We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Italian Food - dining with the locals” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cucina Di Riccobono

La Cucina Di Riccobono
Ranked #105 of 257 Restaurants in Taormina
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Food - dining with the locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Taormina is a very touristy town. We were looking for something authentic and reasonable priced and based on the number of locals dining here on a Saturday afternoon and its proximity to our B&B, we chose La Cucina Di Riccobono. Don't be put off by the very casual cafeteria type appearance or the fact that its a 'self service' restaurant. The food we had was excellent, a fresh caprese salad and bread, selection of fish and meat from the ready prepared sections and chips. Whilst dining there we saw the chefs preparing the pizza dough for the evening and actually ended up going back that late that evening for their freshly cooked pizza's which were excellent. Highly recommend for some local Italian cuisine away from the usual tourist restaurants.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cem88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    41
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Saturday evening, the place was empty. The girls at the front desk seemed to be very gentle to us, giving some tips about the food. Unfortunately everything was probably made 3 days before and it's was really hard to eat, in the end we didn't even touch the last meal because of its bad flavour. The waitress appeared to be sorry but, made us pay a very expensive bill for what we didn't eat! Never go, it's a bit less expensive but it doesn't worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank francescapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenthon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food with good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The restaurant is really basic with plastic forks and plate. However the food is really good, the girl at the counter was speaking good English so she was helpful to help us choose. I will go back. No 2 euros corpo service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vaness1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Johns, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“an authentic exprience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This place was right near our hotel and was full of local people haveing hearty meals, so we decided to eat here. They did not say much in English, but seemed to understand us. The prices were reasonable and the service was good.Best of all, the food was homemade, fresh and hot. There was a constant stream of people coming in to get take away. It was so good that we went back. One day they forgot to bring us an order of chips and the man working in the back came out to apologize. We not only got our chips in the end, but after apologizing, they also reduced the price of our meal. The only drawback ws the plastic cutlery. After multiple visits, they began to give us silverware.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank judithyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Ate lunch here an ordered specials only- very tastey, simple food. We ordered house wine and didn't like it and the waitress was happy to take it back and not charge us for it. We ordered bottle of wine instead. The atmosphere was good as we sat outside looking onto the street watching the world go by. Very pleasant place to eat and I would recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelvicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cucina Di Riccobono also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to La Cucina Di Riccobono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing