We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (983)
Filter reviews
983 results
Traveller rating
573
340
62
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
573
340
62
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus cable car corso umberto visiting taormina overlooking the sea view funivia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 983 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I was seeking an old-fashioned hotel that gave one the flavour of Taormina before it became the tourist-infested location that it now is. Pensione Svizzera was the right choice for this. Built in the 20s, its deep pinky-ochre external paintwork and architecture bring to mind the wealthy English traveller from the Jazz Age. The hotel offers breakfast on the terrace or indoors. The terrace, with its sea view, is the dining area of choice, but be prepared to get there early if you want a good front-row seat. There is also a Happy Hour where, seated outside in the very pleasantly planted and appointed courtyard, one can get competitively discounted drinks between 5pm-8pm. My son-in-law claimed that the hotel's Aperol Spritz was the best he'd had on our 8-day visit to Sicily - and he did sample a rather large quantity! Nice touch: the hotel offers a complimentary bottle of red wine in each bedroom. We haven't tried ours yet, but we did manage to get it back to the UK in one piece. Wifi signal is good - there is also a free-to-use computer and printer in one of the downstairs sitting rooms. One the minus side: there are only stairs in this 4-floor hotel. Not a problem for us, as we were on the ground and basement levels. People on the 4th floor may have some of the best sea views in Taormina (we did not have any view), but they need to lug their cases up there first. As for the breakfasts: there were many items on offer, all of them unremittingly dull and tasteless. Coffee was from a machine (americano) although we eventually discovered that they would make a cappuccino (very average) to order.The meal was as copious as it was uninspiring. Outside the hotel, the Via Luigi Pirandello was heaving with tourists most of the time. We tried to escape into the old, original part of the town, but despite its undeniable architectural quaintness and charm, we couldn't get away from the feeling that everything there had been contaminated by the town's popularity.

Room tip: Top floor for best sea views. Ground or basement if elderly, heavily pregnant or moderately disabled.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gluttonous_gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Besides the description in the title, Hotel La Pensione Svizzera is in the perfect location. It's sits on a hillside overlooking the Ionian Sea.It's only a couple of minutes from entrance to the main shopping street, C.so Umberto 1. Although the street it's on is busy it's nothing compared to what you find exploring the town.It's very close to the bus station and even better the Cable car down to the sea. The terrace view is an amazing way to start your day at breakfast, sipping on a cappuccino, and ending it with a glass of wine or digestivo enjoying the city lights below. Our room was clean, comfortable, (I bring my own travel pillow), and cozy. We had a small side window for a view which was wonderful compared to nothing. I would love to have upgraded to a full sea view room but I booked the hotel only a few months prior to our arrival.
We found minimal hassle with parking our car but more then likely they improved after the review "Parking Nightmare". I think we would have done the same thing if they had not walked us to the gate. Breakfast is good, lots of variety, but when it was an early busy morning they ran out of items. Breakfast begins at 7:30am and we were there soon afterwards. Overall, my husband and I enjoyed every moment of our time in Taormina and our stay at Hotel La Pensione Svizzera.

Room tip: Book far in advance to get a front facing sea view room.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MB P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights & so glad I had found the perfect Hotel in this lovely place Of Taormina. It is situated a couple of mins down the road from all the local buses for any trips wanted & also a few mins walk into the old town, roughly about 10 mins walk.
The hotel is very friendly & helpful staff to answer any questions you may have. It's very clean & tidy, the breakfast is plentiful & will set you up for the day. Upon arrival we were given the keys to our room which was on the 4th floor, with a fantastic view, just to let people know, this hotel has no lift so anyone with a lot of luggage may struggle!!
I would highly recommend this hotel as it's a perfect location for anyone staying in this lovely part of Taormina.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sandra1966Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Svizzera quite a lot. Extremely friendly people and a good breakfast. Location relatively central with own parking on request. Thats a big pro in town.

Our room was maybe not the fanciest available with its mini window to the sea but tastes are different and we came there only for sleeping. Bed was okay but typical southern with only linen and a hard pillow. I would also stress that 4th floor without elevator but with heavy luggage does not work for everyone.

After all we enjoyed our stay even with those minor watchpoints and I would probably come back to enjoy the friendliness again. Greets to the cat :-)

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank SteveGoldgap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Let me start this review off by saying I quite liked this Hotel and the staff but and would probably have given it a four star review. However we got off to an awful start. I'd enquired by email about the parking situation with the Hotel prior to our visit and was told that they had an arrangement with a local car park which they would direct us to on our arrival. All this actually 'vaguely' happened with the emphasis on the word vague. Vague instructions to begin with directing us to a location that they said would be so obvious we'd see exactly where it was. One hour later after going around and around the one way system and the horrendous traffic congestion in Taormina we had still not found it. Enraged we went back to the Hotel and insisted that somebody from the Hotel come with us to show us exactly where the parking is. They are correct in that it is just down the road some 70 metres away. Everything else they said was incorrect. We were greeted by large iron gates that were closed, no sign to indicate that it was indeed a car park and no car park attendant. In fact our chaperone from the Hotel actually had to unlock the gate to let us park our car. If we had miraculously found the car park on our own we wouldn't have been able to get in on our own. After a long drive into Taormina we really didn't need to waste a further hour looking for a parking spot. This situation could have been easily remedied by a bit of consideration by firstly maybe making a map for patrons of the Hotel, Secondly having a permanent sign on the railings and thirdly either having a permanent attendant or phoning him to make sure he's there if your sending people along. A second issue was that we were then put into Room 1 which we later found out is right next to the laundry room so subsequently a pump working all night putting paid to any ideas of sleep. Again remedied the next day by a room change but they must be aware that Room 1 has these pitfalls but hope that maybe the guest is a heavy sleeper and wont notice or complain. Would I go back? Probably, but a lot wiser for all the pitfalls.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Familyfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews