We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spendid Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Maumee, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spendid Value”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I had a difficult time selecting lodging in Taomina for four nights especially deciding between beachside or hillside. I could not have been more pleased with my selection of Hotel La Pensione Svizzera! Besides immaculately clean rooms and a relaxing terrace I was surprised and impressed with the afternoon tea which was icing on the cake for me. The location made it easy to catch a bus trip to Mt. Etna as well as to Castelmola, my favorite little Italian village.
The staff goes out of its way to assist its guests. The full breakfast was the best during our thirty day vacation in Italy. I prefer not to rave because I fear the price will increase beyond my budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    297
    50
    2
    3
See reviews for
105
519
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our visit to Taormina was wonderful, and we enjoyed our stay at Pensione Svizzera. The best part about the hotel is the location, being only a 2 minute walk from the furnicular to take you to the beaches, and about 5 minutes from the entrance to the center of town.

Our room had the most amazing view of the water and we enjoyed waking up to the view every day. The breakfasts were also an incredible part of the stay -- the views from the terrace are amazing, and the breakfasts are abundant with eggs, cheese, yogurt, proscuitto, breads, cereals, and sweet treats. It was an incredible way to start the day.

The staff speaks great English and were so helpful and accommodating with any requests. Wi-fi was free, which is a wonderful addition since many hotels (we discovered on our travels) charge for wi-fi.

Our stay here was wonderful and we would stay here again, without a doubt!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in room #20 that had the amazing view. Note that there is no elevator, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust_girl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barga, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed in room 7 which had a lovely big terrace with a sea view. The room was well decorated and the bathroom was well equipped/new with a shower. The garden and breakfast area is lovely and cool with plants and seating. The breakfast is very good and offers a large selection. The hotel is centrally situated, within 5 minutes of the Corso Umberto and the cable car to Mazzarò. The staff are very professional and the service they offer impeccable. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you want a large terrace go for room 7 on the first floor or balcony rooms higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Schlieps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

La Pensione Svizzera is a real gem! We had a lovely room with a balcony and a magnificent view along the coast. The bathroom was very small but functional. The hotel is conveniently located for exploring the walled town and the for access to the cableway. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the tranquil garden was, however, a highlight: the selection and quality of the breakfast was the best we had in our three weeks in Sicily.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This hotel pensione is one of those places that you know you will revisit. So well located for Taormina. All the Staff are so Smiley & wonderful, nothing is too much trouble even at our 5am early checkout. We received our requested ground floor room (excellent). Sonja at breakfast helping everyone. Reception team a great help in the hotel (also recommending good restaurants). This place knows about hospitality. We would like to have stayed more than a weekend. Thank you for being so professional.

Room Tip: if you need a ground floor (for mobility reasons) always contact the hotel directly. We didn't n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cafeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Having walked through the historic but chique high street, the La Pensione Svizzera offers a cool garden to rest a while, have a drink and chat with other guests or the lovely owner. The rooms are on the compact size, and some might struggle with the tightly packed bathrooms with 3/4 sized showers. However the views from the rooms are wonderful panoramic scenes across the bay and to Italy in the distance. Without any lifts the walk up the stairs may be a challenge if you have large amounts of luggage - but where would you put it in the room and what do you need beyond a few tee shirts, shorts and swim gear ? Oh, some good walking shoes to explore the town and the many restaurants. Ask for recommendations to avoid the trap of yet more pasta and pizza - there are some really nice ones off the main drag. Explore the alleyways and be rewarded.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the lower floor have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paola
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This is an old traditional sicilian building converted into a hotel. Its well mantained but like most of old sicilian buildings it does not have a lift !. You need some good stamina to reach the top floors but its worth it. The views from rooms which are on the upper floors are magnificant. Hotel was very clean, gentle sicilian staff and breakfast was great. The hotel is walking distance from the old city. It is situated on a main road so it tends to be busy during peak season. A good thing about this hotel is that they can provide parking space which is a nightmare in taormina.

I would definately use this hotel again

Room Tip: Ask for rooms which are on the upper floors if you have some good legs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krt247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,781 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 87 in Taormina
878 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 87 in Taormina
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#15 of 87 in Taormina
512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 87 in Taormina
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pensione Svizzera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pensione Svizzera

Property: Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 26, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#4 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pensione Svizzera 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pensione Svizzera is a small charming hotel ideally located in Via Pirandello, the most central panoramic road of Taormina, where you'll find yourself. Only 4 minutes walk from the city centre and Corso Umberto, Taormina's main drag next to the cable-car that brings down to Mazzaro, Taormina's most popular beach, as well as to the busterminal leading to the white-sandy beaches in the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Pensione Svizzera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Svizzera Taormina
La Pensione Svizzera Hotel Taormina
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing