We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and beach”
Review of Caparena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caparena Hotel
Ranked #58 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I attended a wedding and this was a magical venue. This continued for the rest of my stay. The beach is perfect and not too crowded. Lovely water and sand quality is great. The staff is very accommodating. I especially enjoyed the spa service - pedicure and massage. The hotel is just a short stroll from the beach. Rooms are comfortable and stand out staff make this a 5 for me.

Room Tip: Use the shuttle service to get around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

We got to hotel and went to the beach with our children (2 and 1 yr olds). Went to gave them a bath and the hot water wasn't working. I had a shower in warm water and it stopped working no water coming out. changed rooms and the water was a little better but not great. Spoke to other people who had been there a week earlier and they said that the water had been like that since they'd arrived.

No easy access to beach restaurant or beach with a pushchair, stairs is the only option to get there. Dinner times was from 7:30pm 'til 10 pm which is too late for our children. We asked if they could open earlier and the best they could do was 7:00 pm still too late.

On Friday and Saturday beach Bar turns into a night club and you can hear the music until 3:30 am not good if you can't go clubbing with two small children. Nothing mentioned in the brochure.

Food at the Beach restaurant was not 4 star value, lack of choice on the menu and no kids menu. Main course came with no side dishes, example I ordered the swordfish, it was just swordfish on a bed of courgettes and nothing else. The food was like this all week, no real choices of what to eat.

No free tea or coffee in the room which you would expect in a 4 star hotel and the bar in the hotel was closed for whatever reason so you could only have drinks at the beach bar and not the hotel bar.

Jay

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JayL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed here with my family in Easter. Friendly staff. Great big clean room. Great to have pool and beach (soft shingle not sand). Also great treatments available. Train track complaints are frankly ridiculous. Less noisy than any hotel in any city in the world. Don't stress that. Lovely gardens. Very friendly staff and shuttle bus to Taormina up hill really useful. Especially as that is where we always ate. Breakfast was OK (in Italy breakfast can never be better than OK they don't do breakfast as a rule) but dinner was really poor.They just weren't geared up for it out of high season. One other tip if you like a cocktail in the eve its is a bit overpriced for the surroundings but just try not to let that irritate. Taormina as a town is fantastic and beautiful with heaps to do and sea and loads of wonderful places to eat and shop.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dobehave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

almost waterfront hotel, (only the train tracks separate you from the sea).the pool is exquisite, the spa wonderful, the funny little basement bar was a joy and the breakfasts were buffet style with handmade coffees supplied by attentive staff.

Room Tip: dont take travellers cheques! the shuttle will take you up the hill and bring you back and the town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Freddy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

A large room with balcony looking over the beach, but certainly not a 4 star hotel by any standards. Hotel staff was very aloof and not welcoming at all. They made you feel as if you were doing them a big favor by staying there. Dinner one evening in the hotel was an atrocity. Wait staff was ill prepared and the food was terrible. I felt like we were in an “I Love Lucy” episode when we asked for olive oil and were served a dish of rock hard green olives (and then they had the audacity to try and charge us for them!). However, the worst part was the evening hours straight through until early morning with the guests below us talking and non-stop smoking. The smoke drifted directly up and into our room. A night I was hoping to sleep with the doors open, fresh air and the peaceful sound of the ocean below NOT to be had.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HalliePhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I traveled throughout Italy and Sicily for 29 days with 10 different hotels, and this was one of our favorites. We enjoyed it immensely during our 3 day stay. A van picked us up at the station in Taormina when we arrived and delivered us at no charge. The lobby was spacious and the staff helped us in many ways, such as arranging a wonderful tour of Mt. Etna with a local tour bus. The room was large and was divided into 2 sections...the bedroom, and then a living area with couches and chairs and coffee table. Double doors opened out onto a small balcony that provided a gorgeous look at the waterfront, and we could enjoy a nice view too of the well-manicured grounds, palm trees and all. The excellent breakfast on the top floor was all glass so that you could easily see the water. The hotel is located on a lovely stretch of beach along the Ionian Sea and there were several ways that we could enjoy our stay on these beautiful grounds. During the day you could stroll down to the casual outdoor cafe on the hotel's private beach, order drinks and light meals, and lounge on the sand in chairs with umbrellas. In the evening, there was a more formal restaurant, again with a fabulous view of the sea, where we had elegant meals and some great wine in a chic atmosphere. The grounds at night have subdued lighting along the paths and are ideal for a romantic stroll after dinner. We also paid to use the hydrospa and relaxation room in the health club section of the hotel and thoroughly relaxed on the last day of our stay. The only drawback was that the ride from the hotel back TO the train station was not free as it had been when we arrived, and we thought it was a bit strange that it was free one way, but had to be paid for going the other. All in all though, this was one of our best stops!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandinmyshoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I don't know where to start with this Hotel from the Rock Hard Bed to the Terrible Service. They do not take US Dollars and Refuse to exchange US dollars to Euros so when you go be prepared to not have any way to get Euro's. I can understand if they were a 2 star hotel and Didn't convert $$ for us, but we are talking 4 Self Appointed stars, I was on a trip with 28 People and not ONE person was satisfied with their stay. So we (Bf and I)go to the wellness center and they charge us $25 to sit in the Jacuzzi for 30 Minutes. Did I just say they charged us to go into the Jacuzzi, Yes> and a time Limit, Bwahaha!! To get to the beach we had to have a maintence guy come (which took time waiting around) to come open the gate because they "accidently" locked it. In the Bar we waited literally 25 minutes to get any service, we had to keep calling and keep calling from the bar to the front desk just for them to send someone down to the bar. Can't walk ANYWHERE because it is on an extremely busy road, Do yourself a favor and stay at D**DORO . PS NO HOT WATER IN THE SHOWER!!!!!! Big NO NO

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#31 of 87 in Taormina
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#44 of 87 in Taormina
602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.7 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#41 of 87 in Taormina
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caparena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caparena Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 189, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#32 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £115 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caparena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caparena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caparena Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing