We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far, our best vacation ever!”
Review of Hotel Villa Sirina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Sirina
Ranked #30 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Alkmaar
1 review
“So far, our best vacation ever!”
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Me and my wife had a lovely vacation on Sicily, we had a roundtrip of total 12 nights with 3 hotels. (every hotel 4 nights) Our 3rd Hotel was not very comfortable so we decided to book 1 day earlier to Hotel Villa Sirina, so i phoned them and spoke (english) to the very friendly Salvatore. "No problem you come today!" And a few hours later we arrived at beautifull renovated and maintained Hotel at the beginning in Taormina. Piece and quiet around you, stunning view at the beautifull garden/pool from hour balcony and of course the seaview (Naxos/Taormina bay) Everything was better than described by themself and the tour-operating companies! (first time we actually experienced this..)
Parking was free and very close to the hotel. (nice for the elder people)
Anyway, when w e arrived the always very hospital Giovanna took our suitcases and walked in the hotel, as I wanted to assist her she said “No, you have vacation right now” so seeing her lifting both suitcases (Strong woman!) I decided not to argue ;-)

Salvatore was also very hospital and showed us around the hotel and printed out a free internet-coupon for an hour because he’d understood that I was a ICT consultant (seen of my e-mail from the my work) I was charmed from his gesture. (Good wireless internet + and a PC with printer for those who don’t bring their notebook)

On the 1st floor we found a nice and clean room with a balcony which gave us all we needed. Bathroom is at sight a little narrow for a big guy like me, but everything you needed, including a mosquito filter applied at the window, was there. Further on we had a lot of space, minibar, and satellite tv (not that you feel like watching in this beautifull surrounding, but handy with bad weather) Also after asking Salvatore about mosquito’s, he instantly gave us a complete anti-mosquito adapter and tablets to ban these bloodsuckers. (so we did not need to buy one..)

After the refreshing rituals we went out to see Taormina. Obviously not after Salvatore came with discount-coupons for the parking-garage 1,5 km up the mountain. This garage is not expensive (we are used to Amsterdam rates of € 4.50 per hour) for an night out you pay with the discount +/- 5 euro.

Salvatore and staff were at service with advise for nice restaurants, sightseeing’s and all other you could possibly want. (service as never seen before) The pool was very nice and clean, nice adjustable beds with free towel service made this all a relaxing experience.

Breakfast was again very good, all types of pie and cake (lovely applecake from the mrs. !) a dozen serials, fruitjuices and a lot sandwich filling (even peanutbutter!) only thing minor was the Leerdammer cheese (dutch people are spoiled with cheese ;-) Salvatore, next time we bring you real dutch cheese!

Overall:

Location is very fine walking distance of both Giardini-Naxos as Taormina. Though by car you really can see a lot more. We don’t like hotels in the busy centre so just outside of it this place is perfect.
In 15 years of vacation we had never seen a service like this, so a BIG recommendation to all!
As we are both hard working people, we lookout for luxury and comfort in our vacationtime. Also knowing myself as a perfectionist I’m always (silently) hoping for more of these people.
We’ll you will find Salvatore and his crew meeting up to these (maybe a little high) standards!
For those with a finer eye for the detail, I salute you and invite you to come at Villa Sirina and share your experiences with me (other great suggestions are welcome as well)

Salvatore and his wife, Giovanna, Guiseppe, Slava, Luigi and anybody who I might forget, thank you all for giving us these 5 days our best vacation experience ever!!

Warm greetings from Johan and Marleen (Holland)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxury-Animal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    80
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
66
143
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, NY
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2009

This hotel was a real fine! A beautifully resrtored villawith lovely gardens,and a beautiful pool, Villa Sirina is situated just at the beginning of Taormina. There is room to park your car (and no charge) and you drive up a winding, rather hair-raising road to a multti-level parking garage and leave your car there. It's a two minute walk into Taormina and Salvatore will give you a discount coupon for the garage. Rooms are simple but a nice size although the bathroom is cramped. Our room had a lovely little balcony that overlooked the pool and a wall of flowers and from our bed(very comfortable) we could see the sea! How romantic is that! Breakfast was a delicious buffet and our table was set ourside on the veranda by the cheerful waitnress who walks around singing ands for whom nothing is a problem. We were there celebrating my 65th birthday and Salvatore made a reservation for us at Maffei and when we arrived, there were red roses on our table! Dinner there was fabulous if a tad expensive. He also suggested the Blue Grotto which was also delicious.

I don't think you can beat this hotel for a combination of value and comfort. Thank you, Salvatore...we had a memorable visit with you!

Barbara & Frank Axel, New Rochelle, NY. USA

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We arrived at Hotel Villa Sirena as the third, and final, stop on our tour of Sicily. We had selected this hotel as it was adverised as Taormina, but, upon arrival, we discovered that we were actually between Giardini Naxos and Taormina. In terms of accessibility Taormina was closer, but Giardini Naxos was easier to get to by foot. Getting to Taormina entailed a car, taxi or bus trip along a steep winding road.

There were some thunder storms when we were there and eating dinner at the hotel was not an option.

All that said, the hotel and the staff made up for the lack of the perfect location. Salvatore and his staff were ever anxious to ensure our stay was pleasant and, as noted by other reviewers, special mention has to go Giovanna - nothing was too much trouble.

Our room had a great terrace overlooking the pool and the room was clean and well maintained. The pool area was clean and was never overcrowded. Other reviewers have mentioned noise from the road and the nearby hospital, but we did not find that these were a problem.

The breakfasts were excellent by Italian standards. Salvatore will recommend places to eat nearby and you should follow his suggestions. Any place that he sent us to was excellent.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kfranktommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Very nice property: old beautiful villa, completely restored and refurbished with nice and stylish antiques.
Discrete and professional, but gentle and friendly welcome at the reception-desk, providing all necessary information.
Clean, bright and very comfortable room on first floor (nr. 21), with nice terras overviewing the bay and the houses of Giardini Naxos and the beautiful and well-kept hotel terras, pool and garden. Small hotel, most charming, also the common sitting-room, bar etc.
Small but well-equipped bath-room.
Fresh and nicely presented breakfast buffet, great choice.
Special compliment to the highly motivated, super-friendly and accurate service of Signora Giovanna, whose smile will certainly make your day! Moreover, ALL the people working here are most kind and welcoming: the two owners at the reception with their discrete and witty Italian charm, and also the nightkeeper who will serve you with a smile upon request a digestive after you diner in the city of Taormina.
Great place to stay and certainly worth its price - be prepared to have a good car to drive up the steep, but short, way up to the parking-garage of Taormina, where you get a reduction of 40 % with your hotel-bon.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wimserge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

This is literally a family owned villa which is well located and charming. The hotel is operated by family members on the premises, and their staff are very friendly and accomodating.
The family maintains a small vineyard on the property making the setting even more appealing.

Rooms are very pleasant, and many have views of the sea. Their pool area is clean and well maintained as are all the public areas. The breakfast was one of the best in all our travels in Italy and Sicily, and served by a charming lady hostess. A small bar in the patio area offers a varety of drinks virtually any time of the day or night that residents feel the desire for an adult beverage.

We look forward to another stay in this lovely and intimate hotel on our return to the Taormina area in Sicily..

  • Liked — The setting, the food, and the staff
  • Disliked — Taxi Cost to get to the walled city of Taormina
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beethoven70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

As other reviewers have stated, this hotel is charming, very clean and has the largest and most variety in a buffet breakfast we found in all of Sicily. The staff are extremely friendly. The pool area is quiet and well maintained. Most rooms have lovely views of the sea. There are several restaurants within walking distance in Giardini Naxos, but you do have to be careful with rather dangerous and narrow roads. I found Giardini Naxos to be quite interesting and lovely.

It is true, unfortunately, that you cannot walk into Taormina from this hotel but need to take a taxi (although I heard there is a city bus you could take). It would be an uphill walk on a winding highway. It's an expensive taxi ride - 20 Euro each way (which is about $30 USD) - I think the taxi's are overpriced. But Taormina is very touristy and expensive, although picturesque with nice walking streets (no cars), Greek theater ruins and many shops.

  • Liked — Breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — Not walking distance from Taormina
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank didilynn1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2008

The hotel is a lovely place to stay for people who are looking for a quiet , relaxing location, a wonderful breakfast buffet, very clean rooms, terraces and swimming pool and last but not least charming owners and staff (with giovanna whispering italian opera melodies while she is preparing breakfast and the director, salvatore, always present to help clients with everything).
Situated between Taormina center (1.5 km) and Giardini Naxos (500 m) it combines two advantages: close to taormina downtown without having continuously the crowd around, and the beach and promenade of giardini naxos in walking distance with plenty of dinner possibilities.
No parking problems in the hotel (included in the price and large, secure places) and the hotel offers discounts (40 %) for the use of the parking Catania at the entrance of Taormina.

JJ Vanhaelen
Belgium

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — bath room facilities could have been better
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JJVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.0 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#20 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
1.3 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sirina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sirina

Property: Hotel Villa Sirina
Address: Via Crocifisso 30, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Sirina 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Sirina is a historic villa located at the foot of Taormina with a wonderful view of the blue sea of Giardini-Naxos Bay, immersed in a valley filled with citrus tree groves and oleanders and surrounded by the scents and colours typical of this land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Sirina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirina Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Sirina Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing