We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I have given this place an over all 4 rating, although I believe a 3.5 is more accurate, but on balance I think a 4 is fairer ...

I'll start with the negatives, so you can end with the positives ...

- the rooms are small. There is just about enough room for two people to have suitcases out and not quite trip over themselves/the cases/the furniture. The rooms are absolutely fine and very clean, but just small.
- there is no elevator. There are steps down from the main road to the main entrance, and, unless you are on the ground floor, there will be steps up to you room. The only positive for us being on the third floor, was that we were not on the fourth floor ... Nobody OFFERED to help ... however, when we left, we asked someone to bring the cases down, which they did without complaint (NB of course, there is no gym, so if you want a workout built in, book the fourth floor and carry your own!). Our fault maybe - don't ask, don't get ...

The positives:

- it's in a great location. It's a few minutes walk from the bus stop, an even shorter walk to the cable car down to the beach, and not at all far (max 10 mins) walk to Taromina town;
- if you have a car (which we didn't), there is parking albeit for a fee (I believe EUR12) and by all accounts, parking in Taormina is nigh on impossible.
- the views. Once you have battled all those stairs, you should expect a darned good view, and you will get it!
- the breakfast was very nice indeed. A good choice, and plenty of it.
- seating area outside - we had time to kill after check out and we sat outside on some sofas reading and relaxing, and it was absolutely lovely.
- free wifi (seems the norm in Italy).

Overall, for value for money in terms of location, cleanliness and overall convenience, I would say go for it. Just train up for it first ;)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reywal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

I found Pensionne Svizzera by internet, and I think i did a very thing by reserving a room with them.
Theirubication is exelent , and specially if you are traveling withoy a car. It is located on the cliff with a beautifull sight of the ocean.
The rooms are average and complete, but on the smalish size, although with exelent beds and no noise.
It is also located 2 blocks from the bus station where you arrive when coming from the airport of catania. Other lines of buses also arrive there. Also it is only two blocks from the cable car to the beaches bellow. Isola bella is one of them that if you are in taormina cannot miss.
The main street, Corso Umberto is about a five minutes walk to the entrance. You will find out that it is almost a necesity see this pedestrian shopping area.
Also a must see is the greek theatre which is very weel conserved. It sits actually on top of the hotel, but you have to go to the begining of Corso Umberto to get there.
The cost of the hotel in my opinion is very reasonable with what it offers, and you can everyday enjoy a five oclock tea at its little bar.
One more detail,breakfast is very adequate.

Room Tip: look for one with a window towards the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfredo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Although Taormina is a very commercial area it is still possible to find a place like La Pensione Svizzera which is a good example of 'value for money'. It is a very worm medium/small hotel with excellent staff, good breakfast included, very nice view from the room, a nice and green garden for reading/resting/relaxing. It is close to the bus station the old fashion town and the egg-cableway to go to the beach.
No elevator in the hotel to reach the room so if you have heavy stuff ask for a room in the first or second floor. This was not the case for me since I had very little stuff!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank far1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The grounds of this hotel are very attractive, but the smallish rooms are just so-so. The location is perfect however, in the context that it is so close to the action but just out of earshot of the late nightlife if traveling with children or go to bed early.
The breakfast is really great, and sorry we missed it the first day.
The woman was kind enough to give me coffee and croissants to take back to the room. The next day she took incredibly good care of us as well.
We would stay here again. It is a pretty good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craftina39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I had a difficult time selecting lodging in Taomina for four nights especially deciding between beachside or hillside. I could not have been more pleased with my selection of Hotel La Pensione Svizzera! Besides immaculately clean rooms and a relaxing terrace I was surprised and impressed with the afternoon tea which was icing on the cake for me. The location made it easy to catch a bus trip to Mt. Etna as well as to Castelmola, my favorite little Italian village.
The staff goes out of its way to assist its guests. The full breakfast was the best during our thirty day vacation in Italy. I prefer not to rave because I fear the price will increase beyond my budget.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our visit to Taormina was wonderful, and we enjoyed our stay at Pensione Svizzera. The best part about the hotel is the location, being only a 2 minute walk from the furnicular to take you to the beaches, and about 5 minutes from the entrance to the center of town.

Our room had the most amazing view of the water and we enjoyed waking up to the view every day. The breakfasts were also an incredible part of the stay -- the views from the terrace are amazing, and the breakfasts are abundant with eggs, cheese, yogurt, proscuitto, breads, cereals, and sweet treats. It was an incredible way to start the day.

The staff speaks great English and were so helpful and accommodating with any requests. Wi-fi was free, which is a wonderful addition since many hotels (we discovered on our travels) charge for wi-fi.

Our stay here was wonderful and we would stay here again, without a doubt!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in room #20 that had the amazing view. Note that there is no elevator, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust_girl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed in room 7 which had a lovely big terrace with a sea view. The room was well decorated and the bathroom was well equipped/new with a shower. The garden and breakfast area is lovely and cool with plants and seating. The breakfast is very good and offers a large selection. The hotel is centrally situated, within 5 minutes of the Corso Umberto and the cable car to Mazzarò. The staff are very professional and the service they offer impeccable. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you want a large terrace go for room 7 on the first floor or balcony rooms higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Schlieps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,076 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#17 of 87 in Taormina
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
901 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 87 in Taormina
568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pensione Svizzera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pensione Svizzera

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 26, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £85 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pensione Svizzera 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pensione Svizzera is a small charming hotel ideally located in Via Pirandello, the most central panoramic road of Taormina, where you'll find yourself. Only 4 minutes walk from the city centre and Corso Umberto, Taormina's main drag next to the cable-car that brings down to Mazzaro, Taormina's most popular beach, as well as to the busterminal leading to the white-sandy beaches in the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Pensione Svizzera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Svizzera Taormina
La Pensione Svizzera Hotel Taormina
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing