We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here May 2012 for 3 nights. It was a great little hotel in a great location. Taormina itself is a picture postcard town. A lot of the other hotels are very nice but very expensive! If you are on a tighter budget this place is perfect. It is centrally located, about 5 mins walk to the main street. It is 5 mins to the cable car, and about 5 mins from the bus station. We took the bus from Catania to Taormina, which was cheap, and the buses are clean and not over crowded. The hotel is a very short walk from the bus station (about 250m!).

The hotel itself is traditionally decorated, but quaint and charming at the same time. The room is basic but has everything you would want including a hair dryer. The room is cleaned every day with fresh towels. There is no lift in the hotel but this wasnt an issue for us. There is a nice garden to sit out and relax with a beer. The front desk staff are always helpful and full of great suggestions. The breakfast is basic but perfectly adequate. Cakes, bread, cheese, scrambled eggs etc. They also serve illy coffee, expresso etc..

I don't doubt that there are far plusher hotels in Taormina but for the price you will be hard pushed to find a better place than this. I would certainly recommend to anyone.

Also for anyone on a budget we also took the bus back to the airport, which was cheap and painless. It is about 1hr 30, but it would take you about an hour in a taxi and about 10 x the price.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    293
    49
    2
    3
See reviews for
104
508
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We could not have been more pleased with our stay at La Pensione Svizzera in beautiful Taormina. This quiet and charming hotel was a wonderful experience. While an elevator would have been nice (we stayed on the top floor), schlepping up and downstairs actually conditioned us for all the steep streets and byways in Taormina itself, perched as it is on the side of a cliff. Our room had a large private terrace with stunning views in almost every direction. The breakfast spread provided for guests every morning was sumptuous and had a huge variety from which to choose. The hotel's staff is discreet and courteous, always eager to help in any way possible. La Pensione Svizzera has an elegant garden with comfortable seating areas, a pleasant and breezy library, and a computer room available for guests. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenzoid-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

A wonderful stay at the Pensione Svizzera, thanks especially to the always pleasant and helpful staff. Everything was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was delicious with many choices and was managed by a lovely lady. We had a quiet room on the fifth floor with terrace, giving us a beautiful view where we relaxed after full days of sightseeing. There is no lift, but the terrace and view made it well worth the climb. We wholeheartedly recommend Pensione Svizzera, and we thank the staff for making our visit to Taormina so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The hotel staff were very accommodating to all of our needs and very freindly. The arrang trips to the beach for only 8 euro a person for transportation, towel, umbrella, and 2 chairs. The breakfast had lots of variety & was very good! The rooms are very clean,towels and bedding changed regulary. The location is perfect (right near the bus stop) and near the main town shops. There is a small balcony to sit out and admire the great view and the garden is a great place to sit and relax with a coffee or glass of wine.

Room Tip: Room 9, 2nd floor, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The staff is very helpful. We really appreciated their proactive attitude in helping us in arranging last minute day trips and restaurant reservations, The location is excellent if you are arriving from the bus station, and the view is fantastic on the seaside. Great value and service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qillbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel was incredibly accommodating to all of our needs. They set up trips to the beach for only 8 euro a person for transportation, towels, umbrellas, and 2 chairs. The breakfast had lots of variety & was very good! The rooms arn't very big but very clean, and the hotel staff is so friendly. The location is perfect (right near the bus stop) and near the main town shops. There is a nice balcony to sit out and admire the great view

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank figers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, wonderful breakfast; location is near bus terminal, Porta Messina (City Center and Corso Umberto), Funivia from Taormina to Mazzaro and the Babilonia Italian language school (short walking distance)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london6353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#7 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pensione Svizzera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pensione Svizzera

Property: Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 26, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pensione Svizzera 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pensione Svizzera is a small charming hotel ideally located in Via Pirandello, the most central panoramic road of Taormina, where you'll find yourself. Only 4 minutes walk from the city centre and Corso Umberto, Taormina's main drag next to the cable-car that brings down to Mazzaro, Taormina's most popular beach, as well as to the busterminal leading to the white-sandy beaches in the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Pensione Svizzera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Svizzera Taormina
La Pensione Svizzera Hotel Taormina
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing