We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Beach is Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lido Mediterranee Hotel
Ranked #47 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
East Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Private Beach is Great”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed at this Hotel for six days. We had a room with a balcony which had a beautiful ocean view. Almost every night we bought a bottle of wine and relaxed on the balcony and enjoyed the view. One night there were fireworks and the show was great. I would highly recommend a room with a balcony. The hotel itself is older with a lot of charm. There was a problem after taking a shower where we had water pools but nothing that would stop me from going back. If you are a young couple looking for music and entertainment this is not the hotel for you it is very laid back. The restaurant was OK. We eat there once for lunch and decided not to go back. There is a hotel next door with a better restaurant we ate there several times for lunch. Breakfast in the morning was nice the only problem was the service in trying to get coffee. We felt ignored and had to ask several times for more coffee and they seemed to be counting them as if there was a limit. Very strange. The beach is the selling point here walk out of the restaurant and you are on the beach. Grab a couple of chairs, towels and umbrella (included with the room) and enjoy the weather and the water. The lifeguard also sets up the chairs and gets drinks for you. A nice guy who works very hard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommyv40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    111
    63
    19
    17
See reviews for
79
137
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

the hotel was great with its private beach. the service was excellent although they should really have a mini bar in the beach (which is really good for both the hotel and the guests). the only thing is that the building is very old and really need an upgrade. it is nowhere near 4* standard. it looks like they havent had any upgrade (not even the TV which didnt work anyway) from the 70s... overall i will stay there again, hence what i care the most is the condition and the beach but would be good if they can upgrade it...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing and pleasant vacation YOU SHOULD'T STAY AT THIS HOTEL.
Things you should know about this hotel:
1. The hotel is a really old building that smells like mold

2. The "Central Air Conditioning" Units on the walls, don't work. (While staying at the hotel I went to complain to the front desk that my room was hot and that the AC wasn't working, I wasn't the only person having the same problem. There were several people complaining about the same issue.)

3. The breakfast at this hotel is horrible, you wouldn't feed an animal the scrambled eggs they serve, and the juices are all out of a box, nothing is natural. It is a true shame.

4. The beds are horribly hard and uncomfortable (I say beds because they change my steaming room for another steaming room.) Forget about the pillows... I just can't describe them.

5. They bathrooms are old and I mean ridiculously old, the shower head is just a pipe coming out of the wall.

6. The decoration of this place is so old, the carpets are disgusting, they smell and are filthy. This place really looks like a HORROR HOUSE.

7. Balcony, is not a balcony, is just a door that you can open and look to the outside. You can't step out.

In brief, I booked this hotel because at the time I booked it had four stars, which I don't know how they got them. I couldn't sleep good one single night because of the heat. The manager said they were fixing the AC units, but after the "supposedly repairs" the room was still hot.
I would't recommend this place to anyone.
SIMPLY HORRIBLE!

Room Tip: This hotel is horrible. AC doesn't work, is old, looks like a horror house and smells like mold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AURITA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok... It has a private beach which is great but there isn't any service (drinks or food) on the beach which is a missed opportunity. The location again is ok, it's about a 10min walk to the gondola to take you to the town and the trip on the gondela is €3 per person each way. So you need to decide if you want to stay in the town on on the beach - I would still probably stay at the beach even though there are less restutants etc. The hotel itself is very outdated, it reminds me of the decor at my Italian grandparents house - in fact I think they had the same wardrobe - but it's clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were friendly but they weren't very helpful with planning activities. So, in summary it was ok, not amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We travelled out of season for the first time and plumped for Sicily for the October weather. Having never been there before, we chose this hotel after reviewing several internet sites, the main criteria being availability (mid-week to mid-week) and price. We were not disappointed. Although the hotel was only open for a few more weeks before the winter shutdown, there were still plenty of guests staying. The front desk staff were very helpful providing local bus and train timetables, as we wanted to do a bit of non-tour travelling (Syracuse, Messina, Castelmola). All rooms had a sea view. The buffet breakfast had several selections, ranging from hot (sausage, bacon, scrambled egg) to rolls, cereals, yoghurts, pastries, fruit, etc. It was very pleasant having breakfast on the terrace leading from the dining room, overlooking the beach. The beach was sandy down to the water edge, then pebbly/rocky. Loungers and parasols were provided by the resident "lifeguard", who seemed to double up as a general dogsbody or bar staff. There was some minor hassle from peddlars of "foot massages" on the beach, but we later found that they were everywhere! The room was simply furnished, with AC and a compact en suite with shower. The shower temperature was fine, but the power was never full blast. In general, the hotel had a pleasant, old-world charm to it. The cable car terminal for Taormina was a 15 minute walk along a moderately busy road, which was lit at night. The cars were OK, just needed to be mindful of huge tourist buses or inconsiderate scooters.

Room Tip: The economy room is the cheapest and perfectly adequate. You get shuttered windows but no window gri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purry_Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We drove to the hotel the entryway to the hotel is challenging someone always parks at the top corner of the entrance which makes it difficult to enter. The washrooms are very small and the shower stalls could use some renovations and too close to the toilet. The restaurant has a beautiful Terrance to have your meals on overlooking the sea and the beautiful sun rises and sets. The food was very good and the beach area very clean and comfortable they have small stones instead of sand.the location is great 15 euros for a taxi to take you up to Taormina. But remember you are on the highway.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DianaTri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right on the sea front with the waves literally lapping against the wall. We had a sea balcony and watched the sun rise. Bedroom nice, traditionally tiled floor and bathroom. Good breakfast, lots of choice. It's about 1km walk along the road to the cable car taking you up to Taormina town (6€ return) which runs until 1am. Staff friendly and helpful. Small private beach with loungers too. No complaints at all and great location.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Killer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#39 of 87 in Taormina
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caparena Hotel
Caparena Hotel
#66 of 87 in Taormina
505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 87 in Taormina
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#15 of 87 in Taormina
512 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Mediterranee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Mediterranee Hotel

Property: Lido Mediterranee Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale, 98030, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#28 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lido Mediterranee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lido Mediterranee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Mediterranee Resort
Hotel Lido Mediterranee
Lido Mediterranee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing