We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lido Mediterranee Hotel
Ranked #47 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok... It has a private beach which is great but there isn't any service (drinks or food) on the beach which is a missed opportunity. The location again is ok, it's about a 10min walk to the gondola to take you to the town and the trip on the gondela is €3 per person each way. So you need to decide if you want to stay in the town on on the beach - I would still probably stay at the beach even though there are less restutants etc. The hotel itself is very outdated, it reminds me of the decor at my Italian grandparents house - in fact I think they had the same wardrobe - but it's clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were friendly but they weren't very helpful with planning activities. So, in summary it was ok, not amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bec A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We travelled out of season for the first time and plumped for Sicily for the October weather. Having never been there before, we chose this hotel after reviewing several internet sites, the main criteria being availability (mid-week to mid-week) and price. We were not disappointed. Although the hotel was only open for a few more weeks before the winter shutdown, there were still plenty of guests staying. The front desk staff were very helpful providing local bus and train timetables, as we wanted to do a bit of non-tour travelling (Syracuse, Messina, Castelmola). All rooms had a sea view. The buffet breakfast had several selections, ranging from hot (sausage, bacon, scrambled egg) to rolls, cereals, yoghurts, pastries, fruit, etc. It was very pleasant having breakfast on the terrace leading from the dining room, overlooking the beach. The beach was sandy down to the water edge, then pebbly/rocky. Loungers and parasols were provided by the resident "lifeguard", who seemed to double up as a general dogsbody or bar staff. There was some minor hassle from peddlars of "foot massages" on the beach, but we later found that they were everywhere! The room was simply furnished, with AC and a compact en suite with shower. The shower temperature was fine, but the power was never full blast. In general, the hotel had a pleasant, old-world charm to it. The cable car terminal for Taormina was a 15 minute walk along a moderately busy road, which was lit at night. The cars were OK, just needed to be mindful of huge tourist buses or inconsiderate scooters.

Room Tip: The economy room is the cheapest and perfectly adequate. You get shuttered windows but no window gri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purry_Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We drove to the hotel the entryway to the hotel is challenging someone always parks at the top corner of the entrance which makes it difficult to enter. The washrooms are very small and the shower stalls could use some renovations and too close to the toilet. The restaurant has a beautiful Terrance to have your meals on overlooking the sea and the beautiful sun rises and sets. The food was very good and the beach area very clean and comfortable they have small stones instead of sand.the location is great 15 euros for a taxi to take you up to Taormina. But remember you are on the highway.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank DianaTri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right on the sea front with the waves literally lapping against the wall. We had a sea balcony and watched the sun rise. Bedroom nice, traditionally tiled floor and bathroom. Good breakfast, lots of choice. It's about 1km walk along the road to the cable car taking you up to Taormina town (6€ return) which runs until 1am. Staff friendly and helpful. Small private beach with loungers too. No complaints at all and great location.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Killer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Plusses....Excellent location, right on the beach, stunning sea views from all rooms, beautiful sunrise/sun sets. .wonderful breakfasts on the terrace.
Minuses...Town of Taormina a dodgy walk down a busy road to the cable car - only takes about 15 mins... but no safe foot path. You will be taking your life in your hands but tis worth it !!!
Hotel is dated to say the least (we thought stuck in the 50's/60's) and if you are looking for a modern hotel. with all that that entails... do not book this one.
I was refused entry to the restaurant on the first evening because I was wearing 3/4 length trousers..!!!! Having said that, was kind of reassuring that basic standards have been set and are being enforced.
Food excellent in the restaurant at night but service non existent (for us at least) during the day light hours. The bar is apparently "at your disposal" from 0730 til midnight. Service.. when you can find it. is brilliant.. but the staff frequently vanish for long periods. It may have been due to the fact that we were end of season (last week September) but suspect that this is the nature of the hotel.
Do not be put off by this!! Been to Italy many times and was bewitched by Sicilia...would thoroughly recommend both Taormina and indeed the Lido Meditaranee. to anyone.

To all who are considering a visit..book it - you will not be disappointed...!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

this hotel is simply gorgeous. all the rooms are seaview and you can hear the waves crush against the shore day and night. subleme. it is the ideal place if you are a couple and want to get away from it all in a calm blissful ambience with spectacular views. breakfast in the terrace was lovely, under the trees. we had dinner twice in the lovely seaview terrace too , a little bit expensive but definately worth it. the staff were all nice and very professional especially the head waiter, in the evening they wear tuxedos and serve dinner as silver service. the hotel needs some refurbishing though especially the bathrooms nonetheless it was not a problem for us. location is perfect. just a few metres away by walk from cable car. really really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was a wonderful hotel. The location is perfect: it is on the beach and you can hear the sea from your bedroom. The terrace where breakfast (and, if you wish, lunch and dinner) is served, is literally only a few steps away from the shore. The atmosfere is genteel, a bit old fashioned, and the bathrooms could do with a makeover, but that did not bother us in the least. The personnel is very nice and helpful, speak quite good English, and are committed to making your stay pleasant and comfortable. The small private beach is great, you can order drinks and get a new set of towels every day. Breakfast was good, nice rolls and hot coffee, and the one dinner we had there was excellent. (But for dinner we also recommend the beach club next door!) The hotel is a short ride (uphill walk) to the cable lift to Taormina center, which was lovely. It is only an hour's drive to the Etna as well. In short: fantastic hotel, superb location and wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Have dinner next door at Lido La Caravella! And make sure you are not in the far back of the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maries1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Caparena Hotel
Caparena Hotel
#56 of 87 in Taormina
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#40 of 87 in Taormina
260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,230 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sylesia
Hotel Sylesia
#36 of 87 in Taormina
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Isabella
Hotel Isabella
#53 of 87 in Taormina
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Mediterranee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Mediterranee Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale, 98030, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#28 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £83 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lido Mediterranee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lido Mediterranee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Mediterranee Resort
Hotel Lido Mediterranee
Lido Mediterranee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing