We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Don Ciccio

Trattoria Don Ciccio
Ranked #16 of 257 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Don Ciccio's restaurant in Taormina is located near the Cathedral in the heart of the city. It offers its customers fresh dishes of the best Sicilian tradition. Pasta, fish, meat freshly cooked and the best Sicilian wines and international.
Ascot, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed in a rented apartment 50 metres from this great spot (which is almost hidden down a side street from the Piazza al Duomo). The owner had left recommendations but had not included this - so we were delighted to leave it for him! On our first night in Taormina we had a birthday to celebrate and this place just looked so friendly and handy. When I booked for 4 of us about 2 hours before dinner, I asked if they could rustle up some sort of little surprise for the birthday and they came up trumps. A welcome glass of Prosecco set the tone for a great meal, finishing with a cake complete with a candle. This is clearly a family affair, with a very happy atmosphere, which is transmitted both to the clients and the food. Needless to say we returned a second time before leaving Taormina, and we were equally delighted with the evening. We had a lot of good meals in Sicily but this was definitely the best value all round.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caluga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    661
    342
    83
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“friendly atmosphere, very nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

small place slightly off the beaten track. friendly owners. Large choice of Sicilian dishes, served quickly.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank StevenL245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Memorable for all the right reasons. Fresh food with a Sicilian base - The Peppered mussels and Lamb excellent - The service was friendly and attentive, its tucked away and a real find. Without doubt our best meal in Sicily look forward to returning. Excellent value and liked the chef coming out at the end of our meal and discussing the food, so much I wanted to return for supper.........

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TraceyFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like coming home in Sicily”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Our hotel staff recommended this one as 'the number 1 place in town' so we had to give it a try, and yes, this is a great place: delicious food at a fair price and very friendly people. The family makes you feel like coming home in Sicily. Definitely worth the try!

If it may help: later in the evening many locals passed to eat there as well, which seems like a good indication for quality and price.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank raftote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Buonissimo!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

This lovely, family run restaurant is situated in the beautiful town of Taormina. The food is traditional Sicilian fare-we had antipasto and parmigiana to start, spaghetti pommodoro and a selection of fresh seafood as our mains- and all tasted delicious!! Washed down with a good glass, or two, of Sicilian wine and a Limoncello to finish, it was indeed a meal well had.
Davide, the owner, was extremely attentive and eager to cater to all our needs, but not in a fussy way, more like an old friend. This made the whole experience very warm and comfortable.
I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to Don Ciccio, and in fact we went back a number of times whilst staying in Taormina. I would definitely recommend a visit!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boopy_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Don Ciccio also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Trattoria Don Ciccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing