We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Montréal, Québec
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent location, helpful staff”
Reviewed 5 October 2010

After some initial problems finding the hotel, we were very happy with our choice. We left our car in one of the (paying) parking spots behind the hotel and spend 2 days walking around Taormina. It is close enough to the main street (Corso Umberto) so you can enjoy the traditional "passegiatta" a few times a day, but far enough so you can sleep in relative peace and quiet.

The room was not very large but quite modern looking, with shutters that we finally learned to close on our last night. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large enough, with a shower only.

The breakfast was very good and varied. There is a lovely courtyard, where we had breakfast one morning and relaxed in the afternoon. There is no elevator, which was not a problem for us, but could be for others.

The front desk staff was very helpful, gave us a city map and provided clear directions to wherever we wanted to go. However, they seemed to recommend the same restaurants to all guests, and their choices were not the best in town (in our opinion).

We hiked to the nearby village of Castelmola, which is lovely, but be aware that the hill is very steep (wear appropriate shoes). We also hiked down to the beach, which is mostly pebbles and rocks, unfortunately. The hotel is situated right next to the funicular, for those who do not want to walk down.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    302
    50
    2
    4
See reviews for
109
527
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Finally a place where all your platinum point cards are not needed. "La Pensione Svizzera" is an excellent family-run hotel where you can enjoy the confort of being taken care by people who really like people and know their trade perfectly. Here you get warmth and a lot of other perks that money and plastic can't buy. It makes you appreciate these little things even if you are familliar with the internationally known hotels. It is clean, charming, compact with a superb view and truly within a few steps either from town or beach (via ropeway). We enjoyed our stay (with little child) very much. I could not think of a better choice to make this place your home, while in Taormina

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigi_Fino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

As the other reviewers have indicated, this hotel is in a great location and is complimented by a team of incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. We requested a room on a high floor to make the most of the view. The room was fine, very clean, but compact and rather dated looking. The bathroom was tiny. I am average height and found the shower rather claustrophobic. Also dragging suitacases up 4 flights of stairs is a pretty exhausting way to begin you stay - but we knew this in advance. Breakfasts are very good and Sonja is incredibly efficient and accommodating to the numerous requests she receives. My main sugestions would be to add a small fridge to the rooms and some more contemporary bed linens just to bring it up to data a bit more - mind you the black out curtains they have now are very effective. Overall I cannot complain about the standard or service I received.

One word of warning about the hotel beach clubs that are offered, these are not run by the actual hotel, but by a group that offers the service to hotels in Taormina. We went to the paradise beach club, the beach club itself was very nice, however the beach was a bit depressing the beach wall between the the club and the beach was just unfinished concrete and quite ugly, i would recommend taking a bust to Giardini Naxos and staying on the beach there. The sand is good quality and there are many restaurants and bars to eat in.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

My wife and I are from Italy and stayed for 3 nights at the hotel.
Excellent position (5 mins walk from to the centre, very close to the cable-car station but still in a quiet area). Beautiful panorama from the room (a sea-view one), which was comfortable and clean, as all the other areas of the hotel.
Very nice breakfast room, with many tables outside under the shade. Good quality food, relaxing atmosphere.
Hotel staff have always been nice, responsive and helpful (special thanks to Maria!!).
Excellent value-for-money. We hope to be back soon!

Luca & Laura

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2010

For our honeymoon we have been travelling around in Sicily. For our stay in Taormina we picked Pensione Svizzera because it looked to us very nice and close to the beach via the funiculare and also close to the historic centre of Taormina. The hotel was easy to find with car. We stayed 3 nights in Taormina in Pensione Svizzzera. Its a very nice and not too big hotel with a charming look., with a nice garden. Our room was very nice and had a wonderful view on the sea. They staff was very friendly and helpfull and also the breakfast was very nice.The next time we visit Taormina we certainly will go to Svizzera again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiciliaLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinatot
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This was our first time to Sicily and we were driving in from Palermo. The hotel is soooo easy to find. It is the ideal location. It is a few steps away from the lift which takes you down to the beach; I do not recommend this beach at all as it is all rocks and no chairs There is an awesome restaurant on the same street Nino's highly recommend. The main part of the town where are the shops and restaurants are located is at the end of the street where the hotel is located. Plus, where the hotel is located is quite! So it's literally a 2 minute walk into town. The hotel has access for a fee to the Paradise Club, which is located in the town of Letojano. The fee includes a towel, beach chair and shuttle access. It is about a 15-20 minute drive to Letojano. We loved this place! The food was outstanding the beach was quite and clean. We had a decent view from our room. The room itself is small, but very clean and functional. The bathroom even smaller...but you can manage. As I stated we drove, the hotel does have parking but it is on the street, there was a fee I think of 12 or 15 euro per night. All together for 4 nights, including breakfast and parking we paid $480 USD (which is very good). Finally, they serve breakfast outside, it is very lovely...the food is all cold but, the staff is really helpful. We really enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinatot76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Very friendly personnel. Good, cozy rooms. An excellent location, all in steam of minutes from a rope-way, and bus station. To the center on foot 5 minutes. It is possible to approach easily by the car. A good breakfast. The lovely woman cooked tasty cappuccino, strewed by chocolate, and croissants melted in the mouth. One minus consisted that the window in our bathroom was on sunny side and in the mornings in a bathroom it was extremely hot. I would recommend to hang up a jalousie on windows in a bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alinansk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,032 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 87 in Taormina
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 87 in Taormina
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#13 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pensione Svizzera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pensione Svizzera

Property: Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 26, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#8 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pensione Svizzera 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pensione Svizzera is a small charming hotel ideally located in Via Pirandello, the most central panoramic road of Taormina, where you'll find yourself. Only 4 minutes walk from the city centre and Corso Umberto, Taormina's main drag next to the cable-car that brings down to Mazzaro, Taormina's most popular beach, as well as to the busterminal leading to the white-sandy beaches in the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Pensione Svizzera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Svizzera Taormina
La Pensione Svizzera Hotel Taormina
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing