We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel which could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caparena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caparena Hotel
Ranked #68 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good hotel which could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed here during a conference. It is situated in front of a most lovely beach easily accessible from the hotel. There is a railway line passing just in front of the hotel near the beach so it can get noisy at the restaurant. As long as the metal shutter doors in the rooms are shut, you will not hear a thing.
The room is nice though it could be better if there was complimentary bottled water and tea and coffee making facilities. As such you have to buy water from the minibar, or from town or drink from the tap.
It is a bit far ( not within walking distance) from Taormina but a shuttle is provided though not hourly. Reservations need to be made at the counter before going and so you must decide when you want to return as well.
Wifi is free but only available in the lobby. It is very slow especially when there are many users.
The staff is excellent and very efficient.
I cannot comment on the food as the restaurant was catering for the conference.
The hotel is closed in the winter months. It could be a much better hotel if these little things were seen to.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snoopyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    138
    82
    51
    51
See reviews for
104
208
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Center Moriches, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We just returned from a 19 day vacation to Italy where all of our reserved hotels were wonderful with the exception of the Caparena. The problems we encountered with our hotel and room
are almost too numerous to list. Here are just a few: bathroom sink leaked onto the floor (bucket needed to catch the water), mildew smelling halls, worn out rugs (in the room & in the halls), no luggage rack in room, no soap dish in shower, shower water leaked all over floor , poor LED lighting in bathroom, no internet service except WIFI. We were extremely surprised by the condition of this hotel. Our room seemed unfinished. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Our advice! do not stay ta this hotel - reserve a real 4 star hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in October 2013 as part of a trip booked through Citalia. Firstly, the hotel has a fantastic private beach that is clean and well serviced. However just about everything else was a disappointment. You need to understand that this is not a luxury hotel, the bedrooms are dormitory accommodation for the health club. The hotel seems to be about 20-25 years old and is now due for a refurb. The rooms are very basic, tiled floors, bare painted walls, very basic furniture and not a lot of it. The bed was auwful and creaked everytime you moved, there was hardly any bedding. There were just two table lamps for lighting in the room but one of them did not work, the minibar broke during our stay and defrosted, leaking water all over the floor. The bathroom was clean but very tired, the shower leaked over the floor as all the seals had perished, and late in the day there was only luke warm water. Tip - the showers are fitted with a restrictor in the shower head which if you remove be unscrewing the hose - you get a half decent shower. The beach restaurant was nice but service was hurried and the food was very basic. There is no wifi except in the lobby, there is a railway immediately in front of the hotel but we didn't find this too noisy. Reception staff were very helpful and a credit to the hotel. For a health club - the breakfast was not in keeping... only whole milk, only pineapple juice to drink from concentrate (no orange or grapefruit) and the cereals choice was granola or granola...

I say again, this is not a luxury hotel it is dormitory accommodation for the health club (which we did not try). If you can live with that and the private beach is important to you - then it may be worth a try. Where it not for the beach I would rate this hotel as poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tannaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here September 2013 for 3 nights. Wouldn't come again. Plus was the beach which we loved. Minuses exceeded plusses however. The rooms are clean but getting tired, with some cracked tiles in the bathrooms and chips out of the bottom of the doors (2 rooms the same). Mildew in the shower grout. Heard other guests complaining about that too. Breakfast was OK, not great. Restaurant food was awful, really awful and so was service - I heard one man shouting at the waiter because their group of six had been there two hours and his wife still did not have her meal although the rest had finished eating. We waited twenty minutes before anyone came near our table and then only because we sent a busboy to get a waiter.

Room Tip: Front rooms have train noise but better than highway noise in rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SMAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We traveled to Taormina for 1st time in Sept 2013 and stayed at Hotel Caparena and Wellness Club. Hotel was a "B+" but hotel had a beach that bumped it to an "A"! Food and staff were good and friendly. Ate mostly in Taormina on which sits high on the hill. Hotel beach was great with all amenities expected. Water was wonderful! Taormina is an enchanting place. Also took a trip to Mt. Etna and was very glad we did. Truly a wonder!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalimeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Although we read reports very often, we did not write anyone before. There are many reasons why we do this for the first time. The main reason is numerous of mostly bad reviews we saw just before we arrived so were not sure what to expect. We couldn't have been more surprised - it is absolutely fantastic. Clean, friendly, food was amazing and the staff were great.
Well, my husband and I spent two weeks in this hotel (our summer vacation) what seems to me long enough to see most of the things about the hotel.. Room was clean, not so large - offer all basic things you can expect from 4 star hotel, but well maintained. The beach is lovely, never crowded (although we were there at the peak of the high season), very clean water. Food was definitely amazing ( both of us prefer Italian cosine and sea food) and the staff was very polite, friendly and always ready to recommend good dish, vine, sweets or anything else. We specially want to thank Emilliano, Fabricio and Manuela for their polite and friendly behavior, what made our holiday memorable.
We will come again, for sure

Room Tip: Rooms on the east are sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank olja0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Travelled to The Caparena July 2012. I had read some quite bad reviews just before we arrived so wasn't sure what to expect. It was my 1st holiday abroad for quite some time. I couldn't have been more surprised to find it absolutely fantastic. Clean, friendly, food was amazing and the staff were great. I'm not sure how it can be so good for some and yet others seem to hate it. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
1.2 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#40 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#39 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.0 mi away
Taormina Palace Hotel
Taormina Palace Hotel
#52 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Hotel Villa Diodoro
#29 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caparena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caparena Hotel

Property: Caparena Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 189, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#33 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caparena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caparena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caparena Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing