We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh....It's Okay, but....”
Review of Caparena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caparena Hotel
Ranked #70 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Saint Clair, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Eh....It's Okay, but....”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is a wonderful location right on the beach. Your first impression is WOW!!!. Then, it hits you. There is NO WIFI in the rooms, and only exists in the lobby. Thing is, the hotel staff gives you a complicated user name and password which only works for 12 hours. They will give you one at the desk and while the lobby was nice enough, it was ridiculous that there was no service in the room. I heard that the WIFI did sort of work in the 100 rooms on the main floor, so if you can, try to get a room in the 100 number range, right off the front desk. The shower was poor, no curtain, and the water was warm, at best. The water pressure was fine, just no way to really get clean with such lukewarm water.

So, we changed in our room and made our way to the pool. There, you are greeting by a sign that says you must wear a swim cap to enter the pool. Are they nuts? Is it the 1920's?? A swim cap??? I couldn't believe it. I refused to wear one, and was stopped in my tracks by the next thing I read when I saw that it will cost 10 Euro's to swim after 6pm. What a joke. I skipped the pool all together. So, we turned around and made our way to the beach. As we walked down the steps, we were frightened to death by the GIANT TRAIN that was thundering above our heads. The train runs right past the hotel once every 6 minutes or so and is a real turn off. After making our way past the guards on the beach, and walking to the water, I was puzzled by the lack of swimmers.

I mean, there was no one in the water. As i stepped to the shoreline, I was shocked....and I mean SHOCKED to see that it was almost impossible to get into the water, due to the presence of rocks. Rocks so numerous, it felt like walking on broken glass. I left the water's edge dejected. My son, a teenager, stayed behind for more exploring. He later told me that he found a place further down the beach that was not rocky. He noticed something in the water, a plant like thing, that caught his eye. It turned out to be a jelly fish. Thousands of jellyfish. He walked back to our hotel beach and saw they were indeed along the shore. The beach, as beautiful as it is, is totally useless.

Be aware that the beach is "clothing optional" and several people had no tops, or bottoms as they enjoyed the sun. Even young girls, 6-10 perhaps, did not have a top on. For an American, it was quite a jolt to see. You are not permitted to bring towels from the hotel to the beach and will be required to rent or buy one from the staff once you reach the beach. Be wary of the Africans roaming the beach, aggressively selling their wares. Do not leave your things unattended while on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Councilman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    139
    82
    51
    51
See reviews for
104
210
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinsville
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel a few miles from Taormina"s city center. Beautiful grounds, pool area and beach. All staff was very nice and helpful. The food was average but well presented. I only have two complaints from my 3 night stay there in June 2014. A very noisy train runs right through the property between the hotel and the beach only yards from the hotel. DAY AND NIGHT! Also there was never any very hot water only luke warm. Loved Taormina it was a delightful place to visit

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel has a superb location just outside Taormina right on the beach. The staff were brilliant, the rooms clean and spacious, the three dining areas all with super views out to seat, BUT, for a hotel of this standard I would have expected more than frozen beans (only just warmed up) or tinned carrots as the vegetable accompaniment to the main course. I know we were in a large group but other hotels can manage with fresh vegetables so this should not be an excuse. I would think that if you were going as just a couple or a few friends it should be better but I cannot vouch for this. Disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Sept 2013. Lots of good points:
breakfast - fine
lunch/dinner - excellent
beach - nice(except for the constant stream of hawkers)
shuttle bus - really useful
train line - quirky(but could clearly be a problem to some)
We were enjoying our stay and thinking that we would definitely return when it was all spoilt on the Friday & Saturday nights when the beach bar was hired out to for a disco/club (not for hotel guests) & the "music" went on until gone 3 in the morning. Complaints were met by a lot of shrugs. We were offered a change of hotel - just what you want towards the end of a holiday - more packing/unpacking.Alternative was a change in room from the "superior" beachfront room to one on the busy road side of hotel.
Unless you enjoy VERY LOUD THUMPING EURO DISCO MUSIC you should avoid.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank terry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Very convenient hotel 10 minutes from Taormina center. It's very easy to get there by free shutle bus provided by the hotel.The only disadvantage of the hotel is a railway that is situated very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Сергей А
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were very pleased with the hotel and its facilities. The room was excellent, there was a good choice of food at the buffet breakfast and the staff were helpful and friendly. The restaurant was located close to the beach and most of the meals we had there were very good. Unfortunately the hotel is located between the railway line and a busy main road. Although there was a shuttle bus up to the main town of Taormina, it was not really a "shuttle" but only ran at set times. These were not that frequent in the evenings. The hotel has a lot going for it. Pity about the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the sea, set well back from the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marniemarshfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
456 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The view from the hotel was incredible. The sunsets were amazing. The sunrises were
truly unforgettable. The beach was clean and peaceful. The hotel room was very spacious as was the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. The hotel was once a 5 star hotel, but now needs a little Tender Loving Care (TLC). In addition to having exposed wires in the room, the door handle needed repair, a small colony of ants roamed freely about the room and bathroom. In the corridor outside of room 120, the paint was peeling. Steps to the beach and to the bus area needed to be repaired. The breakfast was delicious and fresh and again the view of the bay was captivating. Internet service was available only in the lobby. The dinner inside the hotel was good as was the service. A writer would enjoy himself, as every evening was more beautiful then the last. I enjoyed my stay as the sunsets and sunrises made all the difference.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach on the upper floors would provide allow you to enjoy the sunset and sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
1.2 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#40 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.0 mi away
Taormina Palace Hotel
Taormina Palace Hotel
#52 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Hotel Villa Diodoro
#28 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caparena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caparena Hotel

Property: Caparena Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 189, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#34 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caparena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caparena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caparena Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing