We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel-great view, service, breakfast,location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
chapel hill, nc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel-great view, service, breakfast,location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

We loved this hotel. Its less than 5 minutes walk up the hill on the right side after you get off the bus from the train station.
It has one of the most beautiful breakfast rooms overlooking the sea and in a lovely garden. The staff were friendly with great service and a real value. I would definitely recommend a room overlooking the sea, well worth the extra 10 euros. Close to good restaurants and close to the center of town. On our last night, the clouds lifted and we had a beautiful view of Etna.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basecampd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    291
    49
    2
    3
See reviews for
104
501
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duffield, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

Stayed here for three nights from 10/10/09 to 13/10/09. Quoted rate 112 Euros per room per night including breakfast, but 7% discount if paying by cash (we were actually given a discount of around 5.5%). Booked through hotel website.

The hotel is located a little outside the centre, but not far to walk, and is very close to the bus station, (the train station is a few miles away and would need a bus or taxi to get to the town). There are direct buses to Catania Airport.

It is a family owned hotel with helpful staff.

Our room was on the third floor, (no lift - at least in this part of the hotel), and had a panoramic view of the coast; some rooms have small balconies but not ours. It was a reasonable size with good decor and well maintained, although maybe nothing memorable. Shower room modern and in vey good condition. Attractive communal areas and outside terrace. Internet (which we only needed for five minutes) is a minimum charge of 3 Euros.

Breakfast was in a pleasant room with coastal views, or outside, and was an extensive buffet of good quality, although no fruit. You help yourself to coffee from a machine, which we liked compared to being given one cup elsewhere, the staff will also make you other types of coffee if you wish.

The hotel is near the cable car down to a few small scenic (but stony) beaches, or there is a frequent bus to the larger sandy beaches at Giardini-Naxos. We went on a day trip to Mount Etna with SAT, from the bus station, 75 Euros, which was good.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_from_Duffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

My husband and I have absolutely enjoyed our stay here, from our breakfast time in a beautiful garden overlooking Taormina bay right to the nightlife which is located a short walk away. The staff was very very nice, helped us a lot. We would definitely go back! Rooms are small but cosy and clean and if chosen, with a beautiful view from a balcony/terrace. Breakfast was abundant! A special hello to the lady who was always there to serve breakfast, very down to earth, practical and welcoming! Keep it up!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiggaMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, Surrey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

We paid the extra to have a sea view, something that I'd recommend. Having stayed here for 5 nights, we enjoyed the visit and the staff were very friendly. Remember to bring shower gel with you, as there is no free supply which was something we found strange at €112 per night. Also note, you get a 7% reduction on this fee when paying with cash. Finally, there was no free internet with our booking, which costs €3 for 20 minutes although i believe some bookings do contain free internet. Remember, there is no lift!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs_frimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giardini Naxos, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

We highly recommend la Pensione Svizzera. It is a beautiful little hotel located in a great position , just a few meters from the cable car station and the center of Taormina. The rooms are lovely and the views spectacular (sea view rooms), but what really makes this hotel special is the service. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. The staff were the friendliest we have met in Sicily and helpful regarding every matter (they spoke very good English and German). The information’s was great regarding places to eat and they offered an excellent service to the beach (the Hotel provide towels for the beach for free). We enjoyed every day in the fabulous palm garden our breakfast which was really amazing and just perfect (Cappuccino just wonderful). The rooms was very clean and equipped with good working air conditions and very pleasant bathrooms ( Good water pressure). Very good organisation regarding parking spots but we recommend to book them in advance. At all it was a very lovely stay and for sure we will return to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoppele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

A great hotel to stay in I was not disappointed after having read the wonderful reviews of the previous guests. Highly recommenda stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love_italyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

This 'hotel' is more like a B & B - like everything else in Taormina, it is overrated and overpriced. The plus points: very clean, near to town centre and the cable car station, A/C in our room worked and easy to control. Minus points: you can't tell from the website, but the 'hotel' is sandwiched between to very busy roads. Rooms with a seaview overlook the road to the rear and a large amount of built up area before the seaview itself. Sitting on the balcony, about 750mm wide and 1500mm long (room for two chairs), you can enjoy the view which may include the bloke opposite on his roof watering his plants, in his Speedos, whilst the cacophony of engines, car horns, lorries and buses grinds on relentlessly. Breakfast is very average. The garden area, where breakfast is served, is very pleasant, but is wholly occupied by the breakfast tables & chairs.

If you simply want a place to crash, it'll do, but if you want more from your hotel than just a room, try elsewhere. Last warning - everything in Taormina is overpriced - so upgrading to what a real 3 Star hotel ought to provide might blow your budget!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pensione Svizzera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pensione Svizzera

Property: Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 26, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pensione Svizzera 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pensione Svizzera is a small charming hotel ideally located in Via Pirandello, the most central panoramic road of Taormina, where you'll find yourself. Only 4 minutes walk from the city centre and Corso Umberto, Taormina's main drag next to the cable-car that brings down to Mazzaro, Taormina's most popular beach, as well as to the busterminal leading to the white-sandy beaches in the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Pensione Svizzera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Svizzera Taormina
La Pensione Svizzera Hotel Taormina
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing