We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (983)
Filter reviews
983 results
Traveller rating
573
340
62
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
573
340
62
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus cable car corso umberto visiting taormina overlooking the sea view funivia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 983 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Svizzera quite a lot. Extremely friendly people and a good breakfast. Location relatively central with own parking on request. Thats a big pro in town.

Our room was maybe not the fanciest available with its mini window to the sea but tastes are different and we came there only for sleeping. Bed was okay but typical southern with only linen and a hard pillow. I would also stress that 4th floor without elevator but with heavy luggage does not work for everyone.

After all we enjoyed our stay even with those minor watchpoints and I would probably come back to enjoy the friendliness again. Greets to the cat :-)

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank SteveGoldgap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Let me start this review off by saying I quite liked this Hotel and the staff but and would probably have given it a four star review. However we got off to an awful start. I'd enquired by email about the parking situation with the Hotel prior to our visit and was told that they had an arrangement with a local car park which they would direct us to on our arrival. All this actually 'vaguely' happened with the emphasis on the word vague. Vague instructions to begin with directing us to a location that they said would be so obvious we'd see exactly where it was. One hour later after going around and around the one way system and the horrendous traffic congestion in Taormina we had still not found it. Enraged we went back to the Hotel and insisted that somebody from the Hotel come with us to show us exactly where the parking is. They are correct in that it is just down the road some 70 metres away. Everything else they said was incorrect. We were greeted by large iron gates that were closed, no sign to indicate that it was indeed a car park and no car park attendant. In fact our chaperone from the Hotel actually had to unlock the gate to let us park our car. If we had miraculously found the car park on our own we wouldn't have been able to get in on our own. After a long drive into Taormina we really didn't need to waste a further hour looking for a parking spot. This situation could have been easily remedied by a bit of consideration by firstly maybe making a map for patrons of the Hotel, Secondly having a permanent sign on the railings and thirdly either having a permanent attendant or phoning him to make sure he's there if your sending people along. A second issue was that we were then put into Room 1 which we later found out is right next to the laundry room so subsequently a pump working all night putting paid to any ideas of sleep. Again remedied the next day by a room change but they must be aware that Room 1 has these pitfalls but hope that maybe the guest is a heavy sleeper and wont notice or complain. Would I go back? Probably, but a lot wiser for all the pitfalls.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Familyfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

If you have a navigation system it is rather easy to find the hotel. Location is spot on as it is OUTSIDE the city walls, meaning you can easily drive there and within 3 minutes you are within the city walls.

Pro:
- Love the location
- Great view from the room (IF you book seaview!)
- Friendly lady at the reception
- Room was great and bathroom was newly renovated
- Happy hour at the hotel with cheap drinks, it was nice to have a drink in the garden

Con:
- The hotel is already quite expensive, parking is at another site for an additional EUR 15. Would be great if they could get a better deal
- Breakfast was nice, but nothing to write home about. Though it had a bit from everything, we had better breakfasts at smaller B&Bs
- Be aware: no elevator. No problem for us, but might be though for older people with a lot of luggage

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank nice_swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Just returned from 3 days here and wish we could have stayed longer. Booked on strength of location and one of very few places that had car parking in Taormina. Very happy with our decision - short walk to old town gate at end of Main Street and cable car station practically next door. Greek theatre no more than 10 mins away. Car parking a little difficult to find at first but hotel staff very helpful - is around 100 yards past hotel down hill on the left (black gate under what looks like old petrol station canopy). Car very useful for trip to Etna. Stayed on 3rd floor and, as many reviews say, there is no lift so a bit of a slog. However the view from our room was the best we've ever had - see picture.

Reasonable selection at breakfast but again the setting is the selling point as you can eat on the veranda overlooking the coastline.

Recommended if you are travelling to Taormina in a car and want to be close to everything with a sea view!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BobbyZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon and duly had a fantastic week. The location is great, right next to the bus station and cable car and the staff are friendly and happy to help with whatever you need. Breakfast offers a wide variety of items and everything is really tasty. Our room was clean and had ample room to hang/store clothes, the shower was pressure was good and the air-con was quiet and worked perfectly. The hotel is really good value and we didn't miss a pool with the sea on the doorstep. To top all of this off the view from this hotel is to die for, a fantastic place to stay.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tristanstack68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews