We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of the sea from room, but could use some renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lido Mediterranee Hotel
Ranked #45 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of the sea from room, but could use some renovations”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We drove to the hotel the entryway to the hotel is challenging someone always parks at the top corner of the entrance which makes it difficult to enter. The washrooms are very small and the shower stalls could use some renovations and too close to the toilet. The restaurant has a beautiful Terrance to have your meals on overlooking the sea and the beautiful sun rises and sets. The food was very good and the beach area very clean and comfortable they have small stones instead of sand.the location is great 15 euros for a taxi to take you up to Taormina. But remember you are on the highway.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DianaTri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    111
    62
    18
    17
See reviews for
78
134
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right on the sea front with the waves literally lapping against the wall. We had a sea balcony and watched the sun rise. Bedroom nice, traditionally tiled floor and bathroom. Good breakfast, lots of choice. It's about 1km walk along the road to the cable car taking you up to Taormina town (6€ return) which runs until 1am. Staff friendly and helpful. Small private beach with loungers too. No complaints at all and great location.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Killer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Plusses....Excellent location, right on the beach, stunning sea views from all rooms, beautiful sunrise/sun sets. .wonderful breakfasts on the terrace.
Minuses...Town of Taormina a dodgy walk down a busy road to the cable car - only takes about 15 mins... but no safe foot path. You will be taking your life in your hands but tis worth it !!!
Hotel is dated to say the least (we thought stuck in the 50's/60's) and if you are looking for a modern hotel. with all that that entails... do not book this one.
I was refused entry to the restaurant on the first evening because I was wearing 3/4 length trousers..!!!! Having said that, was kind of reassuring that basic standards have been set and are being enforced.
Food excellent in the restaurant at night but service non existent (for us at least) during the day light hours. The bar is apparently "at your disposal" from 0730 til midnight. Service.. when you can find it. is brilliant.. but the staff frequently vanish for long periods. It may have been due to the fact that we were end of season (last week September) but suspect that this is the nature of the hotel.
Do not be put off by this!! Been to Italy many times and was bewitched by Sicilia...would thoroughly recommend both Taormina and indeed the Lido Meditaranee. to anyone.

To all who are considering a visit..book it - you will not be disappointed...!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

this hotel is simply gorgeous. all the rooms are seaview and you can hear the waves crush against the shore day and night. subleme. it is the ideal place if you are a couple and want to get away from it all in a calm blissful ambience with spectacular views. breakfast in the terrace was lovely, under the trees. we had dinner twice in the lovely seaview terrace too , a little bit expensive but definately worth it. the staff were all nice and very professional especially the head waiter, in the evening they wear tuxedos and serve dinner as silver service. the hotel needs some refurbishing though especially the bathrooms nonetheless it was not a problem for us. location is perfect. just a few metres away by walk from cable car. really really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was a wonderful hotel. The location is perfect: it is on the beach and you can hear the sea from your bedroom. The terrace where breakfast (and, if you wish, lunch and dinner) is served, is literally only a few steps away from the shore. The atmosfere is genteel, a bit old fashioned, and the bathrooms could do with a makeover, but that did not bother us in the least. The personnel is very nice and helpful, speak quite good English, and are committed to making your stay pleasant and comfortable. The small private beach is great, you can order drinks and get a new set of towels every day. Breakfast was good, nice rolls and hot coffee, and the one dinner we had there was excellent. (But for dinner we also recommend the beach club next door!) The hotel is a short ride (uphill walk) to the cable lift to Taormina center, which was lovely. It is only an hour's drive to the Etna as well. In short: fantastic hotel, superb location and wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Have dinner next door at Lido La Caravella! And make sure you are not in the far back of the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maries1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This was a great hotel. The staff were friendly and we had a lovely room with a great ocean view. The room included breakfast, and access to a private beach with a towel, umbrella and sun bed. The buffet breakfast was lovely and the restaurant was right over the beach. The location was great, about 900 metres from the cable cart which takes you up to Taormina town. I would definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. The view is superb! If you are booking 2 rooms try 401 and 402 as they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had a pleasant stay here but the hotel could do with a revamp. The views however were spectacular. The staff were friendly but could have given some info on the area. The food was simple but good and the waiting staff were quiet funny to watch. It was all dramatics at lunch and at dinner they wear tuxedos which was nice. There just hasn't been any investment here since it was built. Our room was spacious-ish and the en-suite was small. There was a seven foot single glazed door out onto the balcony which you could hear the sound of the sea through or on the morning we left the sound of a helicopter flying over repeatedly to get water to put out a fire. As regards to location it was in Taormina-mare just below Taormina. You can get to Taormina by 1km walk to cable car and a 5 min cable car ride. This was well worth the effort. It was also 5 mins drive away from Letojanni,Don't try to walk this, the road outside the hotel is the frightening to walk on.
We'll be back to Taormina but maybe a more modern hotel next time

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#34 of 88 in Taormina
240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 88 in Taormina
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.6 mi away
Caparena Hotel
Caparena Hotel
#71 of 88 in Taormina
492 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Mediterranee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Mediterranee Hotel

Property: Lido Mediterranee Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale, 98030, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#27 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lido Mediterranee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lido Mediterranee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Mediterranee Resort
Hotel Lido Mediterranee
Lido Mediterranee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing