We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taormina Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caparena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caparena Hotel
Ranked #68 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Taormina Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

The Caperena and Wellness Club is a luxurious beach side holiday hotel on the outskirts of Taormina near the Lido Mazzarò.
We had some ill-founded concerns when selecting the Caparena from the holiday brochure having read some of the reviews on the web. We questioned who would want to stay at a hotel adjacent to a main trunk road, a motorway and with a railway separating its grounds from the beach!
Leaving the busy Via Nazionale our fears were allayed as we entered an oasis of calm and the modern reception area of cool marble and soft furnishings. Broad carpeted corridors led off to the lifts, health club, gift shop and hotel rooms.
We were allocated a good sized room with a balcony on the 2nd floor overlooking the impeccably kept gardens and out towards the Mediterranean Sea. It was very comfortable and quiet enough to hear prevailing breeze rustling the leaves of the palms and the waves breaking on the beach.
There was the occasional train passing by on the single track railway through a landscaped cutting of high fence camouflaged with a thick hedge of flowering shrubs. Some daytime trains were commuter services, others carried goods, and after the novelty wore off neither were overly intrusive.
The silver service restaurant on the 3rd floor was light and airy. All meals from breakfast though to dinner were first class. Staying on half-board basis, there were excellent choices for a two course dinner, plus dessert, and a serving of hors d'oeuvres to help one to choose from the menu and comprehensive wine list.
From the time we arrived until the end of our weeks stay, we found the smartly dressed staff extremely helpful, friendly and efficient. There were nice touches, like a complementary glass of Champagne to welcome you into dinner, and free provision of clean towels for the beach and swimming pool.
We thoroughly recommend the Caparena. It is not only a top class holiday hotel, but a good centre for touring, or for just taking the complimentary mini-bus up to Taormina town.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funkyanorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    138
    82
    51
    51
See reviews for
104
208
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
heyvenus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2009

Upon arrival in Sicily while waiting for my luggage to arrive i was informed it had been left in London! Thankfully (so glad it ws mine phew!!) my girlfriends had arrived safe with us. So armed with only the clothes i travelled in we headed for the Hotel Caperana. My disgruntlment turned to joy when we arrived as the place was beautiful and our room with a sea view was superb. We dined in our restaraunt that evening me still in my aeroplane clothes (i did have toiletries dont be alarmed) and soon forgot my woos as the service was excellent and the food and wine fantastic. Next day we headed to Taormina via our hotel shuttle bus which is booked the day before. After 10 mins up winding roads we entered Taormina which is beautiful and immaculate. The town has stunning views and great little bars and eateries...people seem happy here and its little wonder living in this stunning sun drenched part of the world. We fell in love with the place (but not as much as each other ahhh). Back on the beachfront we went to our hotel pool. V cool and chilled out and no need to take cash as you just give your room number and pay at the end of your holiday. On the beach itself a nice little beach bar (cash needed for this) sits atop all the sun loungers which seemed to be full every day. The outdoor restaraunt was stunning looking out over the ocean. The spa facilities were pay on use which is fair enough but maybe could be free to all inclusive guests! Mid holiday we took a walk along the beach and dined at a beach bar...now im not sure weather it was the mushrooms i had (the smart money is on the mushrooms) but i fell quite ill for 3-4 days stayin in our room (i dont want to watch Hitch or Zorro one more time). During this time my luggage arrived which somehow ended up in Palermo (British Airways fault this) but our rep Erasmo worked tirelessly to bring me my case and i cant thank him enough (he drove 5 hours in his own time to fetch it for me... you cant buy class like that in a person). Even with my lost case and my mystery mushoom illness blighting my 2 weeks i can honestly say i had an amazing time here and my girlfriend and i laughed at our misfortune and got on with a wonderful holiday from the top of Mount Etna to the villages of Sicily and the scenes where they shot The Godfather! I wouldnt change anything about this trip as it holds wonderful and funny memories which we will always have together. Hotel 5 out of 5 Taormina Sicily 5 out of 5. Go and create your own adventure in this amazing island of Italy and this superb hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heyvenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

Taormina is beautiful ...

Caparena hotel is OK, we had a very pleasant and spacious junior suite with a beautiful view of the sea.

BUT ... the beach front and the hotel are trapped between a highway and railway tracks, so one does not have to worry about waking up, trains running between 6 and 8 am will perform the wake up call service.

Had we known that, we would have staid elsewhere ; especially at 247Euros a night b&b.

Parking situation at the hotel is not good: few spaces available. Food is substandard.

  • Liked — the junior suite
  • Disliked — the noisy trains and railroad tracks under our room's balcony
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

My boyfriend and I booked a last minute holiday at the Hotel Caparena this year. We were advised to go to Sicily by our travel agent because there was a good mix of beaches and sightseeing. Sicily is a fantastic holiday destination with loads to do and glorious sunshine. Taormina is a great resort - a really pretty town which is buzzing at night with loads of bars and restaurants to try. However, it is perched high up on a hill and you really need to stay in the town as we found out ....

Location: The Hotel Caparena is located on the seafront about 4 km downhill from Taormina town. There is a cable car linking the beach with the town but the hotel is a 20 minute walk along a busy main road from this area. You cannot walk along the beach - we did try! The hotel is sandwiched between a busy main road and railway line which is very noisy throughout the day and night. There is a minibus service laid on by the hotel which takes you into Taormina. You have to book onto the bus the day before which is ok but the last bus back leaves at 10.45pm which is very early for a night out. A taxi back cost 15 euros. The only other moan we had was that you had to walk 20 mins in either direction to find the next resort and other bars to go to which we did in the day but not at night.

Hotel services: The hotel has a spa attached to it. We were expecting the swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room to be free of charge in a 4 star hotel but when we arrived they were charging 10 euros for each facility. There were also weddings at the hotel for 4 out of the 7 nights we stayed so we were unable to use the beachfront restaurant and garden on these days.

On the plus side the staff at the hotel were very friendly and happy to help, the restaurant food was ok and there was a good selection and the rooms were very clean.

We went sightseeing to Mount Etna, the Alcantara Gorge and Aeolian islands which were all great days out. If you go to Taormina at night eat at the Gran Duca restaurant - the food is excellent and you look out over the Sicilian coastline which is beautiful.

Unless you want to spend all day on the hotel beach/by the pool and all evening in the hotel restaurant and bar I would not stay at this hotel. It is just too far out of the way.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Location, having to pay extra for basic spa facilities
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pompeydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
256 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

The first thing you have to consider when visiting Taormina (IMHO one of the three mandatory places to visit in Sicily, the other two being Cefalu and Siracusa) is whether you want to experience the city or the beach. That's because the old city of Taormina is perched on top of a hill, and this hotel here is down in front of the beach and it's a long way between the two. It doesn't mean you can't see them both, but it's got to set your target. By the way, I loved them both, the city and the beach. Also have in mind the time of the year you're coming. I went in May, which I highly recommend, because it's not high season yet, and it's already warm enough to take a dip in the crystal clear waters of Sicily. If you're used to warm caribbean waters, this may not be for you, as it's a bit cold. That said, this is a lovely hotel with a great Spa. Of course, nothing is for free, you pay for every extra at the Spa, but if you are looking for a relaxing time by the ocean and can afford their prices, then this is a great choice. The room was clean, big, bathroom clean and comfortable, etc. The only thing that bothered me a bit is that this hotel is little full of dos and don'ts. Example: there is a note on the fridge saying that any food purchased outside the hotel found on the inside will be thrown away without notice. You are also not supposed to take towels from the room to the beach, if you do so you may be punished. There is a certain air of unfriendliness in all their rules and regulations, and this does not ring well with me. I wouldn't be surprised if I found out the hotel is not owned by italians, because this love of rules is more american or german to me. Anyway, the lovely old city of Taormina is 15 minutes away by car or with the hotel shuttle, which you have to book in advance. If you try to drive to the city, bear in mind that it's absolutely impossible to park anywhere other than the Parcheggio Lumbi, a big parking facility that has its own shuttle to the top of the city. All in all, Taormina is unforgettable.

  • Liked — Beach and Spa
  • Disliked — Too many rules
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soulbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

Having just returned from Hotel Caparena I would like to advise other travellers of our stay! When we arrived at the hotel we were slightly disppointed with the location of the hotel. it was positioned on the beach (lovely) but was a taxi ride from Taormina, we were lucky as we had a car. We were advised that there was a shuttle bus running frequently to Taormina but you had to book the day before! The gardens of the hotel were beautiful but such a shame that you were unable to eat outside overlooking the bay as for many nights of our stay there was a private function. There was a beach restaurant but with a very limited menu, if you want a snack there really isn't anything on the menu, you could have a buffet salad though for 20 EURO - a little expensive don't you think! Our room was supposed to be superior with a sea view, we just about had seaview but I wouldn't say the room was superior! Also there was a train running between the hotel and the beach (no mention of this in the Citalia brochure), I am a deep sleeper so wasn't affected by this!

On the positive side the staff were polite, the rooms were clean, breakfast and evening meal were good and the pool was nice and clean with free towels.

I think as long as you go aware of the above a stay at the Caprena is very pleasant. Surely a proper beach bar where snacks are served would be a great investment and eating on the terrace in the summer with the fantastic views another must!

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Distance from the town
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank betsymardlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2007

Just got back from 8 nights at this lovely old but refurbished hotel.
The pool was heaven. The roof rolls back and except for the day of the mistrals, was wide open till 6 pm. after that one can still swim and use the luxury wellness showers.
As for the brioche.... I took the citrus treatment (covered in fruits) while my sister indulged in the turkish bath and massage. Wonderful robes, herbal teas, soft music....
Our first room had a nasty smell wafting in from the generous balcony so we were moved to one overlooking the pool and on to the sea...it had a well stocked reasonable room fridge, lots of towels, bath foam, shampoo and body lotion daily.
The first night we got in very late BOOK THE TAXI THROUGH THE HOTEL!!! (we paid 160 euro for a 75 euro ride)
Breakfast was included, everything from cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits, cheese. parma ham, fresh breads, rolls, croissant, juices and my favourite, cherry tomatoes, baby bocconchini, oil and vineagar.
Carmelo in the bar went out of his way to make us feel welcome and Ms Lo Re at reception was gracious and helpful.
I expected the train to be a problem but once we shut the balcony door we heard nothing.
I would love to return, but will bring beach shoes as the shore is very rough on the feet.
The shuttle left and returned almost every hour till late at night.

  • Liked — difficult to choose between the spa and the fabulous brekkies complete with cappuchini...no it has to be Carmelo in the bar
  • Disliked — having the male reception staff ignore my requests, the two women were excellent
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NanoVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
1.2 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#41 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#38 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.0 mi away
Taormina Palace Hotel
Taormina Palace Hotel
#51 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Hotel Villa Diodoro
#29 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caparena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caparena Hotel

Property: Caparena Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 189, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#33 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caparena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caparena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caparena Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing