent Gym and spa facilities. We could use the swimming pool during the day free of charge but the Gym was a staggering 10 Euros per person for 2 hours. Prices to use the Steam Room and Jacuzzi were equally stagering. Most hotels we have stayed in have offered these facilities free of charge to guests. The whole time we were there the Wellness Centre was empty, no surprise really! Even a small charge for hotel guests would have been acceptable.

In summary there were one or two issues that would put a question mark against a 4 star rating - primarily for us the Gym and Spa access. However, we enjoyed our stay at the Caparena and would most certainly go back there.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

A lot of people take great delight to complain about a hotel they stay in. I cannot believe a hotel would not try and accommodate them if they felt so strongly about something. Or do you prefer just to complain? My advice is - when you go on holiday, relax and take it easy, don't bring your anger to all who surround you. You are the problem, not the hotel or other people, so just bare that in mind.

Room Tip: Don't take Trip Advisor as the gospel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marton J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHG_Taormina, Direttore at Caparena Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Mr Marton,
thank you for your positive review..we have simply loved it!
Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cranleigh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

just reurned from sicly taormina hotel caparena not 4* , drinking out of plastic cups day & night at beach bar , no bar in hotel except our last day because of a wedding just a makeshift bar & first time with glasses, never no hot water in after complaining, lunch time beach bar no choice only toasted sarnies etc or dried looking rice or pasta, beach bar rest to expensive also staff at lunch time at beach bar did not seem interested , half board not good food always cold we sent back more meals than we ate , there was no pool bar to get a drink around the pool, also you were cut off unless you used schuttle bus , the good points were very clean &well maintained hotel & gardens as was our very nice room, oh also to andrew beach bar barman at night was very good apart from those horrible plastic glasses. backhurst michael

Room Tip: try & get a room with balcony & sea view & good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelcranleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHG_Taormina, Direttore at Caparena Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Mr Michael,
thank you for your kind rewiev and your feedback.
We would like to inform you that, as per the italian law, the use of plastic cups, glasses, cutlery, plates is compulsory in all bars and restaurants serving meals and drinks on the beach. The main reson is for safety and security purposes.
We hope to have clarified this matter and to welcome again at Caparena Beach in Taormina on your next holday.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
1.2 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#41 of 88 in Taormina
544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#34 of 88 in Taormina
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caparena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caparena Hotel

Property: Caparena Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 189, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#35 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caparena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Caparena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caparena Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing