We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! What a lovely hotel, great location and the staff are so friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights with our 20 month old daughter. we stayed in a room with sea view. The hotel was clean, nicely located as it is next to the cable car and close to the centre. there is a lovely patio where you can enjoy breakfast and a nice glass of wine in the evening. if it is chillly you can sit in the conservatory or inside. Although there is no play area for kids our daughter loved just exploring the patio. We could have breakfast outside so she did not bother other people.
We have been to the beach using the shuttle service. Excellent! The beach place was very nice with sun loungers, parasols and a great restaurant were the served fresh grilled fish, mmmm.
In Toarmina there are plenty of nice restaurants and bars, a lovely town although we did find the drinks expensive for Italian standards.
The staff in the hotel was extremely friendly. Nothing was too much. They kept heating milk for us for the baby and always with a smile. This was the start of our honeymoon and it couldn't have started better! Thanks staff from Pensione Svizzera, we hope to be back soon! Fam Demper

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nouk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2010

We arrived in Europe just as the major airports were all being closed following the volcanic eruption in Iceland. As a result of this we arrived in Taormina without any luggage. The staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful & understanding. They went out of their way to keep in daily contact with our airline to monitor the progress of our luggage & this helped make our stay in Taormina one to remember. They also helped us with advice about shopping, restaurants & tours. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The hotel itself is really comfortable. If you are arriving by bus as we did, it is a short stroll from the bus terminal to the hotel. We had a room which had a small balcony & a lovely view of the coastline.
Breakfast is served in a separate room & was a substantial continental breakfast with plenty of fresh bread, fruit, cereals etc. The hotel has a lovely courtyard area where you can sit & relax, plus there is a bar.
It was fabulous being able to have free internet access as well.
I would certainly recommend La Pensione Svizzera as a very comfortable place to stay in this beautiful town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We stayed at the hotel La Pensione Svizzera from 11. of May until 13. of May and we
loved the place. Of all the hotels we stayed in on our trip round Sicily we loved this
hotel the best. Very lovely, not so big, room with a great view from the small balcony. Try to get a room on the second floor. The staff is very helpfull and the breakfast is beautyfull. The location is splendid, quiet and yet only 5 minutes walk from Corso Umberto.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vibeke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Great location, service, amenities, gorgeous view. We had a very nice time, and would not hesitate to go back.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
Thank ecfHilversum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

I really loved this little hotel. I can be picky about hotels and especially about service, but this place lived up to the great reviews.

To sum up the negatives:
The rooms are small. There is no elevator in a four-floor hotel. You need to ask the front desk for an internet password and it will work for a limited time.

But none of these things spoiled the positives, in my opinion. The courtyard area with comfy outdoor furniture is lovely. On a few occasions we visited the bar in the hotel, where the night desk person would make us drinks and serve them to us on a little tray. In general, the front desk staff were extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast offers decent variety and is palatable. The location is great for taking in the spectacular views of Taormina and for visiting the main Corso. And, though we didn't stay there to work, the internet is very speedy. We also got a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, I think because I mentioned we were there for our honeymoon.

So, if you don't mind walking up the stairs and you're not spending your whole trip in the room (why would you anyway?) you won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniellescm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinciguerra, Owner at Hotel La Pensione Svizzera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2010

Dear guest, thank you very much for your open comment.
I agree with you that we do need a lift, but want to explain. Since La Pensione Svizzera was constructed in 1920, it comes under the binding force of the Cultural Protection and we have not yet been given the permission to construct an outside lift. Once resolved the problem, we shall immediately remedy this defect. We hope that we can realize a lift in the years to come.
As to the nuisance to go to the reception and ask for a log in, we must tell you that in Italy in 2006 this procedure has become a law, enacted after the terrorist attacks in London. For now the law is valid until 2012. It obligates all hotels to register every guest who wants to be connected to the Internet. We know that it is troublesome to go and get a log in, but we can’t change this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

While the hotel does not look terribly impressive from the outside the interior has been completely rebuilt and its quaint beauty is only exceeded by its cleanliness. The in-room bathrooms are brand new and equipped with bidets and the rooms have new air conditioning systems, critical if you are planning to visit in the summer months when temps can reach 40C. While small the outside rooms having stunning views of the sea with (new) doors that open to a small balcony. The complimentary breakfasts located in a spacious dining room were superb serviced by a friendly and competent staff. The administrative staff was also friendly and ready to assist with any travel details from restaurant reservations to airport pickups. Well located with the bus station a block in one direction and the cable car station (for trips to the sea shore) a block the other way. As I had a work project to complete their included internet service was critical although I found it most annoying having to renew the password every few hours over the course our 6 day stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delphicorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

The location of this hotel is ideal. For transport purposes it is just a few metres from the Bus Station and the view from the hotel is beautiful; an inspiration to linger over breakfast in the morning. The staff were friendly and helpful and efficient.
It is also beside the cable car station which brings you down to the sea.
Its proximity to the town makes it easy to come and go without too much planning.
The exterior of the hotel is deceptive as it far more elegant then is suggested by the first impression

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeoirseIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 87 in Taormina
583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#11 of 87 in Taormina
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,906 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#31 of 87 in Taormina
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pensione Svizzera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pensione Svizzera

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 26, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £94 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pensione Svizzera 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pensione Svizzera is a small charming hotel ideally located in Via Pirandello, the most central panoramic road of Taormina, where you'll find yourself. Only 4 minutes walk from the city centre and Corso Umberto, Taormina's main drag next to the cable-car that brings down to Mazzaro, Taormina's most popular beach, as well as to the busterminal leading to the white-sandy beaches in the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Pensione Svizzera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Svizzera Taormina
La Pensione Svizzera Hotel Taormina
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing