We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caparena Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$349
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$585
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$397
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel San Pietro(Taormina)
US$450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panoramic Hotel(Taormina)
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$542
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$457
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$517
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$482
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Hotel Villa Schuler(Taormina)
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$928
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
193
166
88
59
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
166
88
59
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflowering shrubsprivate beachelectric trainbeautiful hotel sethalf boardthe free shuttle busbest of both worldslarge poolend of juneevery eveningshower headfresh orange juicethe hotel offersroom with a sea viewa wonderful holidayexcellent breakfastisola bella
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2007

First off, I was a little unlucky in my timing. I arrived at the end of March and stayed the first week of April. The hotel had just opened its doors a few days earlier and that meant the beach was not ready for guests and was dirty the pool had not been heated ( we were able to use it on our last day tho) and the staff was just getting into it again. There were very few guests around and that made it all a bit strange. That said, the hotel is nice, rooms are basic and very clean and the staff was just great to us and really saved our holiday. They tried to do everything possible for us. There is not much of a veiw from the rooms, it is traintracks and some trees and a little bit of the sea. The furniture on the balcony was plastic and not very nice. We stayed two floors down from the resturant but constantly heard the chairs being dragged around the tile floor, odd since there were few guests but it really bothered me in the morning, waking up to the noise. The rooms are tiled as well and no slippers supplied so bring your own. The bedding was not to my liking either, the pillows were very lumpy and there was just a normal sheet for a cover. The hotel has a shuttle to the town, does not go often but if the times dont suit you, the hotel will try and arrange it anyway. The wellness centre is wonderful, got some treatments there and can fully recommend it. The pool is lovely too, it is an indoor pool but since we could not use it much it did not matter to us. But this hotel, all in all is not a 4 star so dont except it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lisa026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2006

This is a great hotel just across the tracks from the beach. There is a cool corridor you walk under the tracks to get to the beach. You have to take a taxi up to Taormina, but if you don't mind being close to the Ocean and away from town, this is a great location. They have a good restaurant, have internet service in the common area and very nice Spa.

I stayed in this hotel on a tour and it was wonderful. My room had a great seabreeze and had a partial ocean view. It was fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank travel4life99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2006

We stayed with our one year old daughter in one of the suites with seaview. For only € 15 you can book a suite instead of a normal room. Service was great! The staff treated our daughter like a princess and she loved every second of it.
Food was very good and if you book HP you can choose wathever you like from the menu.
A shuttle brings you tot Taormina for free.
The surrounding by the hotel is not so nice. A busy road lies on the back and in front at the seaside is a railroad. A few trains pass by in one hour but the noice is not so bad. Soon you'll get used to it. Pool and wellness are great. Staff is very friendly.
This hotel is also nice for conferences. There are no shops or restaurants on walking distance so make sure you have a rental car or take the shuttle tot Taormina. Taxi's are expensive. To the centre of Taormina it cost you €25.
Taormina is a very nice town with beautifull sites to sea!

Stayed: October 2006
1  Thank katinka69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2006

We stayed in a superior room with sea view overlooking the beautiful gardens. The hotel staff were extremely professional and courteous. The beach was great with free pass, sunbeds, parasol and towels. Despite thinking we were trapped with no way out, as it is impossible to walk anywhere due to the very busy and dangerous road, once we discovered the free shuttle bus into Taormina we were happy. You must take full advantage of this service. Alternatively, a taxi ride is approx. 15 euros. The food was good but the bar was non atmospheric, although the head barman was very nice. Overall a very relaxing and enjoyable stay with no bother from anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2006

Despite having provided copy confirmation of our reservation for 2 superior double rooms, we were told the hotel did not have our booking. Instead, we were offered one room with 2 extra beds at a 'discounted' rate due to a cancellation. We viewed this room but were dissatisfied, thus returned to reception to request help in finding another hotel within their group. At this point, the receptionist revealed they were over-booked and knew that all their other hotels were full since they had to transfer some guests to them already. Also, the 'discounted' rate turned out to be more than rate quoted for our 2 rooms!

After more negotiations, the receptionist miraculously found our booking, explaining they had changed their system recently. However, their read-out stated only 2 single rooms were reserved and rooms priced accordingly. When queried why our confirmation should state superior rooms WITH DOUBLE BEDS, she explained that their single rooms do have double beds. Since now they have evidence of our booking in their own hotel's computer system, we requested our 2 single rooms with double beds...... this could not be honoured. After much dispute, we were forced to accept the 1 room cramped with beds for 4 people, at an unacceptable 'discounted' rate.

Questions:
1. Why did they not have record of our reservation or direct contact since we emailed them to request for inter-connected rooms, which was replied with negative and thus altered our request to 2 rooms close to each other, WITH our confirmation reference?
2. They were over-booked - were we conveniently over-looked, especially since the room viewed miraculously already had beds set up for 4?
3. Why did the receptionist not allow us to examine their computer print out when we tried to compare their 'evidence' with ours?

Dissatisfactions:
1. At no point did receptionist/duty manager admit to possibility of hotel's fault.
2. Very rarely did receptionist/duty manager listen to what we had to say and try to understand our position.
3. At no point did receptionist/duty manager apologise - only very begrudgingly at the end.
4. We were made to feel at fault throughout.

I have read other reviews, and language has nothing to do with the rude service received - a smile or empathic nod of understanding are universally understood.

I have not rated the overall experience 'terrible' as facilities were good and service from some other departments commendable, but I will CERTAINLY NOT RETURN to the Caparena Hotel in any hurry.....

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TAMemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews